We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, quiet & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The lobby might need a little update, but the room seemed a little bit more modern, the heat in the room was a little hard to adjust because the control is still "analog". The bathroom is very elegant (shower and bathtub). There is a minibar with several snacks a lot of beverages in the mini-fridge.
I would say this hotel is a very good choice for price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is absolutely a First Class hotel in the center of Vancouver. All staff were very couteous and helpful, the rooms and facilities were impeccable and the atmosphere was warm and relaxing. The hotel's restaurant (Diva's), with its professional staff and remarkable food, is truly a fitting complement to this 'home away from home'. All it takes is one stay amd you will be back.

Room Tip: Just ask - there is no 'bad room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalcjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We got our night at the Metropolitan off of Hotwire. I was nervous because once I found out the hotel name, I found their cheapest room had twin beds. This was going to be an anniversary stay for us and twin beds would not have worked. I called the hotel to confirm the reservation and was nicely surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a room with a King sized bed. We headed down to the hotel and was met by the doorman and concierge who were very kind and helpful. This was the pattern of everyone we met with the hotel. The seemed to want to go out of their way for us to have a good, no a great stay. Check-in was quick and painless, and then we headed to our room. What a great room. The bathroom was HUGE. Had a separate shower and bathtub, and the mirrors stay clear no matter how long you shower. Great amenities in the room, flat screen TV, cordless phone, robe. Everything we needed. The hotel also has an indoor pool and hot tub, but we never did make it down. Oh, one last thing, the internet was great and free. We had a fantastic stay and would go again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

First impressions were good but through the night the room air seemed dry and it was difficult to adjust the heat because the controls have not gone digital yet. The linens and marble bathroom were lovely, but other than the built-ins in the entranceway, the room decor seemed tired and not really worthy of a 4* designation. The smoke detector was one of those old yellowing plastic ones, the lighting was not soft or adjustable, it was difficult to read by, and it was not possible to adjust the lighting in a low ambient romantic way. The headboard was red tufted fabric which i find outdated and a little unsanitary and the tiny chaise lounge was pretty to look at but not so good for seating two. The cabinetry in the room did not match the wood built in at the entrance, so the tiny room looked like it needed a designer. Instead of a typical one piece modern entertainment unit, the flat screen tv was on an awkward and unattractive black wheeled stand which looked out of place. Because this is a somewhat tony hotel I expected better art but it was dull and unimaginative and much too small for the walls and the contemporary feel they should be trying to achieve. Small things, but it didn't feel as top notch as the lobby and photos would have you think. The perks are the excellent location, warm lap pool, small balcony, fine linens and pillows, free wifi, friendly staff and good customer service at reception. although the bonus is the Diva At the Met food service which was truly wonderful! It was simply outstanding affordable, and available 24 hours a day. I'd return for the food alone at the price we paid through Hotwire but the 'luxury' King room was an upgrade and quite disappointing for the reputation the Metropolitan has.

Room Tip: We were on the busy Howe St side and it was quiet with the windows/doors closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklemarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As usual, my experience at the Met Hotel was perfect. From the front desk reception, to the rooms, the Diva Restaurant and the Concierge. I stay there every time I am in Vancouver and have no reason to change. Its great location to great restaurants and bars are another feature of this location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Two visits to the Met in November, one for a late night return from Mexico, the second for a Leonard Cohen Concert. Outstanding service, great rooms and a very convenient downtown location. Returning from a Mexican beach resort that was very frugal with towels, soap and the usual unguents - what a treat!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed one night, I live downtown so knew the area it was in -perfect for shopping and gastown. Quiet at night. Really nice indoor pool with atrium so you feel not so closed in. Nice modern amenities in room ( ipod dock that fit ipad). What I would expect from a 4 star in Vancouver. Paid $126 hotels.com

Room Tip: High floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azarbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,622 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,529 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,728 reviews
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $162 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing