We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The Burrard is a Motel not an Inn nor a Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“The Burrard is a Motel not an Inn nor a Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A better description is a motel and not an "inn". There are no amenities here, rooms are outdoor entry motel style. Structurally this place has not changed since I stayed here 20 years ago. The difference is fresh paint in the rooms and "new"er furnishings. The bathroom is the biggest issue - as there is ZERO counter space to put a shaving case or much of anything else. It is sterile with white tiles of a vingatge right out of a 1940 operting room. One very small dimly lit light fixtures provides what must be 30 watts of light....the same poor lighting is in the bedroom as well making reading impossible. With the room so dark it did not feel clean. The bed was comfortable, the pillows to stuffed with material and uncomfortable. The windows needed to be open for ventilation as they fog constantly, particularly when it rains (constantly when I was there). You can hear conversations from an adjoining room. There is construction presently going on behind the building so very noisy in the morning. Front staff (the lot of them) seemed immersed on web-surfing...as they look disinterested when guests come and go. I would not stay here again. Better rooms and experience can be found more central for the same money or a little more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    562
    134
    47
    29
See reviews for
192
561
214
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here instead of Sheraton next door for a conference. Cute central location, quiet modern hotel, small but clean rooms. Free wifi. Water. Calling to Canada and US. Staff always accommodating and ready to give advice on anything. 24 hr great coffee shop downstairs. Definitely worth it for the price!
As a side note- this was probably a motel in its past life but with all of the remodeling you can't tell and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEtraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at The Burrard for two nights in early October and very much enjoyed it. Front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. Upon my arrival, there was a mistake with my reservations but it was taken care of immediately.

I enjoyed the room and the amenities. The nespresso machine in the room is a fantastic idea (I used it twice daily). I appreciated the free wifi and the flat screen TV, I ended up hurting my knee and spent more time in my room than I had anticipated.

The hotel has tons of character, the courtyard looked very welcoming unfortunately it was pouring rain and couldn't enjoy it. They had someone playing music on the Saturday night which I found to be quite nice.

The only downside for me was the bathroom. I found the sink to be too small, I couldn't wash my face without splattering water everywhere. My room didn't have a bathtub, only a shower which was disappointing for me. I also had the maid walk into my room without knocking first, although she did apologize. I have had this happen numerous times at other hotels too so I always lock my door with a chain link, but the room I was in did not have one.

I recommend this hotel and would go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is my first Tripadvisor review, but I have friends who do this frequently. The Burrard was a very good place to stay. It is 'lean' in the design and accessories, ( I rather expected a bit more of a boutique feeling - it is, in fact, just a cleverly renovated moterlodge), but it does not really 'over sell' itself on the website. The Blenz cafe adjacent to the Lobby is very convenient (open 24/7) with excellent cinnamon buns and coffee. The hotel staff were great but they need to figure out a way to contact guests in the room if the Do Not Disturb sign is on the door. My friends tried to contact me and were told they could only leave a message at the desk and hopefully I would pick it up - there is no message option on the mobile phone in the room. The bathrooms are small (pealing ceiling paint) and there is no vanity, only a very small sink. Otherwise, The Burrard is convenient and worth the money.

Room Tip: Twin bed rooms are a lot bigger than the regular ones. Rooms around the courtyard (off of Burrard S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A three night stay, very clean, motel style, different in style to any other hotel but non the worse for that. It has a central courtyard with seating area and palm trees which most of the rooms look out onto.
Our room was at the rear, a front room may have been a bit noisy with the traffic and the ambulances arriving at the hospital which is immediately opposite but we had no issues with it.
The location is spot on for tourists, being downtown and within easy walking distance of the two Canada line stations from the airport, together with all the other tourist attractions.
One of the best points from our point of view was the free cycle hire offered on a first come, first served basis. They were retro style cycles offered with helmets and locks, great for a trip round Stanley park and there are plenty of segregated cycle lanes on the main roads so no conflict with the city traffic.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
If we were to return to Vancouver we would certainly stay here again, need I say more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LOADSAHOLIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The Burrard was a motel from the 1960s and renovated in 2011 to modern standard. I found this on Tablet hotels and trusted their selection, it's clean modern facility with a retro look in downtown. The only issues were that the bathrooms lacked storage for my toiletries and I spotted a water bottle cap and dust in between the cracks next to the bed. overall,I would stay again and loved that they provide passes to a nearby full service gym.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love the fact that this wasn't a boring old Travelodge, a bland Holiday Inn, a personality-less Ramada. It's cool, quirky and unique. Loved it! I used the free bike rentalservice which was great. the Blenz coffee shop was a bit on the blase side of things and could have been a lot cooler, but certainly not a deal braker.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandythefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
#20 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Davie Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#44 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing