We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great room (standard) and impeccable service! We didn't arrive until close to midnight and the front desk staff helped us find something to eat by printing out a menu of a local place that was still delivering. We could have grabbed something at McDonald's or another burger place right across from the entrance but it was the last night of a UN conference for young people and those places were pretty crowded. The front desk kept apologizing but there really was nothing to apologize for as they were all very well behaved, there was just a lot of them. We stayed the weekend and had to leave about 5 am to catch our train and the concierge made sure we had a taxi out front waiting for us. We did not use the hotel restaurant so I cannot comment on that but the Starbuck's in the lobby was very convenient :-)
The only small issue was that the bathroom had a mildew smell but that would not stop me from staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherilo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 3,848 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt after an unexpected overnight in Vancouver. Room was fantastic, clean and comfortable. Lobby was under construction, but they have done a good job to minimize the impact. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Wasnt overwhelmed with service, but had a good night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I made a last minute decision to return to the Hyatt after previous accommodations fell through that left me high and dry. I would later find out that this would be a decision I wouldn't regret.
Having previously stayed, I knew what I would be getting into for the most part: nice rooms, cozy beds, large bathrooms, an outdoor pool & hot tub and just an overall nice facility.
What made my experience better than the last was my interactions with hotel staff. While I didn't have any issues with the staff during my last stay, they were even more welcoming and friendly than before. This made my experience much more enjoyable, especially after having to frantically find a place to stay at 9:30pm with plans for the evening drawing near.

My one and only complaint (which I find to not be uncommon in most hotels) is that the hot tub was really dirty. This is recognizable by the amount of frothy bubbles that the jets produce when dead skin/dirt are present. I understand that patrons are partially to blame as a pre-shower would help this case but unfortunately, this time around was one of the dirtier hot tubs I had ever seen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kait h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear kait h,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you coming back to our hotel and I am happy to hear that your recent stay was even better than the last one. It is wonderful to hear that our staff helped to make your visit more enjoyable and that they were all very welcoming and friendly. I would like to apologize about your experience with our hot tub and I have shared your feedback with our engineering team. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a 4 nights for a conference. The facilities are fantastic for large conferences requiring multiple meeting rooms. The meals and refreshments were always fresh and plentiful. All the staff from conference staff to housekeeping were pleasant and efficient keeping the conference area tidy without being noticed. I used the web check in and out which was efficient. I loved the elevators. Never had to wait very long even though the hotel was quite busy with multiple conferences. Location can't be beat being 2 blocks from Robson St, Pacific Centre, Canada Line , Art Gallery and walking distance to other Vancouver attractions.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank PGdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I flew into Vancouver for the weekend without really knowing my immediate surroundings and I required a rental car first thing the next morning. I randomly emailed a Hyatt contact listed on my priceline itinerary and she forwarded my message to the Hyatt concierge (that evening). The next day I had an email from the concierge (Lorri Jensen) informing me that she had price-compared a couple of nearby rental agencies, secured a booking for the cheaper location and that I was ready to go for 730AM the morning after my arrival which is when the Thrifty's opened.

Upon my arrival I followed up with the on-duty concierge, Vanessa, who picked up right where Lorri left off, confirming my rental reservation and booking me a haircut in the adjacent mall as I had an hour to kill prior to my dinner reservation.

Great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Taylor B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. I am very happy that both Lorri and Vanessa were able to assist you with making your rental car arrangements, as well as recommending a place for a haircut and booking the appointment. I will certainly share your kind words with both of them. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Everyone @ this hotel made us feel like we were coming home! Fantastic service with smiles all around! I don't know what they feed there staff but everyone that we spoke to seemed to love what they were doing! We can't wait to return!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was a great hotel for our conference with just a few issues. We have been here several times, so we are listing highlights and flaws from our experience with Hyatt Vancouver. Here are the highlights:

Location: Excellent, could not be better. Public transportation is wonderful and its easy to walk to terrific restaurants, great shopping, parks, street food, hockey games, water taxi, bridges and take a short cab ride to Stanley Park. Views of the mountains and water if facing the harbor are amazing.

Staff and Concierge: Concierge services and staff are top notch - great at making reservations, directions, dropping menus by your room or finding you in the bar to confirm reservations for the evening. Really terrific! Bell staff was always available, housekeeping excellent and the check in/out staff unfailingly warm and polite. Always a pleasure!

Rooms: Well appointed, bathrooms are good, views have always been terrific, size of the room is very good, and heat/cooling perfect. Artwork could be slightly better but that's really splitting hairs. Pillows and bedding fairly good.

Bar: Views from the bar and great, staff is excellent, drinks are fine but expensive. Food is below in the flaws section.

Flaws:

Elevators: Awful. There is a very old system in place and elevators are slow. There is no progress bar to let you know the elevator is coming or where you are in the building. The conference received and published many, many well deserved complaints regarding elevators. On the plus side, the hotel staff did maintenance on the elevators and it improved a little. Still very slow.

Mattresses: I have had two stays with great mattresses, and one with a terrible bed with a deep slump in the mattress. Not a fan of bad mattresses, so this last trip with the saggy mattress was less than ideal. Even with this, I loved our stay.

Food: Not a fan of the food. Their dishes were not flavorful, bar food and breakfast egg sandwich overcooked and in general for such pedestrian fare the menu items were far overpriced. They need a better approach to food, especially when surrounded by amazing Vancouver restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view, and if you have the opportunity and it is warm outside, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $202 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing