We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of The Burrard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burrard
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was recently in Vancouver for the Gran Fondo Whistler and stayed at the Burrard. Great location and central to all business and tourist attractions in the City. The hotel has a cool hipster vibe, and as a recently renovated 1960's era motor inn, captures all the elements of its original being with modern bathrooms, great comfortable beds and big flat screen TV's. The service was very friendly and very prompt. I would definately recommend staying at the Burrard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTerre, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hi and thanks for your great review! We hope you had a great ride - our owner rode himself and said it was a great event and even better with the great weather! We appreciate your taking the time to give us your review and can't wait to have you back in the future!

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    688
    170
    56
    34
See reviews for
245
703
252
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was in Vancouver from August 31st until September 6th 2011 visiting friends and checking out the city and stayed at The Burrard. I was quite impressed with the retro-hip, 60's feel to this hotel, but don't get me wrong, it's the style of the hotel and very refreshed and modernly finished and it looks very nice. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. My room was on the third floor, and had a great view of the central terrace and patio on the 2nd floor. I liked the open concept of the hallways and balcony, you feel like you are part of the city, yet in your own surroundings. The room I was given and booked for had two queen beds, a BIG screen HD TV with lots of HD channels. There was a mini-fridge and unlimited coffee and water. The bathrooms and beds were super clean. The cleaning staff took care of my room every day. The beds were super comfortable. Some of the perks of this hotel.. there is free wi-fi connection throughout the hotel, there are about 8-10 bikes for free rental to hotel guests, whcih I took advantage of. They give you a free gym pass to a local nearby fitness centre (off-site, about 2 blocks away), and also free Canada and US phone calls in your hotel room, which was a nice bonus and flexibility, as I was able to keep in touch with my friends in town and out of town and family back at home. The hotel was an amazing location, less than 10 minute walk to the closest SkyTrain station, a few blocks away from Robson Street, and Granville Street, where you will find all your shopping, restaurants, pubs, and other things to do. There is also a supermarket nearby, a cafe and a 7-Eleven right downstairs. It is also a 15-20 minute walk to Stanley Park and Canada Place and/or Olympic torch. Talk about convenience! Overall, I was impressed and satisfied with my stay. I would recommend checking out this place as it is great value for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms with a window facing the street can be a bit loud, but ask the hotel staff to accomodate you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icediamond99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Burrard Inn has new ownership and they have done a wonderful job updating the property!! The style is very hip and modern with a nostalgic twist on it. My husband found it online at the last min and so we were not sure what to expect. The staff are so kind and helpful and Michael did everything he could to make our stay perfect. The location is great, it is across the street from the hospital and they have FREE bike rentals on site!!! Vancouver has many bike trails and we spent most of our time exploring by bike. The Burrard doesn't just have normal bikes, but they have CRUISERS!! We were styling and everyone kept asking us where we got our hip bikes from!

Room Tip: Request a room with a garden view, if you stay on the 2nd floor you can walk out to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Do not park in the lower level of The Burrard's controled-access parking garage. The upper level is visible from inside the hotel, so make sure to park there. The back window of my car was smashed. I learned later that this probably not all that common in the neighborhood because of all the local treatment centers. That being said, I could not have asked more of the management once this occurred. Dani and her team cleaned up the broken glass in my car, handled the police report, and even called the rental car company for me. They comped my room and if I traveled again to Vancouver, I would stay at The Burrard (though I would stick to taxis).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTerre, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are glad to hear that despite your car experience, we were able to offer you a great stay. We have increased security in the form of video surveillance, new door hardware and decreasing the length of time our keycard access gate takes to close so that we can stop this from happening in the future. Our goal is to provide great service not only to the guest but to you car and personal belongings and we appreciate your understanding. Thanks again and we look forward to having you again soon!

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It's a former motor inn. Recently redone and quite nicely, too. The place looks and is very clean and modern and up to date. A sort of retro-mod-hipster look. The bathrooms are obviously all brand new and, while small and lacking in counterspace, are adequate. The beds and linens are very nice and comfortable. The rooms are simply furnished, but tasteful and comfortable. I liked the location very well. Service was good. However, while it was a hot summer weekend, the room was just stifling. There's no fan in the bathrooms and no air conditioning or fan of any kind. The rooms all have a window on the courtyard and a window facing the outside of the building - so no breeze at all. I called the front desk and they brought me a box fan, saying it was the last one they had and that it had to be taken from housekeeping. Other guests complained about it while I was checking out and the man behind the desk explained that the new owners had done a lot of work and spent a lot of money on the place and that this was something they had yet to get to. Still, even a table fan in each room would help. Everyone was uncomfortable. Also note, this hotel charges easily twice what other hotels in the area charge for parking. And the rooms do not cost all that much less than some of the nicer hotels in the area. Overall, the place would do if there were no other options, but I wouldn't suggest it as a first choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanpadraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTerre, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Hi and thanks for your review. We love that you enjoyed our renovated space - we have done a lot of work! The summer heat was a big challenge for us and we have just purchased more fans to better accomodate our guests. Over the winter season, we will be working on a better, long term solution as well as unfortunately A/C is not possible. Our parking charge in peak season is industry average for the downtown area as parking space is limited in Vancouver. Our rate includes many free amenities including free WiFi, complimentary water & coffee, free use of the business centre and our cruiser bikes which we offer to our guests in hopes that they realize our value and desire not to "nickel-and-dime" once you are here. Thank you for taking the time to post and we hope to have you back in the future.

Cheers,
Dani Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary , Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed one night and wished we could have stayed the whole week. Close to everything ,friendly and efficient Staff , good price and good value..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duslbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We paid about $150 + taxes for a room with two double beds, which would otherwise have been ok except there was no air conditioning. We had to open the windows during sleep because it was so hot, which meant that we had to listen to all the noise from outside. Also the building looked like a cheap motel that was renovated half way.

On the plus side, the rooms were clean and service was fine. Free internet & good location, just a short walk to the busy area in the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silveritte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanTerre, General Manager at The Burrard, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thanks for your review and we appreciate how hot the rooms can get and have therefore purchased fans which help generate a cool breeze on the hottest of nights. Quieter rooms can also be requested as there are courtyard facing units that do not have street noise. We are happy to hear our staff were helpful and you liked the location and free internet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,114 reviews
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 92 in Vancouver
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
683 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
West End
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
Coast Plaza Hotel & Suites
#49 of 92 in Vancouver
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrard

Property: The Burrard
Address: 1100 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1Y7, Canada (Formerly Burrard Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#43 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burrard 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its signature garden courtyard and retro West Coast style, the Burrard is situated in one of downtown Vancouver’s best locations – just minutes from Granville Street, Davie Street, Robson Street, Yaletown, Granville Island and the city’s breathtaking 22-kilometre seawall. Having recently undergone a multi-million dollar renovation, the Burrard’s rooms have been completely redesigned with premium furnishings, sparkling new bathrooms and an impressive list of in-room amenities including 42” HD flatscreens, free wireless, free North American calling, in-suite espresso machines, bar fridges and more. Guests of the hotel are also welcome to complimentary hotel amenities including free bike rentals, a fully equipped business station and passes to Steve Nash Fitness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Burrard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Hotel Vancouver
Burrard Motor Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing