We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long stay”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Long stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel more than a week, the location is awesome, the property is clean, but there is no laundry, no gym and no restaurant, I have been booked by my company. It is not a nice fit for long stayers.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kiko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    688
    170
    56
    34
See reviews for
245
703
252
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A surprising little jewel box smack dab in the city. Close to everything, nice clean updated rooms with a vintage vibe. The bedsheets were wonderful and the decor modern with a retro feel. Nice little cafe downstairs for coffee and a snack. Would have loved to hung out on the terrace, but it was cold and rainy. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write to us and we would love to have you back in the summer to laze and enjoy a cuppa joe on the patio!

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a few days. The room was tiny but it was clean and had a swank décor. It was comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance of lots of restaurant choices and local nightlife bars. The staff were extremely flexible and cordial and it felt like they were a small hotel locally owned facility. This make the experience a bit more personal. Glad we stayed and looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

First, the good things:

1) We got a (US) Thanksgiving weekend rate of C$109, and when I mentioned I had seen a promotion for free parking, they matched it when I called them up. That's an amazing value for downtown Vancouver where hotels typically charge $20-$40 a night for parking.

2) This is an old motel—room entrances are through an open-air internal courtyard—that's been rehabbed well with nice amenities (free wi-fi, in-room safe, free phone calls, flatscreen TV, in-room coffee maker, bottled water, small fridge, etc.) and maintained well. Sometimes rehabs consist only of paint jobs, but this went further. It felt modern. The mattress was acceptable, although a tad soft for my tastes. Sheets, blankets, etc. were fine. Most of all, the room was utterly clean—even the edges of the carpet next to the wall.

3) The service was great. I got the sense that these guys (all the clerks seem to be men) would have bent over backwards for us. Although we checked out at noon, for example, they allowed us to keep our car in the garage for the rest of the day and borrow an umbrella. (They might not have been able to, though, had this been the height of the summer tourist season.)

4) The location is great. It's across the street from a hospital, but one block from the restaurants and stores on Davie St, and just a 10-minute walk to Robson Street. Walking to Granville Island took 30 minutes. A cafe is attached to the motel; there's a Seven-Eleven next to that (where I bought local newspapers); and a supermarket is three blocks away.

All-in-all, we will definitely stay here again. That being said, here are some nit-picks:

• If you rehab a room and refurnish it, why would you install a hard-to-use soap dispenser? The dispenser clearly said it was a "pump," but after fumbling around trying to figure out where the pump mechanism was, we had to call the front desk to find out that it wasn't a pump, but a squeeze. More than that, it was a tough squeeze, so people with arthritis will have a difficult time with it. The front desk offered to give us bar soap.

• If you rehab a room and buy new clock-radios, why would you buy a clock radio that isn't backlit or that doesn't have lit numbers so you can see what time it is in the middle of the night? The clock radio might have been a stylish choice, but it wasn't a practical one, and there didn't seem to be any kind of light switch for it so you could read the dial in the dark. C'mon, guys. You can get usable clock-radios in bulk for $5-$10 each.

• The garage had nice large parking spaces---but the garage door opened with your room card---and you had to get out of the car to swipe it since it's against the wall on the passengers side, and if you get to close to the wall, the turn is too sharp. Fortunately, the door takes a while to open, but this is definitely not a garage door for disabled people.

• While there's a separate space heater/cooler in the room, the heat in the bathroom is centrally controlled apparently by the maintenance people. The first night, we called up the front desk to find out how to turn it down or off, and the clerk said it wasn't possible, but offered to give us another room where the bathroom has a window. We declined, but the next day, asked the day clerk about it, and he said no problem, they would have the maintenance person shut it off. This happened, and the second night was more pleasant.

• We took the advice of other TripAdvisor travelers and asked for a room that was in the back so as to avoid any sirens and street noise from Burrard Street. Good thing we did, because there's a huge construction project going on next door. Our room faced the courtyard, and (because of the heat) we kept the window open at night. Not sure how this would work noise-wise during the summer if you don't want air conditioning.

• Like many hotels, the Burrard makes a big deal about being green and not having your towels changed every day. Yet the shower head was completely unadjustable; it just poured water. Hey guys, if you change the heads, you can really save some money.

Again, we'll be happy to stay here again because you really can't get the kind of value the Burrard offers in terms of location, cleanliness, parking, and service elsewhere in downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi and thanks for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the value, our cleanliness and sleek renovations, our central location and, above all, our fabulous team and their service! You have provided a great list of ideas for us as well and we appreciate your thoughtful comments. We would be happy to have you back and happy holidays!

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Awesome value, close to everything downtown. The staff is very attentive and genuinely friendly plus the whole hotel has a clever tongue-in-cheek 'vintage' feel. The hotel is impeccably clean, rooms are modern, functional and cozy - even though we were on the street-side, we enjoyed the Christmas lights out of our huge picture window and the room was still quiet. We easily walked all over downtown and parking was a reasonable rate for in/out privileges to explore the rest of the city. We'll be back to The Burrard in the summer to take the hotel's cruiser bikes down to English Bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackoroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We can't wait to have you back. The bikes will be ready and waiting. Thanks for taking the time to write to us.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We chose the Burrard for our four night stay because of its location and price and that the reviews and pictures made it look like a fun place to stay.
The location is just outside the main downtown area and a 15- 20 min walk from the shore front, and on a main road, so is easy to find.
The main road and its proximity to a Hospital are the biggest issues at The Burrard. Our room (206) was on the first floor, facing the main road and right above the 7/11 shop. The noise in the night from the ambulances sirens, vehicles and people hanging around outside the 7/11 caused us to get hardly any sleep.
In fairness to the hotel we asked to be moved and they did their best to accommodate as they were full the next evening. We stayed on the same floor and were moved to a room (209) facing Helmcken street, there was a reduction in noise, but not what you would expect from a central hotel who had their windows updated in 2011, and i quote the general manger Dani Pretto, with " new double pane, low energy windows – top of the line and an incredible reduction in noise",
After speaking to the manager on our return to the UK he also told us the hotel also offers ear plugs for their guests, we were never offered these, nor were they available in the rooms.

Our other issue was the cleaning staff. After moving rooms we no longer had a door hanger so that we could asked not to be disturbed in the morning. The first morning in our new room the cleaners tried to enter and we asked them to leave. We spoke to reception about getting a door hanger and were told they didn't have any and it was a house keepings responsibility and they would ask for one to be put in our room. No sign ever materialised and we were disturbed each morning after by the cleaners.

If you can cope with the ambulance sirens and get a room where street noise is not an issue then this a great place to stay, if not then avoid it.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear wouldn't be on a main road Avoid rooms 01 to 06 on any floor as they face Bur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippy7606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and we are sorry to hear your stay was anything less than perfect. We are challenged being in such a central location downtown and I apologize if our new windows did not meet your expectations and further that you were not given earplugs when you voiced your concerns. I will review with our team and as well the issue with not being given a new door hanger. Thank you again as your comments help us continue to provide better service to our guests.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice location, great staff. The hotel was okay, but the room was very small with hardly any space for work desk etc which matters if you are on a business trip. Had some fancy coffee machine that took me a while to figure out how to operate and wasn't much helpful if you are a tea-person.

The hotel doesn't quite look like the impression you get from the website, but the location and the very helpful staff can make you ignore that.

There is a cafe and a 7-11 type store next door. There is no room service but plenty of restaurants nearby. Room/bathroom cleanliness is fine.

Overall it won't be my first choice for future trips (mainly because of the small room and no in-room tea/food heating options) but there was no particular disappointment in this stay. The amenities are as per what they advertise, so fair enough. Good for somebody who would be in the room only for some time and is mostly there for enjoying downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for writing to us and we are thrilled to know you loved our location and staff. We work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and it is so great to get your feedback.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,118 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
684 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing