We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for making our stay extra special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you for making our stay extra special”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I would just like to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Metropolitan in Vancover.
The hotel is in a great location right near the shopping mall and close to bars and restarants. The reason for our trip was honeymoon. The room and service we received throughout our stay was exceptional. We were very surprised and thrilled to receive a complimentary special treat of dessert goodies and a note to say congratulations on your recent marriage.
The Metropolitan Hotel was our last visit before returning home to the UK. So it made it all the more special to receive this thoughtful gesture. This was our first stay in a Metroplitan hotel and we will certainly be looking to book with Metroplitan hotels again in the future .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40Madonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    563
    126
    31
    24
See reviews for
239
776
115
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Metropolitan twice, the previous visit being during the summer of 2011. This time I was in town for a conference held at the UBC campus in nearby Robson Square, and the whole trip went really smoothly.

My flight from London arrived about an hour late, and if his had been my first trip to Vancouver I might have been concerned about reaching the city. However, I knew about the cheap and incredibly convenient Canada Line skytrain, which takes you straight to the Pacific Centre (City Centre) station. The Metropolitan is right across the road from the station. Check in was really smooth, with courteous staff. There is free wifi to guests throughout (in fact, and in contrast to the UK, wifi is free in most places). This time around I didn't have breakfast included in the rate, so I ate each morning at the nearby "Bellagio" diner beside Robson Square.

I found the room to be clean and quite luxurious. I had a balcony, but it was raining quite a bit, so I didn't sit out. The staff were helpful without ever being intrusive. I had a drink in the lounge one night, which was fine. They have some local beers, as well as the bottled usual.

All in all, a fantastic hotel, and one I hope I can return to in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ma03042014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If affordability is not an issue, this is a very comfortable hotel that is excellently situated in downtown Vancouver. I spent 4 nights and then 2 nights over an 8 day period on a business trip. I would definitely return (as long as the costs don't come out of my own pocket - though it was on a par with, and possible slighter more reasonable than, other similar hotels). The room had everything I needed and the WiFi connection was fast and reliable. The restaurant, which also provides the room service, was excellent. The extensive Pacific Centre mall is just opposite, and many of the tourist areas are in easy walking distance, or short cab ride. There is not much of a view on the side I happened to be on during both stays, looking into neighboring office blocks - it may be better on the Howe street side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This recent stay (of three nights in late-Oct '12), was our second stay at the Metropolitan Hotel - and for the same reason, we were in the city to attend a performance at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre, and wished to include a stay around it, a sort of mini-trip for us. We chose to stay at the Metropolitan the first time primarily for its handy location. This time, we were able to choose it not only for that great location, but also based on the positive experience of our previous stay. Again, it worked well for us, and added much to the total enjoyment of mini-trip/stay in Vancouver.

We were highly-impressed with all the services we received -- right from the initial request for a reservation (which was made via a phone call to Reservations), through the check-in procedure (we had requested an 'am' check-in, and arriving as early as we did and having everything go so smoothly, with the name recognition, and our room set up, and ready for us -- was a check-in delight!!), through the friendly chats with staff at the front desk during our stay, and through the personal enjoyments of our attractive and comfortable room (a 'real' fridge was included for us, the bed was comfy, the duvet warm, the WiFi connection good, and w/no extra charge, and the room had an overall peace & quiet that we much-appreciated).

And that location - so handy to popping across the street to the Pacific Centre, or just a block and a bit more to Granville, Robson, and etc.  

We did not use other amenities of the hotel during this stay, so cannot comment on the restaurant, pool, exercise room, et al.

The Metropolitan Hotel provided a much-enjoyed respite from the "hectic activity and noise" of the city, and as during our previous stay, that was much-appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny2bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great small hotel. I couldn't be in a better location near everything in downtown Vancouver.
We found that everyone in our group were particularly pleased with the comfort of the beds. We will for sure stay in this hotel the next time we're in Vancouver. We had a group with us so they prepared a buffet breakfast just for our group and they were very attentive in making sure all of the items were kept fresh and hot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scudrunner260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Metropolitan Hotel is an ageing business hotel in Vancouver. Its 1km away from waterfront and some 100 meters from Vancouver City Center Metro Station. The good thing is you can step in the train at Vancouver International Airport for $ 9 and it drops you few steps away from this hotel. This is the main attraction of this property. The rooms are spacious, clean, simple and effectively architected. The rooms are generous in size and have large bathrooms. The internet is chargeable which is a disgrace in this age. Importantly i thought hotel overcommits on its website because there were few surprise that i experienced:

1. The Fitness center is no where close to what it appears on website. Most macinery there is rusted. Swimming pool is a kids pool i.e. 5ft max !

2. The hotel promises of morning jaguar service to drop customer for their business appointments within downtown area. I failed to see this service during my 4 days here. On day 1 the driver was late to work hence he wasnt available when i was ready to go. On day 2, the driver misplaced the keys and for remaining days i decided to make my own arrangements !

3. Hotel staff is predominantly of chinese origin hence i faced language issues

This is an extremely overpriced hotel. I paid around USD 350/night and there are much better place to stay at in this area for a relatively low price. This is a 3 star hotel with 5 start rates.

Room Tip: Stay here if you are getting rooms for USD 200 otherwise its not worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Metropolitan Hotel is an ageing business hotel in Vancouver. Its 1km away from waterfront and some 100 meters from Vancouver City Center Metro Station. The good thing is you can step in the train at Vancouver International Airport for $ 9 and it drops you few steps away from this hotel. This is the main attraction of this property. The rooms are spacious, clean, simple and effectively architected. The rooms are generous in size and have large bathrooms. The internet is chargeable which is a disgrace in this age. Importantly i thought hotel overcommits on its website because there were few surprise that i experienced:

1. The Fitness center is no where close to what it appears on website. Most macinery there is rusted. Swimming pool is a kids pool i.e. 5ft max !

2. The hotel promises of morning jaguar service to drop customer for their business appointments within downtown area. I failed to see this service during my 4 days here. On day 1 the driver was late to work hence he wasnt available when i was ready to go. On day 2, the driver misplaced the keys and for remaining days i decided to make my own arrangements !

3. Hotel staff is predominantly of chinese origin hence i faced language issues

This is an extremely overpriced hotel. I paid around USD 350/night and there are much better place to stay at in this area for a relatively low price. This is a 3 start hotel with 5 start rates.

Room Tip: Its a good option if you are getting this hotel for USD 200-250 max. Otherwise there are better opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,430 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing