We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, central”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Moda Hotel is perfect if you want an affordable, clean, functional place to stay in a VERY expensive city.

The lobby staff are very friendly and helpful, although the lobby is fairly small with limited seats - not a great place to wait for your party to meet up.

It is ideally located for sightseeing, as you can walk to almost very area, adn it is close to fashionable Yaletown.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift and stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    362
    207
    62
    49
See reviews for
76
405
85
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our room was for a family of three, we had a comfortable room that was modernand clean. The decor was tasteful and the room was not cramped. We had a nice quiet room at the back and the staff were helpful. Vancouver was a great place to stopover, the hotel was in a good location for getting out and about quickly, with a wide range of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was another business stop for me, so corporate limits tend to steer me in a certain direction. This hotel is a very good value considering other options in the downtown area of Vancouver. The location was an easy walk to the Pacific Centre Mall for a point of reference. A little more of a hike if you venture to one of my favorite places like Steamworks brewing Co. After a good meal and of course some beer, the walk was actually a welcome task.

The building is old, but the charm is something you don't find in a modern hotel. The renovation did nice things for the hotel, but don't expect it to be completely modern. Things like outlets for example could use some work and the three way expansion plug left a lot to be desired for charging laptops, phones, etc.

Coffee pot and coffee in the room was really good. The coffee in general in this part of the world is great, so no real surprise there. I did find the iron and board a little small, but most of my stuff is already pressed leaving just a quick touch up.

Room was a decent size, but I wouldn't say spacious. The bathroom was also a little small but nicely updated. The weather didn't require heat or air, so I can't comment on that. The housekeeping left the windows open each day, which was nice for fresh air but the street noise always made me close them (3rd floor near street).

The bed here was good and just a tad too firm for my taste. At home I sleep on latex and memory foam, so hard to find something that soft on the road.

For working at the desk, this setup was below average. Chair was no very comfy after an hour or so and the desk was small. Solution for that was to just retire in the bed with a tablet anyway. :) Internet was just average, no blazing speed here. TV again I have to complain about standard definition on an HDTV. Bring back the tube TVs or upgrade to an HD signal. With that I didn't watch the TV, stuck to content on my laptop and tablet.

Staff here was nice and polite, but nothing above and beyond. This was an overall good place and with a few additions could be great. Loved the location in reference to downtown, price was great and the rooms were good. Just a little short of giving this an above average rating. I didn't try any of the restaurants, so that may have influenced my rating a little more. Next time perhaps.

Room Tip: Higher the better and off the street if possible. Old windows and close to street = noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was small, yet very pleasant. The location was perfect for what we needed, and felt very safe. The room was quite small, but we were three people sharing for 6 days and we managed well. It was walking distance to many of the attractions of Vancouver. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdoderai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing Moda Hotel and for your feedback. we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, location and our friendly service. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Happy Travels,

Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel, service, and price. Only issue i had was the pictures didnt describe the room well. We stayed in the dbl bed room, and it was a lot smaller then i thiught and imagined. Other then that, just awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dejanovicnenad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is one of many hotels i've stayed in that are older and have tried to refresh themselves with a refurb. this one is so-so. there's some mod furniture in the tiny lobby but the old floors take away from the reno. the room was VERY tight but the beds were very comfy. It was very noisy outside, but at least when both windows were closed it was very quiet. The only issue was the sports bar downstairs. I'm a light sleeper and hearing the music made it hard for me to sleep. It was decent enough and at a good price, but i'd probably try somewhere new when i go back to Vancouver.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the sports bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Greekodyssey,

Thank you so much for staying at Moda and for sharing your feedback. It is only through customer feedback we can better ourselves. Noise issue from our sports bar is definately an issue that we are working on, although we have taken few steps to cure the problem however, we will be taking more steps to fix this issue.

We are glad that you enjoyed our beds and friendly service. We do hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Vancouver.

Best regards,
Team Moda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Let me break down the Moda Hotel in a 5 areas.

-location- just steps from Robson and tons of great restaraunts and public transit!!!
-staff- they let us have an early check in which was awesome!
-clenliness- the maids were very efficient and thorough.
-size of rooms- the room aren't much bigger than mine at home and there is little space to put luggage.
-noise- other than the fact the walls are paper thin and you could very well hear the room next to you **doing it** also you know when people are leaving the close by clubs at 3 am..

Other than the last 2 on the list the room and hotel had nice decor and the staff were polite and happy to help!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahkomadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing