We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe location”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unsafe location”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was not bad, it's a budget inn so don't expect anything big, it's very cheap. The desk clerks were extremely helpful. When I got there I cancelled the rest of the weekend and changed hotels because the area was too unsafe. A lot of drug addicts and homeless people around, right outside the hotel. Rooms are small, cheap, I slept with my clothes on. I wouldn't walk outside at night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Xenia S,

Thank you for your feedback. Although we are extremely happy to hear that you felt the hotel itself represents good value and that you found the desk staff to be pleasant, we are sorry that you sought out an alternative for the rest of your stay on account of the neighbourhood. True the neighbourhood is home to some of the city’s disadvantaged and true there are many church groups and no-profits that assist these individuals, the neighbourhood is not unsafe for tourists. Although the sight of poor our homeless individuals can be disconcerting for some, reviews by previous guests indicate that they had no issues whatsoever which is very much in keeping with our experiences here. In any case, we hope that you enjoyed your trip to Vancouver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    179
    168
    79
    102
See reviews for
77
237
142
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

As a friend of not so modern or even close to modern style, I liked this 100-years old hotel in the surroundings of hard everyday life. The hotel has that lingering feeling of timeless and place less atmosphere. You could be anywhere in the world when sitting in the lounge or in the bar. I loved this feeling. The staff was polite, friendly and professional in discreet manner. Ground floor front desk, brewery, bar and kitchen were in perfect harmony and combination. Live music often.
Bus stops just in front of the hotel.
Good value/money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl N, Front Office Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Pertti L,

Thank you making the Patricia Hotel a part of your around-the-world adventure and for taking the time to submit a review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s character, the staff and the on-site pub & brewhouse. As a person who has traveled quite a bit, you surely have a good sense of hotels that represent good value, so thank you very much for your praise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel was small and in a not-so beautiful part of town, but my friend and I were coming from Texas (and the 'bad neighborhoods' there are a million times worse than this place) and we got in kind of late and cranky, and the man at the front desk made us feel so welcome. He joked with us and treated us very nice, and then in the morning, the girl working the front desk was incredibly helpful with directions we needed.
The rooms are small, but they were okay. The room also has kind of an odd smell, but it's not unpleasant, it's just different.
The hotel is very, very close to the Greyhound Station, right around the corner (literally) from Chinatown, and the Sky Train.
Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We checked out the Patricia online a year ago, and as out of towners, were kind of scared about what we would find at this affordable hotel in the heart of the downtown eastside. So we didn't book. Last summer we spent $600. for two nights at a Best Western, and you know what, it was no big deal, obviously over-priced. One of us spent the summer in Van and bussed by the Patricia, checked out the location, and then when Fall arrived, she found herself needing to be frugal and desperately in want of a break from her hometown. Another hotel possibility was booked up, but the fab Patricia had rooms available. $50. per night in a room with a double bed, but they upgraded us to a queen bed room before we even arrived. Yes, the rooms are small, and if you want privacy when you're taking a dump, turn the shower on, haha. We weren't going to be spending all day in our room anyway, and coming back to the room, they were plenty cosy for resting. Plus you can actually open the windows to get fresh air. Our suite even had a fan to enhance the fresh air feel. Also, there is a wonderful lounge area with lots of comfy chairs with good views of the street for people watching, plus a book-nook for those with a hankering for a good read. The other guests all seemed mellow and friendly. The staff are wonderfully grounded, friendly, and helpful. This hotel is one of those secrets you don't want others to know about, because then the prices will rise. Hopefully they will keep it affordable once it becomes over the top popular, and I mean affordable for those of us who make less than $40,000 per year. So all you rich folks who just want to save a buck, I'll let you know that we did find a few black hairs in our clean sheets when we arrived, gross! so stay away! (We flicked them off) The other thing we were struck by is the palpable feeling of history here. This hotel has been around for 100 years. Can you imagine how much has happened here in 100 years? We are totally into diversity and the strange and beautiful melding of folks from all walks of life in this neighbourhood. If you like diversity and stimulation and won't be freaked out if someone who is harmless asks you if you would like some crack or pot on your interesting stroll through the Downtown eastside, Chinatown, Japantown, Gastown, Strathcona, this is the place for you. Also, this hotel has a thriving pub and restaurant below with live music and comedy, etc, throughout the week. We couldn't hear anything for the pub at night, and look forward to checking it out later. This a heritage buildingin a an economy bent on building characterless highrises, so support your local good-guy. The Patricia is safe, clean, friendly, and totally interesting. Take the plunge and save yourself $400. Support this heritage site!

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but our west facing queen bed room was great. Wonderful views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aizha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It offers the best of both worlds! Bike friendly! Truck friendly! With amazing staff. It allowed us to take advantage of both sides of Vancouver. Noor was fantastic. Halloween was fantastic....

Will definetly be back with a larger group.

Room Tip: 3rd flr overlooking the view of Vancouver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff are great and very helpful with telling guests about what to see and do. The location is not very good, drug dealing, drug taking, prostitutes, people begging for food and homeless people are very close by the Hotel. The hotel it self is quite old but it was clean. No tea and coffee making facilities available. The Pat's Pub downstairs has nice food for dinner. Don't go out after dark in this neighbourhood and if you need to get a taxi. The computer down in the lobby does not work very well, but the free wi-fi is intermittent but good when it worked. Do not stay here if the above mentioned things bother you or suffer from heightened anxiety.. Overall, my husband hated it and will never stay there again, but I personally did not mind the room we had but the area made me feel uncomfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl N, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Patrice C,
Thank you for your review. We’d also like to thank you for recognizing our staff. Comments like yours seem to be a theme on this site and we’re happy to see it continue! Regarding your comment that our neighbourhood is ‘not good’, I must say that I disagree. If you are looking for a location that’s 15 minutes by foot to the city centre, is mere blocks to Chinatown and Gastown (the old town where all the pubs, restaurants and shops are), or has easy bus access to all of the city’s other attractions, then our neighbourhood is perfect! Also, many of the past reviews below will attest to the harmless nature of the neighbourhood folk, but you are right, if you suffer from heightened anxiety as you mentioned, we’re probably not the best place for you. Although homeless and panhandlers are not unique to our area so anxiety exacerbated by this may be experienced throughout our city. Thank you for recognizing our high standard of cleanliness as this is a point of pride for our housekeeping team. Regarding the tea and coffee you mentioned, we offer tea and coffee as part of our continental breakfast in the summer which is complimentary and includes other items such as fresh-baked muffins, toast, cereal, fruit salad, yogurt and granola. During the off season, we don’t provide this complimentary meal, but we still have tea and coffee available in the lobby. Regarding your comments about the lobby pay-as-you-go internet terminal, we have passed on your comments to the company that owns the terminal and as a result they are looking into ways of improving that service.

Thank you again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were staying in Vancouver for 11 nights, so the price of this place was a really draw! We were a little worried when two separate people on our way to the hotel suggested it wasn't the best and its location wasn't great. They weren't right but they weren't wrong; it is located on East Hastings which is a hub of hookers, druggies and homeless people i did feel a little unsafe, however if you go one block onto Pender its completely different and the hotel is on the edge of the bad stuff!
The hotel is a little dated and could do with a facelift, but its clean, although if we had our window open at certain time it stunk of weed! The staff are friendly and helpful.
If you're not a snob and looking for cheap accommodation you'll be fine here,its also within walking distance of all Vancouver has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
404 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#80 of 92 in Vancouver
96 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
1,910 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#67 of 92 in Vancouver
493 reviews
Robson Street
Empire Landmark Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing