We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with retro-modern vibe”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Palm Beach, FL
1 review
“Budget hotel with retro-modern vibe”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great stay! Hotel is centrally-located and not what you'd expect for the relatively inexpensive price. Clean lines and fun decor throughout. Easy parking that is gated and right on premises. Eco-friendly and helpful, energetic staff. Lots of great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    689
    171
    56
    34
See reviews for
245
704
252
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stumbled across this hotel purely by accident, was a real find. The staff are really helpful and friendly and the location is great, you can walk down-town or to Canada Place easily. Walk to the skytrain is only about 10 minutes and the value for money was gr8. Bed was really comfy and rooms are clean and you have plenty of room. I loved this hotel and if I return to vancouver I would definitely stay again. As vancouver is reasonably expensive I found this hotel to be fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have stayed here twice and have had great experiences! It's easy to get to, the staff are great and the amenities are great. I love staying at boutique hotels and this is my favorite in downtown Vancouver by far.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't facing Burrard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

So nice to see character in a hotel, as there is so many that are generic and run of the mill. The price was better than many other hotels too! I would recommend this clean, retro, centrally located hotel anytime! It was located in between our dinner reservations and Granville street evening. Walking distance to it all, we were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The stuff at the hotel were very friendly, helpful and professional. The check-in and check-out procedure were efficiently done in practically no time.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with an excellent WiFi system allowing me to be connected all the time I wished.
The structure might look a bit old from outside, but don't get misled because inside you can see that it has been made a very well done rennovation.
The position is perfect for reaching all the places in downtown.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I will choose it again if/when I will be back in Vancouver

Room Tip: Choose a room with window facing internal yard (so the busy streets are cut off)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Burrard is one of those places that you always read about in magazines but maybe don't expect to stay in. Tastefully modernised in a retro 60s style, the hotel is deservedly proud of its image and design, and it is pervasive throughout the hotel, without getting in the way of modern convenience.

Located just a few steps away between most downtown locations its position is really ideal on Burrard Street, next to the Sheraton (it's keeping good company!). Go North to the main commercial areas, Vancouver Art Gallery and continue onto Canada Square. Or South to Davie and onto False Creek and the ferry to Granville Island. Or East to Yaletown. Or West to the relative tranquility of the West end.

However the hotel's location does offer a drawback in that it's opposite the main downtown St Pauls hospital which does receive its fair share of ambulances with sirens bearing emergency patients (it was nicely lit up for Christmas). The hotel is effectively a rectangle designed around a courtyard. Being located on a street corner, rooms on two sides of the hotel face the street and based upon previous reviews we had noted that others had been disturbed by the noise of the ambulances, and as my partner is a relatively light sleeper we had requested on the booking a quiet room at the back of the hotel, which we were duly given. Rooms such as ours on the other two sides of the hotel therefore face the central courtyard, and the windows overlook the courtyard but are equally overlooked by other guests walking past on the walkways around the courtyard, but there are both net curtains and a blackout blind for privacy.

Another point to note is that at the time of our visit (Dec 2013) the building next to the hotel is currently under construction. Without being totally aware of the project, the main structural work is complete and the building is being fitted out. We were aware of noise from the construction site just a couple of times over the course of 5 days, mainly due to deliveries to/from the site at the rear. However this didn't disturb us. The project seems to be reasonably well advanced and I suspect that it might not be ongoing for too much longer, and didn't cause us any problem for us during our stay.

We had a Queen Plus room - as we were staying for 4 days we wanted a room that had a bit more space but didn't opt for twin beds. However the bed for us was the real disappointment for us - it was just too soft.

Although the hotel makes the point on its website that "Having extra people in your room is fun. Also just, $30/night + tax. No judgement." the mattress was quite soft to start off with and was exhibiting a saggy middle, perhaps too many extras in this bed previously? We raised this with reception after the first night and asked if they had any other rooms with firmer mattresses but they stated that there was little that they could do to improve matters and all the mattresses were the same throughout the hotel. If you like a firm mattress this might not be the place for you. We were able to get the relatively big fluffy pillows swapped out for smaller ones which were more to our liking. The staff are very approachable and accommodating.

In the room there was desk, luggage stand, wardrobe, two bedside tables with big table lamps, and a 32" flat panel TV with a very good selection of local, international and a few premium movie channels. The desk had a nespresso machine on it (you could get extra coffee capsules from reception if you needed them) and table top power sockets. The wifi was available throughout the hotel, and was stable, strong wignal and quick. The decor and furniture (predominately white) continues to blend the modern and retro theme.

In the bathroom which was small but adequate there was a toilet, washbasin and bath with shower over, and ample towels and toiletries.

Being winter guests, we were more concerned with the heating rather than aircon, and the heating was effective.

The nice touch are the little extras you can make use of - we didn't do the free brollys cos coming from a similar temperate climate we're not scared of a little rain! But the location of the hotel is such that you're not that far from anywhere! But we really did enjoy the free use of the bikes. I don't think we would have considered renting bikes separately, but as they were available with no additional cost or paperwork we thought what the hell, and took them out one afternoon. The hotel is actually adjacent to cycle paths and you can easily escape the hustle and bustle of the downtown area in safety. Despite not being regular cyclists, doing a circuit of the seawall in Stanley Park was an experience we were not expecting to enjoy as much as we did, and thankfully the weather allowed us to do this in closing days of December with a fantastic sunset over the sea. Well worth doing.

We didn't use Bettys (the cafe) for breakfast and opted to take our chances at the many places around the hotel, and we were not disappointed finding a different breakfast option every day.

The hotel is a destination in itself in Vancouver and comes highly recommended. We would have scored it 5 out 5 if it hadn't been for the soft and saggy bed, and if you're a light sleeper ask for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the street to avoid the noise from ambulances going to/from the hospital opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with some friends and it's great. The location is perfect, staff are friendly, the rooms good and the feel very unique.

The free bikes are awesome even in the middle of winter managed to get out for a cycle in Stanley park and through the city.

I'd love to stay in summer and enjoy the courtyard more.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,127 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing