We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super find and great location in Vancouver.”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Super find and great location in Vancouver.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in walking distance of many places of interest to us during our visit. This place is it! It's in the heart of everything, nice clean and modern rooms. The front desk people were terrific offering a wealth of suggestions, touring, eating, getting around, everything. Hats off to them as many hotel staff at other places aren't half as helpful. We were able to park two motorcycles securely in their garage and they gave us directions when we left. We will be back when we have more time to enjoy Vancouver. Thank you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    688
    170
    56
    34
See reviews for
245
703
252
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

When the constuctions around the hotel (one site in the back, one site to the right) are finished, the hotel is the best you can get in vancouver!!
It's not the hotels mistake, but the noise hits quite early i the morning during the weekdays.
I would stay again, no question!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Burrard is really an excellent discovery for a budget visit to Vancouver. It is very well located (right opposite the hospital on Burrard Street) and within an easy walk of the sea front at Canada Place (15 minutes downhill all the way from the hotel... Gently up on the way back). Additionally it is very close to the stop-offs of the Big Bus tours that drive around Vancouver, which makes local transport pretty simple.

Built in the style of a traditional iconic US style Motel, the Burrard seems almost out of place between the increasing high-rise towers all around but actually it is an oasis of calm to be enjoyed for as long as possible. The rooms are all arranged around a central, lushly planted, court yard right up to the top 4th floor. Each room around is well sized with a very comfortable king sized bed (our room) and bathroom with a good warm shower. A portable air-con unit, fridge and coffee maker are all included as is the good fast free broadband wifi. The front desk team deserve a particular "thanks" for being always cheerful and helpful for all requests.

I give a big "well done" to the photographer who provided the images used on the Burrard website and promo documents - they perfectly reflect everything that the hotel strives to achieve. Brilliant!!

Well done The Burrard and many thanks for providing all we needed during our stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room not at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at The Burrad Hotel for 5 days. You can walk to every major venue in five minutes i.e. locationwise ok. I flew transatlantic so went to bed at 7 pm and woke up at 0200 am so no idea about the sleep quality. However, I had no problem getting into and maintaining my sleep. My room was clean and kept clean. However, the rates are expensive for the its quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erkanyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write to us and we are happy to hear you found our location convenient and well located within the city. We are also happy to hear we provided a restful night and that the quality of your sleep was fantastic while you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived in 80 degree temps. to find the hotel had no air conditioning. They did provide a fan which indicated that the room temperature did not dip below 77 during most of our stay. When I called the front desk to ask about the air, the older gentleman at the desk replied, "We don't advertise that we have air conditioning!" For me, it seems that air conditioning would be the expectation in North America, and you would more likely make patrons aware that you do not provide air conditioning. My point though is that rather than helping to smooth the situation, the clerk was curt and sarcastic. He did call back with another hotel suggestion that had air conditioning. We did go and look at the hotel which had dead bugs on the floor, old-style tube televisions and stains on the carpets and bedding. I wonder why he felt that hotel was comparable? He also made it clear that the manager was not available and could not call me back, but I would need to track him down when he was on duty during the day.

The concept of the hotel is cute and they did do a good job renovating the motel-style rooms. The room was clean upon our arrival, but during our 3-day stay, the housekeeping staff only replaced towels and made the beds. In fact, on our last day, wet towels were left on the room floor from the day before and powder was not wiped from the bathroom surfaces.

The location was very central and was in a great location to get around town. The hotel also had free calling anywhere in North America which was a nice feature.

If the Burrard wants to be a boutique hotel they really need to improve on customer service and the details -- like refreshing the room -- that travelers seek. We thought the Burrard would be similar to many of the Kimpton hotels we've stayed at, but it truly fell short in the areas of customer service and attentiveness to details.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCresan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write to us and for your praise for our renovation. We put a lot of effort into it and it is important that we get feedback from our guests and we appreciate your thoughts. We do not have AC and we apologize this caused you any discomfort but I am saddened to hear that our front desk was anything less than pleasant and helpful and I will be taking action to ensure we are providing better service and handling of inquiries in the future. Furthermore, our housekeeping department will be reviewed as again I feel your experience was less than our best and I want to ensure you this is not indicative of our normal level of service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and that you took advantage of our FREE North American calling. We hope to have you back soon to show you the real Burrard service.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

When we stayed here early June there was a lot of construction going on around the hotel at the time, so construction noise was an issue, also the walls of the rooms seem paper thin at times as you can hear everything the neighbors say and do needless to say sleep quality was not great during our stay. Even with a window open there was very poor airflow in the room we had and it was too cold to have the air cooler on all the time. The staff though are very friendly and helpful and the design of the hotel is very unique and presents well. The amenities provided were very nice and more than what most hotels provide. Free water and coffee in rooms is a nice touch as well as the free bicycles for use. Having the free breakfast with the room was budget friendly. Great location in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughts098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello and thanks for your feedback. We enjoy our central location in downtown but that does mean we have to deal with the hustle and bustle of our busy downtown. The City of Vancouver restricts construction noise between 8pm and 7am and thus far we have had very little disturbance but appreciate that last week there was a lot of activity. We thank you for your kind words about our staff and our rooms and we hope to see you back again soon.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel in Vancouver and was very pleased with finding The Burrard. It is located on a busy street, and while there was lots of construction right in front of the hotel while we were there in May, inside the hotel is was very quiet and peaceful.
The hotel has a kind of retro/hip vibe. The rooms face out to an indoor courtyard with a beautiful rooftop garden on top of the parking garage. While the rooms are small, they are well equipped with a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen TV - also the best coffee maker we had anywhere on our two-week trip. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcyRH912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,116 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
683 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing