We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great staff”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice location, great staff. The hotel was okay, but the room was very small with hardly any space for work desk etc which matters if you are on a business trip. Had some fancy coffee machine that took me a while to figure out how to operate and wasn't much helpful if you are a tea-person.

The hotel doesn't quite look like the impression you get from the website, but the location and the very helpful staff can make you ignore that.

There is a cafe and a 7-11 type store next door. There is no room service but plenty of restaurants nearby. Room/bathroom cleanliness is fine.

Overall it won't be my first choice for future trips (mainly because of the small room and no in-room tea/food heating options) but there was no particular disappointment in this stay. The amenities are as per what they advertise, so fair enough. Good for somebody who would be in the room only for some time and is mostly there for enjoying downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for writing to us and we are thrilled to know you loved our location and staff. We work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and it is so great to get your feedback.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    663
    166
    55
    34
See reviews for
236
681
245
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at The Burrard twice in October and I will definitely be back again. I visit Vancouver for work three or four times a year, and since discovering The Burrard last year I look forward to my visits even more. The Burrard puts the “funk” in function – I love the look and feel of the hotel, and they also take good care of all of the necessities for a productive trip: internet, phone, workspace, printing, hotel location, and parking. The front desk staff are also always a pleasure to deal with. Friendly and professional and quick to respond to any little requests I might have – or even just hint at!

Room Tip: There is a quieter side of the hotel, which you can ask for, but I've stayed on both sides and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstravellermb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thanks for your rave review. We would love to see you back and appreciate your taking the time to write on our wall.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying here for 5 nights. Having arrived late due to a late flight I was checked in very quickly and in my room within few minutes. My room faced burrard street and was quite noisy, perhaps triple glazing is needed. The room was very modern and clean and the shower very powerful. I was very pleased with my stay apart from the last day when I returned to collect my case which the receptionist was storing for me. I was told told by a man who didn't work for the hotel that there was a private function going on and to return at 9pm. This man wasn't very polite and quite rude. Luckily the receptionist came and got my bag. I wouldn't of been happy if I was staying whilst the function was on. Despite this minor problem I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jimbob077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We would definitely choose this hotel again on a return visit to Vancouver. Room was smallish but the space was exceptionally well designed, with everything necessary and accessible. We appreciate having a shower stall rather than needing to climb in/out of a tub. Lovely center courtyard even includes tables and chairs for relaxing outside (when the weather cooperates). We especially appreciated the pod coffee maker, bottled water and mini frig.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived at The Burrard and were welcomed so warmly by James on the front desk, we knew we had chose the right place! The 1950's motel style suited us perfectly, but all the modern additions made everything so convenient. The room was a good size, unlike many other hotels. The bathroom was also a decent size, which made staying a week a lot more pleasant.
The free bike hire was a bonus (although make sure you check the brakes before you take them out!) as was the coffee machine in the room. As a Brit, I was relieved to discover that 'Betty' downstairs did an excellent pot of tea!
The location was great - we easily walked everywhere, Gastown, Yaletown & further afield as far as Granville Island. Davie Street was less than a block away, giving us plenty of options for bars and restaurants on the doorstep.
The ethos of the hotel suited us down to the ground too - recycling, not changing the sheets & towels every day etc.
There is a huge building going up next door to the hotel, but we weren't affected by the noise from this at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerenaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Burrard is definitely clean and more or less conveniently located. Meaning that it is not situated right on the water front where everything happens, but it is not far and not in a bad area of Vancouver. There are decent bars and restaurants near by. In fact there are some right around the corner. The staff is friendly and helpful, there is a parking garage at the hotel and it is available for around $20/day. It is pet-friendly for a fee and you can borrow a bike from the hotel and ride around. The free breakfast deal is not worth considering as it should not be called a breakfast. Whatever they serve as "free breakfast" is a small cup of coffee/tea and a cookie. It seems that this hotel used to be a roadside motel, but as the city grew and the area became more hip, the owners renovated it and tried to turn it into a funky little property, but it didn't come out right... still feels like a motel. But go there if the price is right - it is still clean and convenient.

Room Tip: There is no view at this hotel, so I doubt it matters what kind of room you get. Book the cheapest o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write to us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central location, free bikes and most importantly our cleanliness! We have recently upgraded our breakfast option to include any drink (lattes with the works) as well as any breakfast item which includes some pretty great options. We hear you and we are responding! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Funky refurbished hotel. Fun inner courtyard with pool. Retro furnishings. Across the street from St. Paul's hospital. Quiet stay, would stay again. Café attached to hotel if you need a coffee or bite to eat. Easy walking to downtown attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing