We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern!”
Review of Moda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moda Hotel
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and modern!”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Moda hotel exceeded our expectations. Trendy room interior, tasteful and clean. Bathroom was clean, nice decorated, obviously newly renovated. Amenities fresh and we were generously provided with enough everyday.

Location was great, but still quiet for a good nights sleep. The hotel is a good boutique hotel with an eye for details.

Almost everhing was good.. beside:

That the complimentary WiFi access was crap. We had to stand in our door opening to get connection. Thing the Moda guys need to install like 2 or 3 more WiFi outposts.

The room has a majorlack or power outlets. Problem if u want to charge phone, iPad and Camera. The house might be 100 years old, but come on, bring us some power for our next stay ;-)

Last thing was the carpet in the room, not hygenic and smelled strange as ever. We could see dark wooden floors in a near future!

BUT

as mentioned, over expectations...

Good pricing, friendly staff AND we LOVED the breakfast at UVA! And the Trattoria Restaurant, WOW... a must if you like fresh trendy organic italian food. Yummy!

A special thank you to Lars, very helpful and made his best to sort out our power outlet and WiFi problems.

We left the hotel with a smile and will be back soon again!

Vancouver and Canada is just great!

Thank you for this time!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And we are working on the items that we fell short of.

All of us here at Moda are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
General Manager
Moda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    365
    211
    62
    49
See reviews for
76
414
85
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We wanted to stay downtown for a night before flying home and found all other hotels either overpriced, or else very much hostel/budget. The room was small, but comfortable, would be uncomfortable if on a longer trip though. The connecting sports bar and wine bar were great and the location is good. Other reviews talked of it being noisy but it looks like improvements to the windows have helped with this problem.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdorableAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear AdorableAngel,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that we were able to give you a good value in this amazing location. We are always striving to service our guests better and as you pointed out, have done many improvements by listening to our guests' feedback.

We hope to have you again.

General Manager,
Moda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at the Moda Hotel in May while waiting to go sailing the next day. I found the rooms clean, well stocked, and comfortable and the front desk staff very helpful. Exactly what I was hoping to get. The value for money is very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear HelmutG51,

Thank you so much for choosing Moda hotel suring your stay in Vancouver and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have you back again,


General Manager,
Moda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011. First of all the location was perfect - walking distance to lots of cool stuff and near the skytrain. The hotel itself is trying to be "boutique" and is decorated in a modern style but it doesn't quite pull it off. Everything is just a little tired and lacking the attention detail you would expect in a true boutique hotel. Having said that we did not pay for a posh hotel, so you get what you pay for. It met our needs adequately, just do not go expecting luxury.
The service was very good, they guy checking us in was friendly, thorough and informative. The hotel has parking in a garage on the next block for an additional $14+tax per night. On booking the hotel I requested a quieter room having read reviews that rooms on the street were noisy and walls were thin. On checking in the guy told us they had allocated us their quietest room - great. There was still some noise from neighbouring apartment blocks and you could hear other guests ocassionally but all of this was very minor and not enough to disturb our sleep.
All in all, I would consider staying here again but would probably explore other options too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curfrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Curfrine,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for choosing Moda Hotel during your stay in Vancouver. Our location is truly couldn't be any better as we are just block from Robson and Granville and right by Yaletown. We are glad that you enjoy our friendly service and some corkiness of our funky "affordable indulgence" during your stay here.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

General Manager,
Moda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Staying at this hotel is like staying at a re-marketed motel 6. It's not worth the price and it's not as the pictures portray. I would NOT recommend thud hotel. We were si disappointed we checked out early.... This is were the great customer service comes into play. Not only were they flexible with the lady minute cancelation but they also did not charge me a cancelation fee. If they could only update/remodel their rooms they would have a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mealnine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Mealnine,

We thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. Everyday, we strive to provide friendly and professional customer service, and I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed our service.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity while in Vancouver.

Best regards,

General Manager,
Moda Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Although we had a great stay in Vancouver and loved the location of this hotel - and the wine bar Uva which we went to almost every night when we returned from dinner out - the rooms were very small and very average - the bed wasn't that comfortable, the bedding seemed a bit tattered and the room smelled a bit musty. It was fine for what we paid for it, but it is certainly not plush by any means - the pictures on the website make the rooms look nicer and more modern than they are. It's a very old hotel that has been refurbished only by making cosmetic changes - so the walls are very very thin and the elevator is tiny, etc. But the wine bar and the sports bar (as well as the Italian restaurant which we didn't get a chance to go to but was always busy) seem to keep this place hopping. The sports bar was pretty cool - large, comfortable with a lot of flatscreens everywhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing Moda Hotel Vancouver and thank you for your feedback. It is feedback such as yours we can improve ourselves. We have installed an additional insulations between walls to lessen the noise levels from room to room, and it seems that we made a good improvement. The hotel is over 100 years old, was built in 1908, which gives it its heritage feel to it. We hope that next time, you will get to enjoy more of our amazing food and beverage outlets.

Warmest regards,

Moda Hotel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Moda was a nice small hotel especially when you want to immerse yourself into downtown Vancouver nightlife and culture

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyvannewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModaHotel, General Manager at Moda Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our minimalistic and comfortable rooms along with our location does make us a great choice to stay for a quick getaway.

Thank you again for choosing Moda and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#50 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#34 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moda Hotel

Property: Moda Hotel
Address: 900 Seymour St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Vancouver's Arts and Entertainment district, the Moda Hotel is a unique 67 room boutique hotel. The heritage building, built in 1908, blends the best of old world style with modern, contemporary interior design. Rooms feature a sleek, tailored look with the comforts of luxurious beds, linens and furnishings. The marriage of history with the modern design, plus its fabulous location makes this hotel a definite choice for the world traveler and corporate traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moda Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing