We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Elegant rooms, smart public spaces. Lobby a bit noisy when large tour groups in hotel but rooms are quiet and very comfortable. Bathrooms are particularly nice, especially the shower. Parking is expensive though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASRisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,676)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,331 - 2,337 of 3,676 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location of Hyatt is so accessible to elsewhere of the city, many attractions can be reached on foot, by bus or metro minutes away from her. A wide range of dining options are also available nearby; from chained fast food to fine dining. No wonder limited dining choices are provided by the Hotel herself ! As regards the hotel services, the Hyatt brand certainly won't let you down and I appreciate their guest services the most.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_HKSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My room is on the eighth floor and they have an elevator system that assigns an elevator to you based upon your destination. For example, if you want to go to the lobby, you select the first floor on the keypad and it tells you to go to elevator A, or B, C, etc. So far no problems. Unless the hotel is busy like it is today. I left my room and pressed the keypad and it said wait for elevator C. My wife and I waited for five minutes. No elevator. Tried the keypad again. Now it said elevator B. waited for another five minutes. Tried again. Now elevator A. No elevator ever showed up and it had now been fifteen minutes. I called the hotel operator to see if the elevators were working. An unbelievably rude woman told me that everything was working properly and that I "would just have to wait". This is supposed to be a classy, four star hotel. We paid a premium to stay here. That was a HUGE mistake. You have been warned....

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Boyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Boyd M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I understand our team at the hotel has reached out to you regarding your experience, but I did wish to offer you an apology for the inconvenience. Should I be able to assist you with anything further, please contact me at brandi.lasanen@hyatt.com.

Warm Regards,
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've always had good experiences at Hyatt hotels, and we even got married in one of their properties. This Hyatt specifically though won't even break the top ten of Hyatt properties in my book. If I could, I would probably give this property a 1.5 star instead of a 2, but since I don't have that option, I'm leaning towards 2 since it's not so bad that it only deserves a 1 star.

It didn't start out smoothly from the start. The check in process was amazingly slow. Unlike most Hyatt properties, this one specifically didn't have a Platinum line check in. When it's busy like it was, Platinum line would have been appreciated. For some reasons, during the reservation process, we were booked into two different rooms for the first night and the rest other two nights, so we would have to move on second day, which would have been a real pain. The lady who helped us was nice and assured us she would do whatever she needed to do so we didn't have to move the second night. The check in process took more than 20 minutes because of this issue. It was probably the longest check in we ever had. After that long check in, you would think the issue had been fixed. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case. We got locked out of our room the second night. We were out all day and didn't make it back to the room until after midnight. Imagine the inconvenience when you made it up to your room only to have to go back downstairs to take care of this when it's promised to you that everything was taken care of during the check in. That was one strike!

The room itself was not the cleanest;it was quite dusty, thus allergies galore! The sink still had nasty dark gunk all over from previous guests I'm guessing? In case you're wondering, it was there to stay for the whole three nights we were there. Perhaps most guests don't look at their sinks closely, but I'm OCD so I notice things that really shouldn't be there.

The hairdryer was broken; it looked like someone had dropped it previously so the head didn't stay in place. Imagine trying to dry your hair with a hair dryer that wouldn't stay lock. It wasn't replaced even though I had made it known that the hair dryer was broken the first night.

Whoever okayed the placement of the shower head should have really reconsidered! Sure it's cool that your shower head is on the ceiling, but seriously, it is not the most convenient when you're showering. Imagine all the ninja moves you are forced to do just to get certain parts of your body all washed.

If anyone ever considered booking a suite here, seriously, reconsider! it's not worth the upgrade! We had a suite our first night (thus the whole reservation mess I mentioned earlier) which was an upgrade from my points. I so wished I had saved my points for another property. The second "room" aka suite side of the room was literarily a pull out couch. And the amazing waterfront view they promised us was blocked by all the giants building around.

There's some kind of party our last night there so we went up and down the elevator with some drunk young crowd. Okay, I must tell you that I'm not THAT old and I'm pretty close in age to some of these people, but I was shocked by how some were acting. I saw no securities around! Normally I see securities around during events to make sure things are in control. At one point, there's broken glass or bottle in one of the elevator. Seriously? And the party continued outside our room that night. Drunk people running around screaming down the hallway (another negative: you can hear noises from the hallways). Seriously, where were the security people? We're talking after midnight here, so it's not like it was early during the night where no one was sleeping.

Now, let me get to some positives since this place was not all bad, thus the 2 stars rating:
- location location location. It is in the middle of downtown, so it's walking distance to pretty much whatever your heart desires.
- staff is friendly
- free and very fast wifi <-although this might be due to my Platinum membership though. Not sure if this is for all. Normally, at other Hyatt properties, I get free fastest wifi, but here, I'm only given the standard wifi. If anyone ever considers upgrading to fast wifi, DON'T! The standard is fast that I was able to watch stuff on my iPad. That's usually my test of how fast hotel wifi is.

Now, will I stay here again? I can honestly say I would not consider this hotel at all next time I'm in Vancouver. I keep on thinking about how I wasted my points on this unsatisfying stay. I may check out waterfront hotels next time.

In case anyone cares, I did mention my unpleasant stay when Hyatt contacted me after my stay as they normally do after each stay. Normally, the hotel managers will respond to either positive reviews/criticisms I have over each property, but I haven't heard from them at all in this regards. It sure doesn't make me feel any better about this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SnowPrincess1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear ZaiZaiLv,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I understand that our General Manager has been in touch with you regarding your stay, but I would again like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had while at our hotel. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to improve for the future. I do appreciate you highlighting the positives of your stay such as our friendly staff and our location within downtown Vancouver. I hope that should your travels bring you to Vancouver in the future, we have the opportunity to welcome you back and give you the experience that you should expect when staying at a Hyatt. Please contact me directly at brandi.lasanen@hyatt.com so I may assist you with future bookings.

Warm Regards
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed a night at this hotel located in the heart of the business district and a top the hill in Vancouver so the rooms have nice views from the top floors. The staff is friendly, the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The restaurant in the hotel was OK, food was mediocre.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you get a view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A block away from Vancouver Art Museum and close location to downtown shopping district, it was great for shopping and just roaming around. The elevator is a little interesting system, and the Wi-fi is not complimentary, so need to watch out for that. Room service is well cared for. They did add extra towels for us without us requesting. However, one of the rooms we had had a patio, but registration did not tell us anything about over-looking pool and jacuzzi. The noise is easily heard. you can hear the morning call of the next room too. If you want a quiet sleep, I recommend somewhere higher in the level or somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north are facing the pool and jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happily-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I planned my 20th anniversary without telling my wife that we are travelling to Seattle and Vancouver that week. So I made my airline reservations from Tampa to Seattle and reserved two nights at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. I ended up telling my wife that we are travelling to Seattle and Vancouver without the kids a couple of days before our departure, but never told her what is waiting for her there. I called the hotel in Vancouver the day of our arrival and told them that it is our 20th anniversary and that I needed a room upgrade if possible. No surprise to me, they were very receptive and even offered me a complimentary upgrade to a higher floor, bigger room with a balcony, and premium views. When we got there, The check-in agent asked me to wait, and she brought out the hotel manager. He congratulated us and was very courteous to us to the point where we felt so special. He also provided us with free access to the lounge, which offered free breakfast and other snack services. They took us to our room, and oh my God, the view was breathtaking, overseeing downtown Vancouver and the water front where cruise ships dock. Few hours after our check-in, they brought in a very nice arrangement of chocolate to our room, complimentary.

The room was spacious, the views were great, the lounge food was delicious, and most importantly, they made us feel very special.

THANK YOU HYATT REGENCY VANCOUVER FOR YOUR GREAT HOSPITALITY!

Room Tip: Higher floors with a balcony overlooking the bay would be a great choice. The views we had are bette...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redwan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiLasanen, Executive Office at Hyatt Regency Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Redwan A,

Congratulations on your 20th Anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose to spend your special day with us. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful visit and that you enjoyed your stay in Vancouver. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Brandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,593 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,075 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,364 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Vancouver

Address: 655 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , Coal Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $194 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan. Urbane. Stylish. From the moment you arrive at the Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Vancouver, it’s clear there’s more here than meets the eye. Be treated to plush amenities and uncompromising service in a downtown Vancouver hotel that boasts the largest guestrooms, most impressive meeting and event facilities, romantic wedding venues, and accomplished catering staff of any accommodation in Vancouver.Help green the planet with a stay at Hyatt Regency Vancouver. The first downtown hotel to be awarded five keys, the highest rating, by the HAC Green Key Program our Vancouver Hyatt uses the services of Bullfrog Power (100% green electricity from wind power) for all its meeting rooms.Let the luxurious Hyatt Regency Vancouver be your ideal starting point to explore everything this dynamic city offers. Freshly updated to reflect the excitement and vibrancy of Vancouver, our hotel is surrounded by the bustling business center; moments from unique shops and engaging entertainment. For business travel or vacation, reward yourself with a stay at the favored choice of hotels in Vancouver, British Columbia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hyatt Vancouver
Vancouver Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing