We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It'll do”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It'll do”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Looks old from the outside, but the interior and rooms have been done up. The main problem was that it was really noisy; from one side of the room the traffic noise was bad, and from the other side you could loudly hear people going up and down the corridor. The squeaky wooden floors in the corridor didn't help. Also had to get the mini fridge unlocked to store our own drinks.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    373
    213
    62
    49
See reviews for
78
422
87
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've stayed at the Moda at least five times now and it's always been because of the location and price. You can't get a better location if you are planning to take public transportation or are going to concerts downtown and the price is cheaper than most private shared-bathroom rooms at the local hostels. I did have one slightly bad experience with the hotel but the manager was very quick at righting the issue and went above and beyond to make my next stay amazing. The staff makes every guest feel important and will gladly help you find your way around the city, give out any information you might need or offer you an umbrella if it's raining outside (this is a very nice feature when you're in Vancouver). The rooms are clean, comfortable and feel very safe. I highly, highly recommend this hotel for you're next trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_elegance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued patronage of Moda Hotel and sharing your feedback with all other travelers. We are very pleased that we were able to provide you with comfortable and memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back to Moda in the future.

Best Wishes,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here in Febuary for a week, the room was adequate size (however a bit too small for two girls travelling together!!) there were only two poswer outlets in the room though which made charging phones etc. a bit trickey but there were annother two in the bathroom. The maid was lovely and the room was nice and clean. It was a bit noisey on our first night as we left the window open but with it shut you could not hear a thing outside on the main street! The AC was very noisey and would wake us up in the night but turning it off at night solved this problem and the room was already warm. The staff were nice and helpful on the front desk and were good with recomendations. The free wifi was great, however there is a business centre on the third floor which was almost always free which was nice as checking things on your phone does get a bit annoying sometimes.
We spent a few nights at the sports bar downstairs which was nice to relax at after a day of sightseeing, we also went to the wine bar for a glass of wine one day and it was also nice but I imagine it could get busy quite quickly.
The hotel is in a great location and is about a 5-10minute walk to Yaletown, we walked everywhere while we were here (apart from the Museum of Anthropology, but take a bus and it's 45 minutes away).
Overall if I was coming back to Vancover I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squamish BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on last minute trip to Vancouver booked it online for a good price. The room was plain and clean had everything we needed. Had breakfast at the restaurant and was very good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went there summer 2012 with my whole family. The hotel has a great location, a friendly staff, closeby restaurants and the rooms were really comfortable and just what we needed for our 8-day stay. Value-wise I would say this is just about one of the best places to stay in Vancouver, definetly very recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here from Feb 12-14th, 2013. The first thing I noticed was the fancy floors as you walk in and the bar just beside it. The elevator is so old you can only fit two people plus luggage in it..afterwards just walk up, its faster...lol! It felt like I was in another part of the world in this hotel...very french feeling to this place. They were also undergoing renovations on the floor i was staying in so it looked like a bad paint job all over the walls. The one thing I didnt notice until morning was the shower head...it was like 5 ft max hight...did they install the shower head before putting the tub in? That was one draw back and the reason for my post. The parking was a tad of and issue because of all the one way streets you had to basically go around a block just to find parking..and we did but it was not all night and it was not included in the hotel unless you parked under ground blocks away. Over all this place was great...I had a few drinks at the bar on my birthday and a chocolate cheesecake that needed ice cream instead of whatever else they put on it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa8313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. I had a suite which was very spacious and luxurious. The staff very very friendly and helpful. There is a choice of restaurants attached to the hotel, I can recommend them both. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again if I returned to Vancouver.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolittle215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 90 in Vancouver
816 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 90 in Vancouver
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,678 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing