We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Although a bit more than I normally spend and with rooms that are a bit small, they made good use of space in cabinets that held coffee maker, fridge, etc. The staff was very helpful, getting us parked and storing bags even though we arrived early. Also printed trolley tickets for us. Great location within a short walk from bard, restaurants, and shopping.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DebSalter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    359
    203
    62
    47
See reviews for
75
396
84
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Close to Robson, rail station major malls and restaurants. Within walking distance to Chinatown. The hotel room is small, and fortunately, we booked a junior suite. Modern design with a refurbished antique elevator which work quite well. If not you can take the stairs if the wait time is too long since the building is not very tall. I was delighted to see that bathrobes are provided however they are not absorbent at all...The bedroom slippers - I think they are re-used, because when you wear them you can feel someone else's foot imprint

The room was very warm even when we adjusted the air con to the lowest, so we had to leave the windows open

Not many power socket around, so if you have many items to charge between you and your travel partner, do bring a power board or the like, along.

Also, if you are on a cost-saving trip like me, we took the subway to the airport - not more than CAD5 per trip. But note that the platform is just like a bus platform...the rail tracks blends in with the road...

I gave this rating an Average rather than very good because of a small billing detail that we encountered which were not satisfactory resolved when we checked out. The staff insinuated that we were lying which we did not. But I believe further investigations were made after we left as we got an email from the hotel rectifying the issue.

Room Tip: If you are travelling light, the standard rooms should suffice. But with two or more anad/or lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a good location and the front desk offers a very good service but the smell in the room is terrible, it seems very few people disregard the non smoking rules and the odor is impregnated
The breakfast is poor and expensive
If you have another choice for the same cost try it

Helpful?
1 Thank Dimas C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The staff at the Moda Hotel was extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and neat. Easily accessible with the handy elevator. Close to theater, shopping and restaurants. I would stay there again if ever in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Pros: Front Desk staff was very courteous and helpful. This hotel is reasonably close to the cruise ship port and we got off our Disney Cruise at 8:30am and had no trouble with having our luggage stored before our room was ready. The Canada Line train is only 3 blocks away which is great. You are also a 25-30min walk to Granville Island which has some great boutique shopping. The room is fairly basic, but clean.

Cons: Our room faced the back of the hotel (3rd floor). We were not really worried about the view as this was a one night stay to rest before flying back to Orlando. However, there was a fair amount of fan blowing noise coming off the roof of the building below us. We closed the window and turned on the A/C which worked, but the fan of this wall mounted unit was also fairly significant. The shower experience also left something to be desired...the head was about eye level for me (at 5 feet 7 inches)...and the water pressure was such that I had to basically stand against the back of the tub area just in front of the drain to get wet). There was also only one bar of soap to share between sink and shower.

Room Tip: Based on our experience with noise off of the backside of the hotel you might try the front, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jbish5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Downtown Vancouver. It's also a 5-10 minute walk from the trendy Gastown area and a 5 minute cab ride to English Bay. The staff could not have been more helpful; upon check-in the receptionist recommended a great seafood restaurant in English Bay and booked us a table. The breakfast was both delicious and plentiful also. I gave 3/5 for cleanliness only because a couple of bits of rubbish (trash) were dropped in the corridor when we came back from dinner and we're still there the next morning when we went down for breakfast. Only other minor complaint was that the wifi made you log in almost every time you turned your phone/iPad on, but other than that it was reliable and quite fast. Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor to lessen the traffic noise, & the noise from the bar downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Located three blocks from the airport train, and less than a mile from the Convention Center and Granville Island, it is a couple of blocks from the heart of the shopping district and a couple blocks from an upscale neighborhood. it is the ideal place to stay for those who prefer a small boutique hotel to large international chains or for someone attending a convention who does not want a roommate to cover the cost of the convention hotels.. Rooms are basic but clean and functional. While it has no fitness room, it is a great place for people who want to walk or jog. I decided not to bring my computer and I was the only one using their business center. I was very glad that I decided to stay at the Moda. However, it if were winter when it is cold and gets dark early, as a woman who lives in a warm climate travelling on her ownm I may have been less enthusiastic about the location - not the hotel.

Room Tip: I had a back corner room and it was quiet, light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Granville Street
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#44 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing