We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, once you've upgraded!”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The photos make this hotel look super funky, mod, boutique and sexy. And for the most part, they ring true. It's got a great downtown location, close to excellent restaurants (the Flying Pig in Yaletown is just 5 minutes walk away!), close to shopping areas, and an easy drive to the airport if needs be. The property is lovely, and the restaurant Cibu and UVA wine bar are uber cool.
We had a suite, and it was VERY small. The price wasn't too bad for it, but the exposed fire spray piping on the ceiling was pretty in attractive, and the size of the room was definitely inconvenient. We asked for another room, and were able to upgrade but at a cost. I would recommend just straight up going for the larger size room when booking online, and the cost they charge you for the upgrade is more than what we would have paid if we'd just gone for it online.
However, it wasn't so much that it affected our stay, and the staff were very helpful and nice throughout.
The new room was lovely. A huge bed, a living area, lovely double bathroom, and a good size. Only problem is that it was directly over the Sports Bar connected to the hotel, and we heard their music pumping well past midnight. Lucky it was January 1 and wee were exhausted enough to get to sleep relatively easy anyway! ;)
The parking is easy, an extra $14 charge, which is annoying, but you have in and out privileges and it seems safe and is gated.
We definitely enjoyed our stay here and will stay again if there's deals on the larger suites, but will definitely avoid the smaller rooms unless its just one of us, or we don't care to enjoy the room for the night.
Thanks to Moda for a great night stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burgundy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Burgundy5,


Thank you so much for staying with Moda and sharing your feedback with other travelers. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to Moda hotel. You can contact us directly at reservations@modahotel.ca and we will most certainly get you into one of our suites.

Best Regards,

Team Moda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 954 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed for two nights. The hotel is modern and very clean. The staff a reception were excellent - very helpful and professional. The noise from the road was not a problem for me. The double glass windows for the room assisted greatly. Although the room was small it was very comfortable. I do not think you can get better value for money for any hotel in such a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear RobertH,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and staying with Moda during your stay in Vancouver. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, friendly service and location.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Moda!

Team Moda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our fourth stay at the Moda Hotel and we enjoyed it each and every time. Front desk staff is pleasant and most obliging. Room is always clean and comfortable. Breakfasts at Cibo's downstairs is a real treat. Food is innovative, delicious, wholesome and beautifully presented. The room is calming and gorgeous. It sets us in the right mood to start the day. Service is low key and first rate. We are never disappointed staying at the Moda and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wumac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you so much for being a valued guest and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly pride ourselves with our friendly and professional service, our amazing restaurants and location, and our funky post modern rooms. We are so happy to be able to cater you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Team Moda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I booked this hotel on booking.com as I was looking for a fun hotel that was a good deal. It was a pleasant surprise. Such a great location. The parking situation was pretty convenient for a DT hotel. I loved the modern simple style in a very old building. Location does not get any better and the room and bathroom was really clean. The lounge was a fun place to hang out for a late night drink. I have recently booked to stay here again. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your feedback with other travelers. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moda!

Best regards,

Team Moda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I had planned a fun get-away for Christmas, and chose the Moda due to the location. From the reviews we had read (and the pictures) we expected a nice hotel in the downtown area. However, that wasn't exactly what we got.

First, the hotel is located in Yaletown. While it has things to do within walking distance, most of the shops and entertainment are a mile over the Cambie bridge. During the day this walk is fine, but at night when it's below 30 degrees and you're starving, you'll be wishing you booked a little closer to the real downtown.

Which brings me to the point of parking. We opted to walk everywhere because the parking is RIDICULOUS! Coming from Seattle, I'm pretty used to bad parking situations, but this location takes the cake. The hotel has parking across the street in a parking garage for $14 a day. I wasn't too happy that I had to pay to park when I was paying for a room, but oh well. The rest of the parking is all metered with two hour limits, which makes it a nightmare if you want to go explore for a while. They also police the meters 24/7, which was also weird to me.

So, the hotel itself isn't exactly what I expected. Our room was SOOOOOOOO small - awkwardly small for two people. We kept bumping into each other and feeling like we were tripping over our luggage constantly. The bed was also hard as a rock, the walls were paper thin and they were so nice to place us directly across from the elevator. Basically, we barely slept and woke up in pain and stiff. The only saving grace was the fan on the heater, which we ran all night to try and block out the noise.

I'd also love to have a word with whomever decorated the rooms. It's basic knowledge that if you paint a really small room really dark you get a cave like effect. That would be the bathroom. The less than 20 square foot room painted dark brown (with basically no lighting) made me feel like I was going to fall in the shower because I couldn't see anything. Considering there was no fan in the bathroom, I'm wondering if they did that to cover mold.

All in all, we were very disappointed with the hotel, and won't be back. For how much they charge a room, we expected a lot more than what was delivered. We probably would have had a better experience with the Holiday Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and stairs. People come in and out all night and you'll n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAmazingMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear TheAmazingMrsA,

We thank you for choosing Moda Hotel during your visit to Vancouver and also thank you for sharing your valued feedback with the rest of fellow travelers.

However, I feel compelled to clarify few things so that other members are not misinformed about our location. Not quite sure where you were trying to go but we are smack in the center of Entertainment District, block from Granville Street and block from Robson Street. So in terms of our location as all of our guests mention, it does not get any better than this. Also, in Vancouver, the lowest recorded temperature is -18 Celsius, that translates into -0.4 in Fahrenheit.

In terms of parking, we have one of the most competitive rates in downtown especially for 24 hours in and out, and parking is an incidental charge and always extra unless there is a promotion which would include parking.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Best regards!

Team Moda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I last stayed here December 2012, it was our fourth visit to this hotel, it is in the perfect location.
Staff are very friendly & helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms have recently had a lick of paint, the beds & pillows are always very comfy, decent sized room, good size bathroom with bath & shower.
Complementary coffee in the room & a safe.
This is a lovely gem of a hotel & is always good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

We are very happy to welcome you back to our hotel and so pleased that you continue to enjoy our friendly service, hotel and the location. All of us here at Moda are looking forward to welcoming you back to Moda.

Our Best Wishes for the Holidays!

Team Moda,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Celebrating our anniversary with a short 3 day trip to Vancouver + our first time ever in Canada....

We could not have enjoyed a more pleasant and enjoyable experience. We look forward to our next visit in the future.

I called the morning before arrival to make sure all was ready. We arrived late - but Philippe had a nice bottle of bubbly and gorgeous flowers waiting in the room. Very nice.

Had a couple "technical" difficulties that were quickly alleviated by the friendly night manager - Joo.

Saturday am started with our first experience with one of our Vancouver highlights - meeting one of Moda's establishment managers - Leanne in Cibo. The coffee and food got us moving - but Leanne's enthusiasm, guidance + instant personal connection really started us off on a great Vancouver adventure. We would have many more moments connecting with Leanne....one of those people you meet while traveling that makes a place memorable for all the right reasons.

The fun bar next door, the Red Card was a lot of fun - great characters. Again - bartenders like Alan and the general manager Darryl Paquin helped to make us feel like we were very much at home and welcome to the fun.

On our last day - the staff continued their work to help make our stay very nice. Miguel at the front desk upgraded our room for our last day(a nice way to end our anniversary weekend trip) + Maria also at the front desk helped us with reservations for dinner with gentle, direct friendliness.

Even the cleaning lady, Diane made a positive impact on our stay.

We will certainly look forward to coming back to this great city and staying at the Moda.

Many thanks to all.

Carter Livingston
SLC, Utah

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear CarterL,

We are thrilled that we made your stay a very memorable one and all of us were good ambassadors. We believe that people make the biggest difference at the end of the day and very happy that we did not let you down. We are very happy that you enjoyed our people, the hotel, and our location.

We would love to welcome you back to Moda with open arms.

Best wishes for the Holidays from all of us here at Moda.

Team Moda!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
841 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#54 of 92 in Vancouver
899 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,822 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $98 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing