We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service greatly ameliorated our experience!”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We were in town to visit Vancouver, check out the paraolympics, and enjoy the Workless Party party. We chose the Budget Inn because of proximity to the party (just three blocks away!) and the low cost.

The room was decent. We got everything we were promised, the room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The in-room fridge proved very useful and the shower had good water pressure. All in all, an average experience.

Here's what made the experience so much better:
1. Noor Din. This fellow, working the front desk, greeted us in a friendly manner every single time we came by with a question. He was a font of information, and provided us with countless insights into the local transit, entertainment, and cuisine. Noor Din went out of his way to make our visit more convenient and more enjoyable, and his efforts were very much appreciated.
2. The rate. While the website quoted significant rate increases for the paraolympics, a manager by the name of Chris not only gave us a decent room ( two queen beds) for a good price, he also offered us a 10% courtesy discount because we were all students (though this isn't policy and I doubt they'll repeat it, see below).

Issues that Arose:
1. Our bill. The credit card machine didn't print out our receipt properly so they had to bill us a second time and assured me the first charge would be annulled at the end of the day. We won't know if the hold was effectively removed, or if the charge will be properly annulled, until we check out credit card bill next month. That's very annoying. I don't like having stressful tasks in my list. Additionally, there was no easy way to apply the 10% discount in the computer system and the manager on duty seemed (at first, at least) uncomfortable honoring it. While Noor Din made the stressful situation almost pleasant via his congenial nature and casual conversation, the manager on duty (not Chris) was aggressive both to his employee and to customers that tried to greet him. I don't know the situation (those clients might be problem cases, and/or the manager might have been having a stressful day) but it left me a little uncomfortable with leaving the bill correction to them. I will check online in a few days to make sure the charges are correct.

2. The location is a bit sketchy. Now, I'm a fairly laid-back individual and clearly something of socially uninhibited fellow (re: Workless Party) so I wasn't too bothered by the spattering of prostitutes and drug dealers every 10' down most of the side streets from the hotel. They didn't bother me, and I didn't bother them.
A few blocks west on Hastings, however, is a more serious issue. We wanted to walk downtown and we didn't know the area so we progressed west along Hastings and found ourselves in sketch-town. Now, I want to be clear: no one accosted us, or even made any threatening gestures. Our anxiety was derived mostly from being outnumbered (50:1 at least) by people with values and priorities that do not align with ours (like obeying civil authority, and washing). We opted to move a block or two south and continue on Pender, which seemed to be a much cleaner and safer street.


Oh, an aside, the Inn is connected to a pub that had live music. We didn't get a chance to check it out (we were only there one night), but it was convenient to have an indoor connection to a pub in case we did partake of the convenient boozing and wanted to come home late and wasted. Wouldn't really want to be wandering those streets at night and impaired.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ____an0n_E_m0use____
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Patricia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 654 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

We've been reading all those reviews below and finally booked our stay there. Here's our impressions: The guys working the desk there couldn't be more helpful, friendly and accommodating. The place has a lots of 'old world' charm with its huge and cozy lobby, it might have seen better times but it is a simple clean place that delivers excellent value. The cheapest rooms (that's what we had) are small alright, don't have a view too, but have a comfy bed, a TV that works, and a bathroom w/ shower. It's a bit like those small, old hotels in Paris. Definitely not a Super6 or whatever hotel chain, and that's good.

The location actually is very good with walking distance to Chinatown or Gastown. It's a mere 10 minute walk to the waterfront!

Now there's the infamous east Hastings St. location. Well, that's life. Vancouver city hall concentrated their help and service stations for the down and out folks in an area of about blocks and if one decides to walk down Hastings St. one gets a reminder that there's folks out there having all kinds of troubles. That's OK!
We've never been once asked for money or were inconvenienced in any way!

It's easy and fast to get to the airport. With the bus/skytrain combination (bus stop is half a block from the hotel) it takes not more than 45 minutes. The skytrain (Canada line) is awsome btw. and if you want to save some money, buy a 10 pack of tickets at the drugstore in the Domestic Terminal arrival hall level 1 - this way you'll save on the 5 dollar 'add-on' fee city hall cooked up!

Conclusion: it's not a Hilton by any means, but the value is exceptional. Highly recommended! Another thing: WiFi is free and included but does not work on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kinyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We read and heard it was a terrible location with prostitutes and drug addicts before our trip to Vancouver. However, we arrived at 2 a.m. in the morning. Grabbed a cab from the airport and got there for CAN$33. In the morning, we walked around the area. Chinatown is only a block west from the hotel. Those people didn't bother us. I guess coming from New York, it was nothing scary about the neighborhood. It took us only 15 minutes to walk east to Ballantyne Pier. The hotel is located at a main street so there was nothing to worry about. This is a no thrill no frill hotel. We would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gln126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Arrived at about 2, they didn't have our key so they got one cut within 30 minutes. The room we recieved was tiny and had a closet door for the washroom door. Slight smokey smell, but not as bad as others are saying. The Area is well... East Hastings, anyone who has done research on Vancouver surely nows what to expect when staying in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawsonity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I didn't stay at hotel. Once i saw neighborhood, i cancelled. Very scary area during the day, would not go there at night.

Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
1  Thank kellysworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I am in the Ieong family and I think it's pretty good. The pub was great and the staff were great too! I mean it's hard to even get 1 star for a hotel. And it feels just like a 5 star hotel in the lobby chairs. Let me just tell you from the start. First we found the hotel and the staff found our room. Then we went into our room and it was kind of hot in there. Maybe it's because of the mini fridge. Anyway, we went playing outside everyday and it was near the places we went. Like, Gastown, Chinatown, Police Museum, and bus stops and Canada Line and lots more. Also inside the room was neat but a little noisy. The bathroom was good and so are the beds. You can also do Laundry in the Basement. AND the BEST thing was that the tv had cable! The cartoon channels are 27, 50, and 49. There are some news too! There might be some on 70. And here is a little tip, there is some homeless people out there and they might ask you for money, if that happens, just pretend you don't know anything. And they won't hurt you. Here is one last tip, I would not drive a car, someone might break into it. So just ride public transporation. If you want to save money, just buy a ticket to Canada Line, then you can use it on other public transporations too within 90 minutes. So just enjoy this hotel, it's price is good and it is even when you buy it on a season rate special. It has a good view on the top floors. Also the small rooms have a park view, but the big rooms have a street view. And the roads were just built so it is good to walk on.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Good stay for a cheap price. Friendly, helpfull staff, clean room which unfortunately smelled terribly smoky (though we got it sold as a non-smoking room).
Breakfast Buffet for that low price was a surprise (next to a choice of Kelloggs, they even offered different muffins,)!

The car parking next to the hotel was ok, nothing happened to our vehicle (probably because the car was some dirty it didn't look that inviting for any thiefs :).

During our stay they started a special on rates. Accordingly we added a night to profit. The clerk tried his best but the management denied it afterwards. This was kinda disappointing...

As expected by former reviews the neighbourhood was pretty bad (drugs, prostitutes, homeless people) but could be avoided by using the car or walking on Pender instead of Hastings.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cansui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
412 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
97 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Vancouver Airport
#69 of 92 in Vancouver
156 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#67 of 92 in Vancouver
500 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $49 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing