We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable priced Hotel in the Center of Vancouver!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced Hotel in the Center of Vancouver!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Moda from Oct 26 2010 to Oct 28 2010. The room were small but since it was close to the activity centers it is worth the price. The staff is courteous but unprofessional. Windows are not sound proof so be prepared to hear plenty of road/traffic noise.I stayed there with one of my dear friend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvinashTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    359
    203
    62
    47
See reviews for
75
396
84
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September & thought the location was great. The lift & stairs were right outside our bedroom door so this was quite noisy! Our bedroom window was right on the corner of the block so VERY noisy with the traffic - the hotel offered ear plugs within the room price but the first night we arrived they had run out! (we had to go out at 2300 hours to grab some as couldn't sleep!!).
The bedroom was spacious but not sure that I would re-book if returning to Vancouver because of the noise levels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The window to the room had a broken lock and frame, so it could not be secured. Lamp fixture seemed to be broke, but was unplugged. Set alarm, but their alarm clock did not work. Fortunately, my cell phone alarm worked as a back-up. Dim lighting.

Ripped off for breakfast. Ordered granola @ $13. Received a bowl with granola barely covering the bottom (probably 75 cents worth from the box they got it out of).

I moved to another hotel for my second night in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear James,

We are very sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations and we are looking into the issues you brought up and address them. Once again, our deepest and sincerest apologies. We hope that you consider giving us another opportunity in your future travels to Vancouver.

Happy Travels,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location is great and the small room we stayed in was very basic but clean. However, we would not stay here again due to the uncomfortable bed. Neither my husband nor I slept well any of the 3 nights we stayed here because of the overly hard mattress.

Also, if mini fridges or room service are important to you be aware that they are not available at this location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzmin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
108 Mile Ranch, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked this hotel for location and price. Super close to shopping on Robson Street, close to BC Place for the football game, walked to The Bay and Canada Place. Staff were VERY friendly and I would recommend this hotel. The room was basic and clean. Parking was just up the street and you could walk to your car. Tons of great restaurants all around the hotel. Loved it.

Room Tip: try a room off Seymour street if you don't like traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley052_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Moda Hotel during your stay in Vancouver! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, friendly service. We are definately blessed with our location as we are within walking distance to all the attractions and hot spots in downtown Vancouver.

We thank you again and wish to welcome you back to Moda!

Best wishes for the Holidays!

Team Moda,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I liked this place online, had good reviews and good price. Sold. Stayed here 3 nights in October for a converence. I like smaller properties so this fit the bill. I did not eat or drink here but the bar and restaurants both got good write-ups and looked inviting. I was on foot the whole time so cannot speak to parking experience. This place is located in the heart of everything, so if you like to get local, this is your spot. I will say the hotel could try to vacuum the stairwells a bit more particularly between the lobby and 1st floor. Also if you're on the 3rd floor noise from the bar crept up and that went on past midnight but wasn't overwhelming, just something to be aware of. My room was spic and span, was cozy. Bathroom was clean (always a point of contention). I would stay here again. T

Room Tip: get a room away from a stairwell and not above the bar or restaurant. splurge for a bigger room if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwstgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us while in Vancouver. We are very happy that you enjoyed our location, and your room. We also thank you for bringing some issues to our attention as we addressed them with respective areas of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Moda on your next visit to Vancouver.

Best regards,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
not toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

we got a great deal on this hotel, booking purely on the price, good tripadvisor ratings, and amazing downtown location. this spot could not be more convenient to downtown, yaletown, robson areas, plus it's only a 5 min walk to the nearest skytrain station. it also has great bus service / is a slightly longer walk to the west end, sea wall, stanley park, etc. the hotel itself is within an older building but is kept in nice shape. the staff were very helpful. comfy beds, stylish rooms, albeit a bit small. my only complaint would be that hot water is a definite issue. if you are like me and only need a quick shower and are flexible on that timing (had more luck with hot water in early or later morning rather than evening) it's not a huge issue. the room was a little cold at times. there were some wild partiers next door on our last night, but after a couple of calls the staff quieted them down. again, an older building probably with thin walls. overall i would stay again no question, as i doubt there are any other affordable hotels nearby that come close to matching the price and charm of this little hotel!

Room Tip: we were upgraded to the deluxe room when we arrived, i think with two queen beds. it's pretty co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hla21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Ddear hla21,

Thank you so much for your feedback and choosing Moda during your stay in Vancouver! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your stay was memorable and that you enjoyed our friendly service, amazing location.

Warmest regards from all of us here at Moda and we look forward to welcoming you with open arms!

Team Moda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Davie Village
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Granville Street
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#44 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing