We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for business travel but great restaurant”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had had lunch here on a previous trip and it was very good. The location is great and it's an easy walk to just about anywhere, easy to get to on the skytrain from the airport. On a recent trip, I stayed one night on business and wouldn't stay for business again. The wireless internet was up and down, and the room was just OK - a little too red for my liking. I would stay for a personal trip, when I wasn't planning to spend much time in the room but it wasn't the best for spending time in the room between meetings trying to work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorleysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Moda Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 906 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booking through expedia I got a terrific deal on a deluxe room on the 3rd floor, where I spent four nights. Having not heard of this place before, I would now book again without hesitation. It's centrally located in downtown Van, a couple of blocks from both SkyTrain lines and an easy walk to all downtown neighbourhoods & attractions. There's a full grocer down the block & lots of restaurants close-by. They've got a PC for guest use which is nice for folks like me who travel without a stack of devices. There are two or three restaurants on the main floor, none of which I tried, but each looked pretty good.

Tastefully decorated, most everything was in good shape. I was a bit surprised to see the disconnected window A/C taking up space in the corner, but this was no big deal (and frankly I'm not sure where else they'd store 80-odd units throughout the winter months). The mattress was pleasantly firm, and the bathroom was super-clean and more spacious than I envisioned. While both Seymour & Smithe streets are pretty busy with vehicular traffic, I had no problems sleeping. There are two single-pane windows -so it's not whisper quiet- but I was never bothered with noise from the street.

I'll be staying again the next time I visit the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Moda Hotel for just one night October 2, 2013 while in Vancouver for a concert. Because we don't know Vancouver very well, we wanted to be fairly close to the concert venue (Rogers Arena), but not have to pay an arm and a leg. After reading the reviews on the Moda, we were a little unsure of what to expect. But ultimately we were very satisfied. I was concerned after reading a lot of reviews about how noisy it might be. But when we booked our reservation, we requested a quiet room, and had no noise issues.
The room was very small, and had it been for any more than one night, or if we were in the room for anything more than just to sleep, it might be a bit of a challenge. But otherwise I think they've done a good job of updating a very old building and keeping it reasonably priced.
The biggest fault I would have to say is the pedestal sink in the bathroom. While it adds to the modern look of the decor, there is absolutely no counter space to put any bathroom necessities like toiletries, makeup, etc. And no other mirror in the bedroom to use instead.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room when booking and you shouldn't have noise problems.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickyd_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

spent 3 nights at the moda hotel and had a room on the 4th floor. It was nice to stay in a hotel that didnt have 100's of rooms. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately we didnt have a fridge and the security box didnt work. However the location was great and in walking distance to all of downtown, yaletown and gas town. We didnt eat at the hotel but spent couple of nights at the bar and the service was very friendly and welcoming. we also went to the sport bar which is part of the moda hotel which is a bit more casual but the pizza was good!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at the MODA Hotel. We stayed the week of Sept 8-15. My BF and I normally stay at boutique hotels, and this one was one of the best. The Room we stayed at was the VIDA suite 301 (or 201) accross the street from the main building. I personally loved being in a separate building as it was a little more private. The room was wheel chair accessible which I thought was worth mentioning. The bed and pillows were super comfortable which is really important to me.The room & bathroom was very spascious. The shower was separate from the bathroom which was nice. The only thing I can think of that may be a problem with the shower is it is a bit exposed is you are staying there with someone who is not your partner. The wine bar UVA in the main building of the hotel is a wino's paradise, it is hip and modern, and also has excelent food and drinks, it opens in the morning for breakfast and is a happening place at night but not loud (we couldnt hear a thing from our room). We didnt try the restaurant CIBO (it also has rave reviews) you can also order from their menu at the wine bar. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown. 2 blocks a way from Granville st, A few more blocks away from Georgia st & Robson st. Also a short walk from yaletown & Gastown & major skytrain stations. I have seen worse reviews from rooms in the main (older) building so I would suggest requesting the newer building If you don´t mind being accross the street from the lobby. The room was located in the new building that also has a parking garage which in my opinion is a major plus. The one complaint I had was that our A/C was dripping one night, however they fixed it ASAP so I can hardly be mad about that. Overall, I had an excellent hotel experience and I will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Resquest a room in the newer building accross the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What is that smell? On top floor and something must be wafting from below. Small room, creepy furnishings. Would not stay here again. Staff is very nice, however. Seems to be centrally located and it was inexpensive but not worth the odor and misleading web photos.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank faverone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When first walking into the lobby you are greeted with an uncomfortable smell, as if someone left the kitty litter a little too long to change. Our room was small (which is manageable), reeked of cigarettes and the bedding was pilling. After approaching front desk we were quickly switched to a room that was a little more breathable and tolerable. Overall a terrible misrepresentation on the website. A waste of money, will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countryteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
861 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $89 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing