We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Great location and friendly staff, rooms are clean , much better than the Sheraton Wall for a better price, if you like boutique hotels.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    373
    213
    62
    49
See reviews for
78
422
87
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

The Moda is one of the few design hotels in Vancouver - and it does a fine job of living up to expectations in that regard. It is also the most reasonable of all the boutique hotels in VanCity. There were quite a few flaws with the hotel, but the staff was very apologetic, compensated us adequately and treated us well. There is hope that they will soon work out the kinks.

We at first booked the Moda hotel at a rate of $219 for Saturday night and $199 for Sunday. So when I saw the same room on Expedia for $120, I grabbed it and called the hotel to cancel my direct reservation. Woah - big mistake. Upon arrival, they were discounting all the rooms to $99 because the promised air conditioning was not working. I was aware that the A/C might be an issue from previous Tripadvisor posts, but apparently they were promising the new system to be working by this time. The entire place appeared to be half finished, with such charming features as missing ceiling tiles and huge industrial fans failingly attempting to blow cool air into the halls during the day. The biggest annoyance was that the one slow elevator was out of order for the entire duration of our stay. The room was very hot the first night, even with the windows wide open, but the second and third nights were sufficiently cool that the lack of A/C was not a bother.

After I complained that the Expedia rate was higher than the rate they were quoting, one of the staff members attempted to make amends by trying to cancel one of the nights with Expedia, allowing the hotel to charge me the lower rate. She really went out of her way to do this, spending over an hour on the phone with Expedia. She also wrote us a breakfast voucher for the difference in rates at my suggestion.

Some reviewers also complained about street noise - if you request a room facing the back, you should not have a problem - there are large HVAC units from an adjacent building that will drown out the loud streets. It's also nice that the windows actually open. I imagine it is a rare day in Vancouver when you need A/C anyway.

The staff also duly discounted our rate further upon checkout due to the continued problems at the hotel.

All in all, we liked the place, and felt our final rate was very fair given the troubles. If they get the place fixed, it will be worth the full price, and if not, at least you know you will be accommodated by the conscientious and attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Firstly, Vancouver is a beautiful city. Just beautiful city.
It was very hard to find accommodation that i felt suited us and thanks to recommendation on TripAdvisor, we picked Moda. Now compared to all of our other stays, the room was small and as it didnt have aircon, it only had a fan, at night time it got VERY HOT.

BUT, the staff at this hotel made the stay. There was a reception staff member, Phillippe and he really knew the meaning of above and beyond. If it was not for Phillippe and some other key staff members, we probably would not have been happy. specially considering the rate. But his professionalism and willingness to assist and to help us in any way was honestly fantastic.

I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rskennar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Ok - I'll get the bad points out fo the way first - it's an old building, the floor creaks, the lift is ancient, the traffic noise outside is loud and it doesn't have any aircon.

So what? To be honest you are there to sleep so if you haven't tired yourself out enough during the day to sleep through a bomb then you are not doing it right! The floor creaks? See my previous sentence. You use the lift twice a day and it moves up and, amazingly, down! The traffic is loud - yes - it is loud but does die down. If you are a solo traveller then you are either asleep or out partying during the major traffic noise so it's not a bother. I was on the 1st floor in a corner room so I had two streets and it was no problem. Even then they provide ear plugs for the noise and face mask for any lights. As for no aircon - I didn't notice a problem and I didn't even use the small portable unit. IT was start first week in July and baking hot until nearly midnight and there was no problem.

Positives - location, location and location. You are right downtown -Robson St., Granville St., Yaletown, Gastown, Chinatown and the Waterfront are all within in a few blocks. Need more? Skytrain is 4 blocks away to get you anywhere you need. False Creek is a short walk and you can do the Harbour wall if you are energetic.

It's a little gem of a hotel and pretty reasonable. My ONE criticism - no onsite breakfast for when I feel lazy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castor66Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Hi,

It was a girl's night out in town so we booked an affordable, clean room to get ready for some late night dancing. It's newly renovated, so, it's clean. However, there's no air conditioning. So, we find the room very warm and it's difficult to look pretty when your make up is melting away and hair keep getting flat. The hotel is next to a brand new construction...and I didn't know they also dig on a saturday morning !

However, i think it's a ideal location if you want to be in heart of all entertainment, dining and dancing and shopping. It's probably better to go there during early spring / fall when it's not too warm out and you can sleep with the windows closed. or bring ear plugs with you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, Hotel Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
We are in the process of installing Air Conditioning Units in all of our rooms and we should have this completed by end of July. Construction across the street is due for completion by the end of September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Mixed reviews for the Moda but the unfailing help and courteous attention I got from the staff made my visit special.These folks were great and put up with my confused laptop WiFi use without complaint. In fact the hotel was still awaiting a/c when I stayed but temperatures were comfortable. The rooms showed recent renovation and were excellent value for a mid priced intown hotel. I would advise checking on parking if you are driving because there is no way to stop out front without attracting an angry bus!! And the one way system can make for a nervous arrival to say the least. So do ask. When I was there parking was 100 yards away underground and the staff will urge you to immediately bring everything of value as you check in. Makes it sound worse than it really is...this is a decent area. There is no getting away from the fact that traffic noise thru the night is loud, even on the 4th floor. This ia very intown city and sirens, motor bikes and road racing engine gunners do make for interesting sleep. So if traffic is going to bother you this may not be the place....but if you want great people to help you look no further

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We booked the hotel for one night via Hotwire, which I was not very pleased with, since based on the past reviews, I would not have chosen to stay in this hotel myself. However, since we are only there for one night, I thought we should go with an open mind.
The parking for the hotel is in a seperate building, and is not connected to the hotel lobby. It was quite inconvenient for us since we had four luggages with us, and it was an hassle to find a parking spot outside the hotel to unload the luggage since the roads were very busy and there was no on-street parking outside the hotel. The staff was nice enough to come out and help with our luggage.
The room was very small and the walls were very thin, and the windows were not double glazed so the traffic noise was very distracting. It did not help that we were sandwiched between 2 occupied rooms, so we can hear the bathroom tabs and toilet flashes from one room, and other guests arguing in the other room. The noisy guests were shouting and screaming after a night out at 1.30am, and you can pratically hear their arguments in our room, which was not very pleasant.
Overall, this hotel was very bad value for money even for £50 a night, i have stayed in better hotels in Vancouver for similar price or slightly more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whateasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, Hotel Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
We have installed double pane windows in most of rooms and by end of July, all of our rooms will have double pane windows. Currently we do not have a loading zone in front of the hotel due to public transportation. However, once they Sky Train Route is completed on Granville Street, all the buses will move from Seymour Street back to Granville and we will have our loading zone in front of our hotel which we already have our application in to the city. We will have our own parking across the street by the end of July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 90 in Vancouver
816 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,679 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing