We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but not worth the price they charge”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Edmonds, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay, but not worth the price they charge”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I had planned a fun get-away for Christmas, and chose the Moda due to the location. From the reviews we had read (and the pictures) we expected a nice hotel in the downtown area. However, that wasn't exactly what we got.

First, the hotel is located in Yaletown. While it has things to do within walking distance, most of the shops and entertainment are a mile over the Cambie bridge. During the day this walk is fine, but at night when it's below 30 degrees and you're starving, you'll be wishing you booked a little closer to the real downtown.

Which brings me to the point of parking. We opted to walk everywhere because the parking is RIDICULOUS! Coming from Seattle, I'm pretty used to bad parking situations, but this location takes the cake. The hotel has parking across the street in a parking garage for $14 a day. I wasn't too happy that I had to pay to park when I was paying for a room, but oh well. The rest of the parking is all metered with two hour limits, which makes it a nightmare if you want to go explore for a while. They also police the meters 24/7, which was also weird to me.

So, the hotel itself isn't exactly what I expected. Our room was SOOOOOOOO small - awkwardly small for two people. We kept bumping into each other and feeling like we were tripping over our luggage constantly. The bed was also hard as a rock, the walls were paper thin and they were so nice to place us directly across from the elevator. Basically, we barely slept and woke up in pain and stiff. The only saving grace was the fan on the heater, which we ran all night to try and block out the noise.

I'd also love to have a word with whomever decorated the rooms. It's basic knowledge that if you paint a really small room really dark you get a cave like effect. That would be the bathroom. The less than 20 square foot room painted dark brown (with basically no lighting) made me feel like I was going to fall in the shower because I couldn't see anything. Considering there was no fan in the bathroom, I'm wondering if they did that to cover mold.

All in all, we were very disappointed with the hotel, and won't be back. For how much they charge a room, we expected a lot more than what was delivered. We probably would have had a better experience with the Holiday Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and stairs. People come in and out all night and you'll n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAmazingMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear TheAmazingMrsA,

We thank you for choosing Moda Hotel during your visit to Vancouver and also thank you for sharing your valued feedback with the rest of fellow travelers.

However, I feel compelled to clarify few things so that other members are not misinformed about our location. Not quite sure where you were trying to go but we are smack in the center of Entertainment District, block from Granville Street and block from Robson Street. So in terms of our location as all of our guests mention, it does not get any better than this. Also, in Vancouver, the lowest recorded temperature is -18 Celsius, that translates into -0.4 in Fahrenheit.

In terms of parking, we have one of the most competitive rates in downtown especially for 24 hours in and out, and parking is an incidental charge and always extra unless there is a promotion which would include parking.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Best regards!

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    380
    219
    63
    51
See reviews for
83
432
88
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jellydog
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I last stayed here December 2012, it was our fourth visit to this hotel, it is in the perfect location.
Staff are very friendly & helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms have recently had a lick of paint, the beds & pillows are always very comfy, decent sized room, good size bathroom with bath & shower.
Complementary coffee in the room & a safe.
This is a lovely gem of a hotel & is always good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are very happy to welcome you back to our hotel and so pleased that you continue to enjoy our friendly service, hotel and the location. All of us here at Moda are looking forward to welcoming you back to Moda.

Our Best Wishes for the Holidays!

Team Moda,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Celebrating our anniversary with a short 3 day trip to Vancouver + our first time ever in Canada....

We could not have enjoyed a more pleasant and enjoyable experience. We look forward to our next visit in the future.

I called the morning before arrival to make sure all was ready. We arrived late - but Philippe had a nice bottle of bubbly and gorgeous flowers waiting in the room. Very nice.

Had a couple "technical" difficulties that were quickly alleviated by the friendly night manager - Joo.

Saturday am started with our first experience with one of our Vancouver highlights - meeting one of Moda's establishment managers - Leanne in Cibo. The coffee and food got us moving - but Leanne's enthusiasm, guidance + instant personal connection really started us off on a great Vancouver adventure. We would have many more moments connecting with Leanne....one of those people you meet while traveling that makes a place memorable for all the right reasons.

The fun bar next door, the Red Card was a lot of fun - great characters. Again - bartenders like Alan and the general manager Darryl Paquin helped to make us feel like we were very much at home and welcome to the fun.

On our last day - the staff continued their work to help make our stay very nice. Miguel at the front desk upgraded our room for our last day(a nice way to end our anniversary weekend trip) + Maria also at the front desk helped us with reservations for dinner with gentle, direct friendliness.

Even the cleaning lady, Diane made a positive impact on our stay.

We will certainly look forward to coming back to this great city and staying at the Moda.

Many thanks to all.

Carter Livingston
SLC, Utah

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear CarterL,

We are thrilled that we made your stay a very memorable one and all of us were good ambassadors. We believe that people make the biggest difference at the end of the day and very happy that we did not let you down. We are very happy that you enjoyed our people, the hotel, and our location.

We would love to welcome you back to Moda with open arms.

Best wishes for the Holidays from all of us here at Moda.

Team Moda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice in the month of November, both times having a extremely terrible experience. The staff was extremely rude to me, when there was a billing error, I called into the hotel only to have the front desk staff hang up on me TWICE, at which point I tried to contact the general manager who couldn't care less and never called back after leaving multiple voice-mail's. Seems like the hotel does not care about the people who are paying their bills. Was extremely upset and disappointing in the rooms and service of the hotel. For the price you pay, I would highly recommend ANYTHING else, or to spend a little more and get a quality hotel as this one is complete garbage. Will never stay here again! Highly recommend you don't either!

Room Tip: Don't book at this hotel, that will be your best choice in terms of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faizan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We would like to inform other Trip Advisor members that this particular guest did not mention anything about the credit card either check in or check out. It is important to point out that other guests were distrubed by this particular guest and complained to us, we had also incurred room damage as a result of this guest's occupancy.

We would not like to have valued members of Trip Advisor misinformed and misdirected.

Best regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The moda is a unique hotel, old, but clean and a great location to walk
all over downtown vancouver.
Very noisy, both outside traffic noise and inside from other guests.
We stayed from Friday through Monday. Friday and Saturday night were
the worst for noise from other guests.
Ok for the short time we were there, but would not stay any longer.

Room Tip: We were on fourth floor, corner room, so had two windows. Sunny but on the corner of the road inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Moda from Oct 26 2010 to Oct 28 2010. The room were small but since it was close to the activity centers it is worth the price. The staff is courteous but unprofessional. Windows are not sound proof so be prepared to hear plenty of road/traffic noise.I stayed there with one of my dear friend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvinashTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September & thought the location was great. The lift & stairs were right outside our bedroom door so this was quite noisy! Our bedroom window was right on the corner of the block so VERY noisy with the traffic - the hotel offered ear plugs within the room price but the first night we arrived they had run out! (we had to go out at 2300 hours to grab some as couldn't sleep!!).
The bedroom was spacious but not sure that I would re-book if returning to Vancouver because of the noise levels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
402 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
848 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing