We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore Vancouver from!”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Take a look at whoever wrote the previous review for 12/30 because they were dead-on. It's all about location, location, location. My wife and I walked to Yaletown, Davie St, Robson, and Grandville all in one day. There are excellent restaurants and clubs all over. I really don't need to say much more, other than it's a great space, a great value and that we'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhammedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It's like you walked into a hotel placed in a hipster version of the movie Grease. This place definitely has swag, albeit being a touch ikea-esque in decor.

Room is cosy and functional with very good usage of space. Not much luggage area tho so beware if (you're like me) and seldom travel light.

Beds very comfy. Good lighting in the room, and free water and wifi (#win). 7-eleven just downstairs (#doublewin).

Breakfast is coffee/tea/juice and a muffin/scone/someothersmallpieceoffood so don't pay extra for the breakfast and eat elsewhere at the (many) great eateries in the area.

Service was good but not exceptional - dont expect a bellman to help you with your bags. This place knows how to give only as far as is needed - perhaps that's how they keep the price so reasonable?

The Burrard designers clearly didn't think bathroom counter top space was very important btw. All you have is a sink. For one. Which kinda works in the functionality of the hotel, but not for my husband and I who both like some mirror space when brushing our teeth.

Delivering where it matters most (proper heating, bedding, cleanliness, location, price), I would recommend The Burrard to anyone in Vancouver for a short stay. Couples looking to stay for a longer period of time (who travel with at least 4 pairs of shoes each - you know who you are), you may want to consider another place simply because it will take too long to get ready with the tiny bathroom, and limited space.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fonseka-Dewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here one night and loved it. The hotel was clean, the recent renovation looked great. Plus, this hotel has a very convenient location, but it's super quiet at night. Easy walking distance to public transportation and to restaurants. Great place to stay in Vancouver. We even had a truck and had no problem getting it in and out of the private parking garage.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbuhler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've just booked my sixth stay at The Burrard. I particularly enjoyed all of the little touches that made me smile on my previous visits. I found the staff very accommodating and friendly. The "perks" that come along with your stay are worth taking advantage of. I had a fantastic day out with one of the bicycles available and enjoyed a good soak in the immaculately clean bathroom afterward. The free long distance calling was a welcome surprise. I have stayed in a "Queen Plus" room each time with window facing the courtyard and have found it to be quiet and relaxing - particularly after a late night (or early morning) out on the town. The location is ideal for exploring the city and stumbling distance from some great nightlife. I look forward to my occasional visits to Vancouver even more thanks to The Burrard.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient downtown location. It is clean, has nice amenities, and reasonable rates. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rates are reasonable given its location. Restaurants and other attractions are nearby. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOwlReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked one night stay at this nice hotel for next day's early body examination at the hospital across the street. I was impressed how new and clean this hotel is.

Just totally renovated in 2011, the room has an simple urban style. Lots storage space even though it`s not a large room. The clean bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows have the right firmness which is rare to see at other hotels.

Bathroom has a right size, just the sink is kinda small. The showerhead has a perfect flow made the shower enjoyable.

The amenties are good: 2 free bottled water, new fancy flavoured expresso machine, 42" LG LED TV, free in room WiFi, free bike rental..... etc. It was quiet at night even though it`s on a main traffic street.

The only down side is the sunlight can go through the thin curtain , makes late raisers might feel hard to fall asleep without an eye cover.

It has a beautiful courtyard garden with tables and chairs, very relaxing feel.....

I would high recommand this wonderful hotel for single or couples travallers.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the sides or back of the building would be quieter than the ones facing the big str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivoryfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is at a great location and between the good business area for shopping and the drinking area for the locals.

This hotel was not as expensive as i would have expected for the area and, although the hotel is basic, this meets all the needs. I was particularly impressed with the complimentary water, free local calls within North America and Canada, an Nespresso machine and a great and enormous size room.

The staff were a great asset and so friendly to giving me the local knowledge, especially grateful for a tourist from the UK.

I would certainly stay here again.

Thank you for a great time!

Room Tip: City facing room is a nice view to the city, but also to the road, although i was NOT kept awake by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmedic72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $90 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing