We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had one night in Vancouver and were very pleased with the location of this hotel. It's clean, modern and the staff on check in and throughout our stay were very friendly and helpful. The room itself is pretty small and if we had been staying more than one night it might have been an issue with accessing our suitcases but for a one night stay to see the city it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Moda Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 902 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, nice location- close to the action. Our stay here was brief....the room itself was nice, but small. The electrical outlets were hard to find, and multiple plugs were loaded onto one outlet (our tv didn't work). Good value for a king sized bed room with a nice city view.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank WindsorON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

First of all, we booked through Hotwire so we got a very good rate which has obviously influenced this review. Stayed 3 nights with my wife and toddler, all the staff were extremely accommodating, providing a baby cot as well as hot water (for baby milk) whenever we asked - there was unfortunately no kettle in the room. They also provided options when our aircon stopped working (during an apparently rare Vancouver heatwave). Location is amazing, really well suited for exploring downtown Vancouver. Do try some of the beers from the liquor store downstairs, really great selection. There is also a nice deli down the road (Nester's), pity there wasn't a fridge in the room in which to store consumables.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan_knapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

For the price, this hotel is okay. It is our third hotel this trip to Vancouver, 6th hotel ever in Vancouver. It is in last place. Since we paid $150 a night during a busy week in Vancouver, and the staff were nice, I will forgive some of the holiday inn vibe. If you are sensitive to noise, this is NOT the hotel for you. Street noise is cut by the double windows, but hallway / stairway noise is loud. The air conditioner is loud. To sleep, I had to run the tv on a music station all night. The decor is nice and modern, the bed is comfortable. It is as clean as you can find in an oceanside city (wee bits of mold in shower, few cracks in bath plaster). My inexpensive room was tiny, as I only needed one bed. I was likely punished for using hotels.com as I was given the very worst room as far as stair noise is considered. If you choose this place, pay directly to the hotel so that you have more leverage to move rooms.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank cheshrgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms were small and did not have the greatest ammentities however the location was great. About a block from the main strip on Granville with plenty of nightlife and restaurants to enjoy.Offsite parking is also inconvienent and hard to find, make sure to stop at the lobby first.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Although a bit more than I normally spend and with rooms that are a bit small, they made good use of space in cabinets that held coffee maker, fridge, etc. The staff was very helpful, getting us parked and storing bags even though we arrived early. Also printed trolley tickets for us. Great location within a short walk from bard, restaurants, and shopping.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank DebSalter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Close to Robson, rail station major malls and restaurants. Within walking distance to Chinatown. The hotel room is small, and fortunately, we booked a junior suite. Modern design with a refurbished antique elevator which work quite well. If not you can take the stairs if the wait time is too long since the building is not very tall. I was delighted to see that bathrobes are provided however they are not absorbent at all...The bedroom slippers - I think they are re-used, because when you wear them you can feel someone else's foot imprint

The room was very warm even when we adjusted the air con to the lowest, so we had to leave the windows open

Not many power socket around, so if you have many items to charge between you and your travel partner, do bring a power board or the like, along.

Also, if you are on a cost-saving trip like me, we took the subway to the airport - not more than CAD5 per trip. But note that the platform is just like a bus platform...the rail tracks blends in with the road...

I gave this rating an Average rather than very good because of a small billing detail that we encountered which were not satisfactory resolved when we checked out. The staff insinuated that we were lying which we did not. But I believe further investigations were made after we left as we got an email from the hotel rectifying the issue.

Room Tip: If you are travelling light, the standard rooms should suffice. But with two or more anad/or lots...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CookieBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
412 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
859 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#39 of 92 in Vancouver
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,741 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,497 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $89 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing