We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Just checked in on 5/23/2012. Cool old style hotel that's been completely renovated. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, great courtyard, and it's located right downtown. Helped us with finding a good restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owowyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are thrilled to hear about your great stay. We do love food and are always happy to share our personal faves! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    679
    168
    55
    34
See reviews for
241
694
249
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Nice property, nice location, The staff was able to give us a room before 1600 hours.
However, don't expect to sleep. The occupants in room 418 held a party that lasted until we checked out at 0500 AM. This was even though the management went up and asked them to be quiet.
I liked the location but not being kept up all night. The people in the other room must have been yankees

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DON s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take noise complaints seriously and our guests' sleeping conditions even more so. We strive to provide a great night's sleep and our policy here is to ensure party rooms are shut down immediately. Our sincere apologies that your stay was not up to our standards but we hope you return so we can show you just how attentive we can be.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Wouldn't even put my in laws here! What a horrible experience. We got there one night, the guy at the front desk started to help us, then the phone rang and he ignored us while talking on the phone (seriously, just out them on hold if you've already started a transaction with another customer!). Then we went to our tiny room (which I generally would not mind, but for that price you'd expect something fancy). We closed our blinds but...the hotel sign was right outside our room, and the blinds were too short so our room was still bright. We then tried to go to sleep, when we heard traffic coming from outside. We closed our window and even put earplugs in...but it was extremely loud. We could not sleep. When we called the front desk we were told there is nothing we can do about it, and that they are not willing to give us a refund because the noise was not in the hotel. They provide only one service ,which is to give us a decent place to sleep....and we couldn't sleep. overall, small ugly room, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, no way to sleep. Very dissatisfied. Worst stay in a hotel I've ever had.

Room Tip: Just go to a different hotel. There are so many of them downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eietmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani P, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. We regret to hear that your stay was less than perfect as we strive to make each guests' stay the best they have had. Being centrally located downtown, we have put a lot of effort into noise reduction with our brand new double-pane, energy conserving windows and our brand new black out blinds. When we can, we try to move guests to the quieter back side of the hotel which does not face the street, but often we are full and this is not possible. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Burrard has a stylish and funky feel with friendly staff. The hotel room was very clean and the general standard offered good value for money. There are a few downsides which are largely outside the control of the hotel's staff. First, Vancouver has an extremely bad beggar (panhandler) problem. A guy who said he was homeless stood metres from the front entrance of the hotel and asked for money for the entire duration of our stay. The intimidation resulted in us having to take alternative routes to get to the hotel. Sadly, many Vancouver streets have these people. Secondly, major construction work was taking place besides the hotel and we were woken by loud jack hammers at 7am each morning (excl. weekend). Again this was not the fault of the hotel but it did impact on our overall experience.

Room Tip: Clarify with staff whether major construction work will be taking place besides your room as this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Burrard and you can't beat the amenities and friendly service. We loved the decor and the very clean rooms. You are in walking distance from tons of restaurants and sights. Great location. You are also near a pickup/drop off point for the big bus tour if you choose to take it. One of my favorites of the many free amenities was the very cool cruiser bicycles you can take out for as long as you want and cruise the city. The staff really makes you feel at home and they are very friendly and helpful if you have any questions or need recommendations. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Vancouver. I wish this was a chain!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaMema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Months ago I bought a Teambuy.com for a one night stay at this Hotel that I had little prior knowledge of. The website for The Burrard really gives off a very trendy-vibe.
Upon checking in I was so pleased to be greeted by warm and helpful staff who appeared to be willing to do anything they could to accommodate guests, this was one of my best local Hotel stays ever.
From the outside this hotel appears suspect, but do not be fooled!
This hotel is clean, fashionable and in a great location downtown. Our 4th floor room really had everything we needed: cleanliness came equipped with a comfortable bed, mini fridge and nice view. You are so close to several excellent restaurant choices on Davie Street, in Yaletown or Robson street.
If not for the strong, cold wind we would have used the outdoor patio area where other guests chill out, drink and mingle with one another.
Features:
- Free Wifi
-We were fortunate to have some sun this weekend so it was a good time to utilize the free vintage bike rentals that The Burrard provides.
The only knock on this perfect stay was the construction going on at 07:00am, which I really can’t blame the hotel for.
The Burrard is a funky hotel with quirky signs everywhere you turn, spotless amenities and incredibly nice staff. I will absolutely be coming back to this hotel due to this recent experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwame84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Older style motel, newly renovated, with all rooms entering from a court yard.Very clean, bed linens great, comfortable bed. Espresso machine, bottled water, free phone calls in North America. Staff very nice and helpful. Walking distance to shopping, a short bus ride to Granville Island. Davies St. (1/2 block) has great International Restaurants, try Stepho's, always a line up but worth it for great Greek food. Ask for a hospital rate if visiting St. Pauls Hospital. We will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dcgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 90 in Vancouver
2,073 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 90 in Vancouver
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 90 in Vancouver
1,402 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 90 in Vancouver
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing