We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but $16 per day for Wifi!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location but $16 per day for Wifi!”
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Booked the Hyatt for our last two days in Canada. Great location downtown and we took advantage of the earlier review on TripAdvisor and parked our car just two blocks down in the "chinese" carpark for $13 per day instead of the much more expensive price in Hyatt. Beautiful room and great facilities with an outdoor pool and hottub, but the one big negative was the not free wifi. We had stayed in 15 other hotels in Canada for the rest of our trip and not one charged for their wifi, and at $16 a day in the Hyatt for a 4 star hotel its cheeky. The hotel was also a bit noisy with conversations and tv's clearly audible from other rooms and a number of yells and shouts in the corridor during the night. The brief encounters with the staff were polite and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    1,217
    264
    80
    33
See reviews for
716
1,050
205
1,059
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The hotel is very nice. It is comfortable with a great view. It is a walking distance to China town, Art museum, Gas town and 7 minutes drive to the cruise ship port.
The check in staff in the other hand was very strange.
I am a member of Hyatt Gold card so I receive emails promoting CHEAP rates very often.
One of their promotion was $119/night at Vancouver Hyatt including breakfast for two adults.
We called up to make a reservation for 4 rooms. The travel agent did not know about the promotion; he checked with his manager and the deal was I had to pay for 4 rooms right away, they would charge my credit card as soon as finished my reservation and the reservation was not cancelable. That was fine. The agent ensured me that it included breakfast for 2 adults per room.
The confirmation email came and it did not mention the breakfast. I called and they said "Oh we did not put it in the email but it includes breakfast buffet for two".
When we checked in the clerk said "yes madame it includes breakfast for 2 for each room. We try to be a paperless company so you do not need a breakfast coupon" so sweetly.
Later we received a note printed on a piece of PAPER "Dear Mr. S
Our manager on duty looked up your reservation. Unfortunately your room does not include breakfast.....
If you have any questions, please contact our manager on duty at 4777.
Best Regards,
Midori"
We talked to Tsukasa and he whispered to us like we committed a crime since our rate was soooo low "shh...your rate is TRAVEL ZOO rate and it is just $119. It was a good rate. ". I did not know that I booked through Travel Zoo. The email was from Hyatt, I called Hyatt 800 number and Travel Zoo never was mentioned in our conversations.
We talked to a manager on duty and she was computerized:
"for i<1000 times say 'I know how you feel but nothing we can do' "
This is a very strange experience. Polite but nothing we can do.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleaningbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We arrived late Saturday evening and were upgraded on arrival with a view over the Fairmont Hotel (much better than our usual car park view we always seem to get everywhere!)
Staff helpful and friendly.
We were on the club floor which provided complimentary continental breakfast - cold/hot drinks, croissants/pastries, toast/bagels, smoked salmon/cream cheese and cereals. Also every evening there was complimentary snacks and of course there was the free internet available.
Good location, near to Robson Street, next to Skyrail and 10 mins walk from the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Great location within walking distance directly between Robson St (shopping and dining) and Canada Place and the convention center and seawall (Vancouver scenery at it's finest). We stayed for a week at a Priceline cost of $82 US/day and the parking at the hotel $28/day seemed exhorbitant but well worth it as we loved having a car handy. Didn't want to pay for internet and enjoyed having the break from a computer!

Room was nicely appointed and well maintained, instant hot water, small gym, lots of nearby places to eat, McDonalds and Tim Horton's right next door. Beds were comfortable and the room was quiet, if not for the connecting door.

On Burrard, we ate at Cactus Club Cafe (across the street for upbeat, contemporary food)
Imperial Chinese Restaurant (expensive dim sum) and Elephant Bar and Pub (fun, pub atmosphere and good fish and chips)

On Robson you'll find the best outdoor shopping. We ate at Hon's House of Noodles (best Cantonese food we had - cheap and delicious, watch the waitress use an iPhone or something to place orders!) Tropika (SE Asian food, restaurant is much nicer than the street entrance portrays) Tsunami Sushi (decent immediate sushi fix from revolving boat conveyor belt)

Make sure you visit Granville Island Public Market and eat the best croissants ever at the bakery, and Capilano/Grouse Mtn. area for a great getaway from city life!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP_Phx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

This hotels excels in service, and its location is unbeatable: beside the skytrain station, close to Robson St and a few blocks from the pier. Rooms are comfy. Breakfast is great.
There are probably newer hotels in town, but I would definitely return to this hotel if I visit Vancouver again.
I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomatinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

you'll notice when you walk in to the lobby that it feels like a big hotel. It is, with over 600 rooms. Reception and concierge was constantly busy. Rooms are beautifully appointed and beds are great. The showers are fantastic! Honour bar system, no bath robes, complimentary in-room safe is a nice touch. Hotel is more than 30 years old, but has be very well maintained. Book a balcony room! Balconies are large and spacious.
Room lighting not the best; upon check-in one hand towel was very dirty: it shocked me when I went to use it. Otherwise housekeeping was good. Internet access costs $14.96 per day!
Dining was good, menu items varied and very West Coast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We booked on priceline for about $110 and this hotel exceeded our expectations. We got a corner room that was huge and beautifully decorated. The location was excellent for exploring the city. You can not go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Property: Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing