We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trendy Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Burrard doesn't claim to be 5 star, but it gets 5 from us for friendly and knowledgeable staff and atmosphere.
The location can't be beat and the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We had a couple drinks with some of our friends in the courtyard as others were doing, but everyone was respectful and noise was never an issue.
We love this funky hotel and will be staying here when we next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hk2000442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    653
    163
    54
    34
See reviews for
232
666
244
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. I do not know what age the reviewers were but this hotel is no more than a smart youth hostel. The rooms are basic, the bathrooms are small. There is no air conditioning and the fans provided are inadequate. We asked for a quiet room but were put opposite the lift and on the noisy Burrard Road side. We asked to move but they refused. It was impossible to sleep even with ear plugs because of the noise from the street and the heat. A party was taking place on our floor which the hotel staff did nothing to stop. The price of the hotel is completely out of line with the facilities. If you can find a room anywhere else then do so. This is not the place to stay in Vancouver even if it has a good location. We will be staying elsewhere when we return in three weeks.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sazzy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Burrard hotel has a trendy interior, but not as cutting edge as the website shows. Rooms small and no curtains, cheap toiletries, limited Nespresso coffee. Also, when we checked in food was left in the fridge from the previous guests. The cleaner was very apologetic, but still, not a great first impression! Bike rental is awesome though... reserve early on day rental is required. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, it seems to me it is a little bit overated. I expected to see something more than remodeled apartment building Los Angeles style. Though the location of the hotel is great, Nespresso machine is smart addition, as well as FREE phone calls to USA , I wish the rooms or at least the bedding would be nicer ( for the price). The grey blanket on the bed was not inspiring at all. If you want just a clean place to stay ,convinient location and free phone calls to USA are important to you - that would be a good choice.If you are looking for pumpering or relaxing - may be look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Burrard is an excellent hotel:
** great location
** free rental bikes to discover Vancouver (first come, first serve)
** friendly and helpful staff
** flat-screen TV
** free Nespresso coffee in the room
** free water

You can reach The Burrard easily by public transportation. There are several bus stop within a one-minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrustworthyTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I didn't stay at the Burrard but I did check it out because my cousin was staying there. Just walking into the place you felt like you were in a tropical place or resort in the middle of a bustling city, but the walls are so amazing that you can't even hear the noise outside! My cousin called it "Melrose Place but without the pool". I couldn't agree with him more! Anyway, the room was a decent size and the extras that you get with your stay are pretty good. My cousin got to go to the Steve Nash gym and I think you can rent (or were they free, I can't remember) cool looking bicycles as well. We hung out in the courtyard in the evening and there was a giant Jenga which we wanted to play with but didn't want to be too loud. Had we found it in the morning or afternoon we totally would have played.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank harmonie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Burrard was a place recommended by family. The location, staff and ambiance were fantastic. Parking was secure and we could see our car from outside our room. The rooms, however, were a surprise... smaller than we expected. It was quite warm outside and the small portable air conditioner was not quite enough to make the room comfortable. I would likely stay again, but would not book a queen room, rather would book a king room.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a window in the bathroom, and go for the king rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#45 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing