We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent rooms but needs better soundproofing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here for four nights. We arrived at noon after a really long journey and were told that there were no standard rooms available. Check in at this hotel is at 4pm which seemed a little later than most other hotels. We were offered an upgrade to a higher class of room which was available straight away – but for an additional $30/night. We declined this offer as we did not want to spend more money on hotel charges.

We went off to explore the city which was easy as the hotel is in a good location However, we hoped that the room would be ready before 4pm. It wasn’t until after 3.30pm that a room was available. It seemed a little odd to me that no rooms at all were available sooner than this in a hotel of this size. I actually wondered if the "lack" of standard rooms had more to do with the hotel wanting to sell upgrades than anything else.

Once we got into our room there was a rollaway in there - which we did not need and had not asked for. Also, the request made in our booking to have no feather bedding had not been carried out. This was disappointing given we had waited so long for the room to be made available. It was around 4.30pm and several calls to housekeeping before these issues were resolved.

Aside from these initial issues, the room was clean and comfortable and had clearly had something of a refurbishment carried out recently. It was also a decent size. It didn’t have much in the way of soundproofing though. We were on the 23rd floor and could hear quite a lot of street noise (sirens, trucks reversing, loud vehicles, street musicians etc). We could also hear our neighbours quite clearly at times through the wall as well as quite a lot of noise from the corridors.

Service was ok but nothing out of the ordinary. At times the guest services line rang for quite a while unanswered. Charging $10/night for wifi seemed excessive. The Starbucks in the lobby was great to have. Overall, I’m not sure we’d rush back here if we were in Vancouver again.

One other tip - we found that it wasn't always easy to get cabs in Vancouver, even at the hotel. So plan ahead and allow a little extra time if you are going to need a cab.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,065 - 2,071 of 3,805 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The view of downtown was incredible! The service amazing! And, there was a Starbucks in the lobby! We could walk anywhere we needed. Taxi was hailed for us when we needed a ride to port. Overall, excellent accommodations!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife recently accompanied me on a business trip and we stayed at the Hyatt for 3 nights. This was not my first choice but my regular hotel was full. This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. Reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was large and clean, with a King size bed, exactly as requested. I was on the business plan which includes breakfast and turn down service. Turn down service was missed which is not a big deal except the free bottles of water come with turn down. This was quickly rectified with a call to the front desk. Breakfast is a buffet and at 27$ is a bit rich for me given what you get. There is an egg station, but the breakfast meet options were limited. Also, the lineups for the eggs were often quite long. I once waited 20 minutes for my omelet. My wife’s a la carte order came quicker. An option not open to me on the business plan.
We happened to be there when the Celebration of Light, an annual fireworks competition was happening. I think the hotel missed an opportunity to provide its guests with an option to watch the fireworks from a higher floor.
It should be noted that this hotel is in a super location. Bus and rapid transit is right outside the door. Shopping is minutes away by foot and the waterfront is only about a 10 minute walk.
So, overall a great stay at a great hotel. This may become my first choice in the future.

Room Tip: For a mountain and wter view pick the north side as high up as you can afford. Buildings around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Northof54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is at a very good location in downtown Vancouver. Staff very polite and helpful.Room very
clean.Sound insulation of rooms not good. It is a problem. Also noise from traffic.Tiny swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SMavrogenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Vancouver is the city of balconies so do spring for the balcony room in this great hotel. Very modern lovely decor with great amenities and helpful staff. The hotel bar downstairs is quite good and has a nice street view glimpse of downtown. The location is wonderful as it is easy to walk to some of Vancouver's greatest attractions and shopping as well as the public transit. Wonderful for a extended family vacation.

Room Tip: Do a balcony room, they are spacious and allow for fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mesa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a super late check-in and it went very smooth and painless. The hotel is very nice. I hated taking a shower so late (in case I woke up the neighbors) but after traveling all day it was really needed. The shower was beautiful. The whole room was beautiful. Very modern and chic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyValkyrie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located. I spent a few days here and didn't want to rent a car. Luckily the public transportation is great! The hotel I very upscale and the views are great. Totally recommend a stay here. Lots to do in the area and right next to the subway!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank DashtheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,564 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,343 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $169 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing