We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, courteous staff, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, courteous staff, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I found this hotel by using tripadvisor. This location is outstanding. Within walking distance of good restaurants on Davie Street, bus stops and Yaletown attractions. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful with directions. Very easy to get to Granville Island Public Market,the Orpheum theater, and Stanley Park by using buses (22 and 19).
We plan to revisit Vancouver, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a King size bed room away from Burrard Street for a more quiet atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatriguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    584
    139
    49
    32
See reviews for
206
592
218
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Burrard is a fun, mod, hipster kind of hotel with a 1950's retro feel. It is simple and clean, with a sense of humor and an environmental edge. The lobby and elevator are small, but get the job done. The rooms have nice decor with cool silver bean bag foot stools and other fun accoutrements like a nespresso machine! The courtyard was beautiful and nice to sit and read or drink some coffee. I really liked the free bike rental, though my husband preferred to walk around. Convenient to have the attached cafe and a 7-11 next door. The best part was after arriving very early into the city, the helpful desk clerk checked us in to our room (early-because it was ready) so we could really enjoy our full day in Vancouver!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeAnne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write to us and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our sense of humour, courtyard, nespresso, bikes and silver Moroccan poufs! We hope to see you again soon and thanks again.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Iconic Hotel, reminds me of the 'Batteries not Included' movie
- my sincere hope is that it will never be developed on by the monstrosities that are popping up around it.
Our room was clean & spacious, if not a bit warm, toiletries were lovely & in keeping with Hotel era/style.
Car parking is worth it (however need clarity on how to get in it)
Lovely late check outs
Disappointments:
Noisy (early) developments, Lackluster Air Conditioning
& Lack of breakfast: cup of coffee & muffin does not equate breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a really nice experience with The Burrard. The hotel has a personality and we loved it. The price is reasonable, the staff friendly and the rooms are very clean,comfortable and well maintained. Their location is also excellent. When we go back to Vancouver, we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in walking distance of many places of interest to us during our visit. This place is it! It's in the heart of everything, nice clean and modern rooms. The front desk people were terrific offering a wealth of suggestions, touring, eating, getting around, everything. Hats off to them as many hotel staff at other places aren't half as helpful. We were able to park two motorcycles securely in their garage and they gave us directions when we left. We will be back when we have more time to enjoy Vancouver. Thank you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

When the constuctions around the hotel (one site in the back, one site to the right) are finished, the hotel is the best you can get in vancouver!!
It's not the hotels mistake, but the noise hits quite early i the morning during the weekdays.
I would stay again, no question!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Burrard is really an excellent discovery for a budget visit to Vancouver. It is very well located (right opposite the hospital on Burrard Street) and within an easy walk of the sea front at Canada Place (15 minutes downhill all the way from the hotel... Gently up on the way back). Additionally it is very close to the stop-offs of the Big Bus tours that drive around Vancouver, which makes local transport pretty simple.

Built in the style of a traditional iconic US style Motel, the Burrard seems almost out of place between the increasing high-rise towers all around but actually it is an oasis of calm to be enjoyed for as long as possible. The rooms are all arranged around a central, lushly planted, court yard right up to the top 4th floor. Each room around is well sized with a very comfortable king sized bed (our room) and bathroom with a good warm shower. A portable air-con unit, fridge and coffee maker are all included as is the good fast free broadband wifi. The front desk team deserve a particular "thanks" for being always cheerful and helpful for all requests.

I give a big "well done" to the photographer who provided the images used on the Burrard website and promo documents - they perfectly reflect everything that the hotel strives to achieve. Brilliant!!

Well done The Burrard and many thanks for providing all we needed during our stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room not at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
#21 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#20 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Davie Village
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing