We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star Service for a 5 Star Price - Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Metropolitan Hotel is an ageing business hotel in Vancouver. Its 1km away from waterfront and some 100 meters from Vancouver City Center Metro Station. The good thing is you can step in the train at Vancouver International Airport for $ 9 and it drops you few steps away from this hotel. This is the main attraction of this property. The rooms are spacious, clean, simple and effectively architected. The rooms are generous in size and have large bathrooms. The internet is chargeable which is a disgrace in this age. Importantly i thought hotel overcommits on its website because there were few surprise that i experienced:

1. The Fitness center is no where close to what it appears on website. Most macinery there is rusted. Swimming pool is a kids pool i.e. 5ft max !

2. The hotel promises of morning jaguar service to drop customer for their business appointments within downtown area. I failed to see this service during my 4 days here. On day 1 the driver was late to work hence he wasnt available when i was ready to go. On day 2, the driver misplaced the keys and for remaining days i decided to make my own arrangements !

3. Hotel staff is predominantly of chinese origin hence i faced language issues

This is an extremely overpriced hotel. I paid around USD 350/night and there are much better place to stay at in this area for a relatively low price. This is a 3 start hotel with 5 start rates.

Room Tip: Its a good option if you are getting this hotel for USD 200-250 max. Otherwise there are better opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is what I consider a hidden gem among the vast number of 4 star hotels in Vancouver whose downtown location is hard to beat in terms of access to the shopping and business districts. The rooms are spacious, marble bathrooms luxurious, and the beds and linens of excellent quality. My favourite aspect is the indoor pool and fitness areas which a lighty used and always in impeccable condition.

Room Tip: Go for executive suites - its worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

After a weekend jaunt to USA, we returned to Vancouver for three more nights… and a change of hotel. As we planned to wheel our luggage to the train, we stayed at the Metropolitan Hotel in order to be close to the Canada Line (which would take us to the airport). It was, in fact, about a five minute walk. I think there is only one other hotel closer.
The hotel's central location is convenient for shopping and walking to the harbour. A bus stop is only steps from the front door.
On checking in, I was offered the choice of a room on a high or low floor. I chose a low floor, as I’d read on Trip Advisor that the lift might be slow; we certainly never waited for more than a couple of minutes. While our check-in was being completed, our luggage was whisked away to our room. We were pleased to see that both our suitcases had been placed on a built-in shelf, which was a perfect height and had an overhead light. We find most collapsible luggage racks are too small and/or too low.
Our twin room on the fourth floor had a small balcony (with greenery) overlooking the city buildings, which meant that the floor-to-ceiling windows gave extra light and a feeling of spaciousness. The room, which appeared to have been renovated recently, was big enough to accommodate two extra chairs and a small table (in addition to the desk) and, pleasingly, neither of the beds had been placed against the wall. The mattresses were very comfortable. Our 4-piece bathroom was top class with its extra-long bench, mirrored wall and separate shower. Molton Brown toiletries are a luxurious touch.
We ate breakfast at Diva. The a la carte menu options were fairly limited; a buffet allows more choice. And, although both the oatmeal and granola were large serves, it was expensive.
The doormen were attentive and friendly and there was always at least one on duty whenever we went in or out. We appreciated the late checkout organised for us so that we could freshen up before our long flight home. Our luggage was stored securely, out of sight, with baggage tags, until we left. Bonus points for that!
Only one negative point: I was surprised that a hotel of the calibre of the Metropolitan does not require a key card to access the lift, or entry to the swimming pool. In spite of this, we would recommend the Metropolitan because of its central location and proximity to the station.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Whilst visiting our daughter in Vancouver we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Metropolitan. The staff were very friendly and attentive and I would like to thank Dave (Concierge) for his help with arranging out day trip to Whistler. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the swimming pool was very relaxing and clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palamino1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is in the centre of Vancouver, very convenient for all sightseeing, and shopping.

Service is excellent, with the concierge and door men always available and helpful.

Rooms are good, but beds quite small, as is the TV.

Restaurant expensive, but good food.

Breakfast, poor for the price.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_farnden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stopped here on our first few nights in Canada, and it was a blessing to find our first hotel lived up to our expectations.

Perfect location right in the centre of the city and less than 5min walk from the train station. Friendly reception. Room was a good size, very clean and really comfy bed. Bathroom was lovely.

The hotel also has a small pool and jacuzzi a few floors up which again were nice, though the changing rooms were not attached to the wet facilities so take your bathrobe with you from the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggxdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just completed a 10 day cruise and disembarked in Vancouver. Location could not be more perfect. Just a short taxi ride to the hotel and located in a very central part of downtown. Within walking distance of great shopping(like across the street) or a couple of blocks over. And within an extremely short walk to the transit station, which can take you directly to the airport. You do not need a rental car to enjoy Gastown, Chinatown, Robson St., the museum...they are in walking distance. More importantly all staff was soooo courteous, they really make you feel welcomed. Beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms, had a great view. There are no downsides. And I used a Groupon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,846 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver

Address: 645 Howe St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#27 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $164 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver is a luxury full service hotel in one of the best locations that the city has to offer. Arriving at Vancouver International Airport, take the Canada Line to Vancouver City Centre Station and from there, we are a mere two minute walk. 197 luxurious guest rooms and suites await you, all which feature extra large marble bathrooms; most of which feature separate bathtub and showers. Connecting rooms are available, as well as an array of suites. Diva at the Met, is the hotel’s iconic restaurant, serving the finest in local seafood, meats, poultry, vegan and gluten free dishes. Nightly specials in the lounge attract both a local and international crowd nightly. Our staff anxiously await your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing