We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gross...Not worth the money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gross...Not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

OMG! Where do I start. This has got to be the worst hotel ever! I booked this hotel because of the location and the price. Boy was it a mistake. While driving through this part of the neighborhood, we saw many hookers, druggy, and homeless people. When we arrived, they couldn't find our reservations They finally found it later and gave us our room. The guy mumbled something about having a problem later. While walking up to our room, there was an odor of MJ. It was pretty strong. The beds weren't that comfortable and it felt dirty. The bathroom was large except the room we stayed in only had a bathtub. It wasn't very comfortable for my 6' boyfriend to bathe. When I went to turn on the water, yellow water started flowing out. It was NASTY. I guess it was from the rust, but it was still gross. When we came back to the hotel in the evening. we saw a hooker walking up to the same floor. Like the previous reviewer. we could not sleep at night, fearing that someone will break into our car. We had to take everything upstairs or stuff it in our trunk so that the car looked empty. We couldn't wait until morning came so we can check out as soon as possible. A little word of advice, this place is not worth the money. I agree with the previous reviewer, you can pay $20 more and get a better hotel. You are better off booking a hotel West of Hastings than East of Hastings. BTW, the Chinatown here is dead.
Everyone moved to Richmond. If you have a car and don't mind driving, I suggest staying in Richmond or Granville. I don't think anyone in their right mind would walk around here at night.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishy_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    175
    160
    73
    93
See reviews for
74
223
140
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

Please dont make the mistake that we did. We took this hotel because it was chaep and we took it as a part of the airline ticket deal. However, if you can spend 10-20 bucks more, you can get some better place.

The rooms had a very bad smell. The bed sheets had stains and they were not clean. The service was poor.

Terrible place to stay even for 1 night!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

The rooms are ok but really basic. The hotel is located in a very degraded area so it's dangerous to come back late. On the other hand the price is one of the best you can get in Vancouver for a pritty central location!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank quattromonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

I have never before written a review regarding a hotel – good or bad. But on this occasion I feel that it is a social obligation to do so. My absolute honest advice is to stay away. I repeat: stay away from this hotel. There are literally hoards of drug addicts and prostitutes outside the hotel (and also frequent the lobby). It is one of the worst areas I have seen for this kind of depravation, and I’ve travelled all over the US. Whatever anyone says this cannot be a safe environment for a visitor. We arrived and then rapidly found alternative accommodation. If the hotel were in another area, I wouldn’t be so down on it, but really – look for somewhere else if you value your property and your safety.

  • Disliked — Area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkTravelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaHotel, General Manager at Patricia Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2008
Vancouver like other major cities is dealing with a variety of social issues, such as the rising number of homeless including those with mental illnesses, prostitution, and open drug use. The presence of the issues are felt and seen throughout the entire city.

I agree that some of the sights associated with the previously mentioned issues are typically not desirable, however despite how it looks, visitors to the city and Vancouverites enjoy a high level of personal safety.

The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel gets the privilege of having thousands of travelers staying with us every year, those that are concerned soon realize that the people on the streets are so involved with their own situation that they do not pay attention to anyone else.

The Budget Inn Patricia Hotel is located on the door step to two of the city’s major attractions, both cruise ship terminals and is on a major transit route. We are also part of Vancouver’s oldest neighborhood. Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find an elementary school, pre-school/day care, community center, city parks, and a senior care home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

We love Vancouver and have been here 7+ times. This was our first stay at Hotel Patricia, and I was very happy!! We started with a room at the side, which was a little on the small side, but we asked to be transferred and got a nice big room at the front of the building. It was a little noisier, especially with the window open, but we didn't mind - still quiet enough to sleep. The area is a little rough, compared w Aust and European standards. Vancouverites (?) seem have a more liberal approach to their citizens - more of a live and let live attitude - and more likely a more humanitarian approach, then locking unsightly their people up. We were asked for money once or twice, but we found even the strangest of characters didn't pose too much of a threat. Our car was a brand new rental, we left it in the car park every night and it was fine. (on a previous trip we had our car broken into so many times, we ended up leaving it unlocked to avoid broken windows - and this was in a "safe" part of downtown). It is close enough to downtown to hoof it around, prop 1/2 hour walk to Stanley Park. There is a pub - we had breakfast there - no complaints. Beer was cheap at night too. Of all the places we have stayed in Vancouver this is our fav. The front desk staff were ace - can't wait to return!!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank two_trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

I stayed at the Patricia Hotel recently and must say I had a very pleasant experience. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The advertisements for this hotel stating it is within walking distance of major tourist attractions such as Gastown and Chinatown is entirely true.

The neighbourhood is a little rough, but we didn't experience any problems and were comfortable walking around in the daytime. Cabs are advisable at night.

My wife and I also enjoyed our room. It was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is older, but clean and well-kept. We really enjoyed the pub which has great character and even better food. They also brew their own beer there and smoke their own meats.

All in all, the Patricia Hotel is great value and Pat's Pub is a great time

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank ERAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

If you're looking for European style budget accommodation, it doesn't get any better than this in Vancouver. Of course it's close to Main and Hastings, and the staff is up front about that when you call them. But it has clean and tidy rooms, it's quiet, and the staff are friendly and helpful. And the price is unbelievable for Vancouver. It's also right on a major bus route, so if you want to avoid all the action three blocks down, you can. And as an added bonus, the pub downstairs is absolutely fantastic. When we were there, there was a rockabilly theme night going on, with people pulling up in 50s era cars, and the bands were awesome, sort of like the Stray Cats. Beer is cheap, the crowd was chill, and the venue itself feels like an old jazz bar, it's a great layout.

I don't know what some of the other travellers commenting on this hotel were expecting. Sounds like they were looking for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank xalapaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#64 of 89 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#18 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#79 of 89 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Property: Patricia Hotel
Address: 403 East Hastings, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing