We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Moda!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the Moda!”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect for seeing all of Vancouver - we only used public transportation to get to and from the airport (which was quite easy). We faced the street and found it a bit noisy at bar time, which was really the only drawback of the hotel. The room was very clean, bright, modern, and comfortable. We would definitely consider staying here again on a future trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laut0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2010
Thank you for choosing Moda Hotel during your stay in Vancouver. We are very happy that your stay with us was comfortable and you enjoyed our modern rooms, great wine bar and our great location, and most importantly our friendly and professional service. We hope to welcome you back to Moda Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    362
    206
    62
    49
See reviews for
76
404
85
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

The hotel is in a great spot, close and convenient to much Vancouver has to offer while being just sufficiently removed from the worst excesses of Granville Street. It is particularly handy for the Orpheum Theatre, airport connexions by the Skytrain are nearby and public transport is almost to the door. The in-house restaurants are fabulous and Uva really knows how to brew good coffee (which is sadly lacking in North America) as well as serving knock-out "arancini'.

The aircon worked effectively although we didn't need it much in October, but if you intend to book at Moda, try to avoid room 421 which has what must be the most sloping floor ever in a hotel. When I mentioned this to the staff, they looked blank and claimed it had never been reported before. I can only assume they have always allocated the room to people with one leg five centimetres longer than the other

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pogee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. West Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

The front desk staff were outstanding, genuinely helpful and warm -- a happy medium between the forced friendliness you get at some chain hotels and the uncomfortable intimacy of some B&Bs.

It was our first time in Vancouver, and our impression of the entertainment district downtown was a little gritty. Not dangerous or unpleasant, just gritty. The Moda and its adjoining restaurant, wine bar, espresso bar (delicious breakfast!), sports bar and wine shop are a classy contrast.

That said, the hotel is not shiny and perfect. It's an old building that has been beautifully renovated but still suffers from persnickety heating, electrical and plumbing issues, as evidenced by the many workmen with whom we shared elevator rides and the apologetic explanation, on check-in, of how to work around the (minor) heat and lighting quirks of our room. The Moda is more of a grande dame than a Botox bombshell, and I like that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peripatetic24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at the Moda as I was in Vancouver to see the hockey. The location was fantastic, close to shops restaurants and night clubs. A new bar called the Red Card just opened downstairs, it was great! The staff were a lot of fun!
The rooms were lovely, very clean, not large, but enough space for a 2 night stay.
The only slightly disappointing thing was the noise at night. Our room was directly above the bar, you couldn’t hear people on the street, or even talking from the bar, just the constant background music. It seemed a little strange to me that the hotels own bar had the music up so loud the guests upstairs could hear it. I was in the bar for some time and I didn’t think the atmosphere would have been any different if the music was a little lower, but as a guest of the hotel I would have definitely appreciated it.
That being said I used the ear plugs provided and had a great night sleep anyway, both nights.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeringoWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I saw their rooms advertised on vancouver.com for a lower price that on their website. Their website said to contact them if you find a cheaper price and they will beat it. I used their 'Best Rate' request form on their website but after a week, they didn't respond to me. I really needed to book a hotel so I filled out the form again urging them to contact me or reply but it too was completetly ignored. Still no repsonse from them.
I have found a way cheaper hotel with great reviews and that serves continental breakfast so it was a blessing in disguise.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

i really enjoy the hotel. It was nice since it was centrally located!!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MimiT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalaha, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2009

First thing was the room was not ready,it was suppose to be ready at 3:00 but not ready till after 3:30. Had to wait in the TINY lobby.Then the air conditioner was off for the season,no central air.Windows were wide open letting in the street noise,closing them did not help with the noise(they supplied ear plugs but they would not stay in and only 1pair.) Only had queen size bed available.Had to search for a place to plug in the coffee maker. There was only 1 tiny sliver of soap to use. Oh yes there was no place to stop and unload your luggage.The staff was outstanding though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leegromadzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
784 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
716 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
925 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing