We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, but neighbourhood could freak you out”
Review of Patricia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Patricia Hotel
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As most people have commented, the Hotel itself is fine for the price. Me and my girlfriend stayed one night. The double room was tiny, the TV was useless and the sink was in the room, not the toilet. You wouldn't want to stay in a room that size for long- but it's adequate and clean plus the staff were helpful and let us check in early.
The street it's on is called Hastings East, it runs all the way into the city and it's about a 20 min leisurely walk with some good pubs and cafes along the way near the city end. Closer to the hotel it's like pretty rough though and anybody who is remotely put off by that should really re-consider- there are drug deals, people shooting up and prostitutes all visible- plus a mass of homeless to navigate. I'm not exaggerating and i've lived in rough areas before. Although, and i stress this is only my experience, we didn't get hassled by anyone.. that can be more about how you conduct yourself or just luck. We walked into the city along the street 3 times, and the last trip we took the parallel street and avoided all the craziness, just because it made it quicker than sidestepping everyone. The pub connected to it is probably the best in immediate proximity, and we tried a few.
So- cheap, clean budget hotel, but odd location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 676 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Friendly, efficient and helpful staff. This is a great option for Vancouver, close to everything - Gastown 2 blocks away, Chinatown 2 blocks the other direction - public buses almost at the door. Much has been said already about the locality, homeless and other disadvantaged tend to be more visible around Hastings St; due mainly to the numerous support facilities located close by. I ever felt threatened in any way but can understand that it could be off putting for travellers who may not have been exposed to these social issues. However, for me, the hotel's comfort, facilities and price outweighed any misgivings about the area. I would return if visiting Vancouver in the future. I often use airbnb but the Patricia turned out to be a better option with its downtown location and affordability and the luxury of privacy and ensuite facilities.

Room Tip: Wifi reception in rooms at higher levels is often poor but the lobby is huge with several areas for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMWSUNSHINECOAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Friendly helpful staff! The rooms are great for the price, good value. If you don't have a car and get around by Taxi this is the perfect place to stay. I would not park my car overnight in this neighbourhood and unfortunately the hotel does not offer underground or secure parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As others have commented this area is dodgy to say the least. But the hotel was ideal for what we wanted, we stayed for three separate nights at various stages of our holiday, an overnight on arrival in Vancouver, the same when leaving Canada, and in the middle while joining a cruise ship. We needed a room and a bed basically, and couldnt see the point of paying $150-$200 downtown. The rating is based on the price we paid, under $100 and this included breakfast. If I was staying for a week, to be honest, I wouldn't stay here as it is quite a trek down to Stanley Park and other downtown attractions, but is fine for a clean room and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dween0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times and I admit to being surprised there is a section to review it. The hotel is a great. From a price perspective, it's a great deal. The rooms are utilitarian, yet they are clean & taken care of. The staff do a great job & they are honest (hence them telling you to not answer the door if someone knocks). If you want to go to Vancouver on the cheap & you're a hardy traveler, this IS the place.

RE: The Neighborhood. The area is known as the Downtown East Side (DTES). It's a 10 block area with thousands of folks who suffer from poverty, addiction & other issues. Provided you don't go stuffing a camera in their face & you treat them with respect, you won't have an issue. Just use common sense & don't walk down the street at 2 AM tapping out a text on your iPhone. It's not the Patricia's fault that this area is so run down. This area was once the commercial hub of Vancouver some 30-40 years ago. Things have changed.

On a side note, if you are a photographer or traveler that likes to experience the rougher sides of city (in photo, etc), I'd recommend this place. The area is rich in contrasts which make for some great photographer. Just be cautious and respectful of the locals. And at $40-50 bucks a night, it's the best deal for the money in all of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestCoastFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Staff couldn't be more helpful. Bar downstairs serves good value food and has great live music Thursdays. Location not too bad but getting along E. Hastings is a bit grim and best avoided by taking the trolleybus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Patricia Hotel in August of 2012 and was thoroughly impressed with the staff, quality of the room, and free breakfast. I arrived at 5am after a red-eye flight and the staff was very accommodating by storing my bags and allowing me to nap on one of the couches in the lobby. They even saw to it that I had the first room available after housekeeping cleaned it from the previous guest; far ahead of the designated check-in time.

It features its own pub that had a live jazz band playing on one of the afternoons I was visiting. I'm not sure I would go down to visit the bar on a weekend though, as East Hastings Street has a (somewhat deserved) reputation for being sketchy, and some of the patrons hanging around the bar area looked a little unsavoury. Fortunately, I never had any trouble with the locals, which seems to put off a lot of the guests that have posted negative reviews.

If you're only using the hotel and neighbourhood as a starting and finishing point to your day though, I can't recommend it enough. I'll be staying here if I ever find myself in the Vancouver area again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Braaains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,891 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#71 of 92 in Vancouver
527 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#60 of 92 in Vancouver
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
831 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
961 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Hotel

Address: 403 Hastings St E, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1P6, Canada (Formerly Budget Inn Patricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $48 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Patricia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage style hotel best suits the budget-minded traveller that seeks quality "no-frills" accommodations and budget rates! Located on the edge of the downtown core, guests are only 1 block from Chinatown, 5 blocks from historic Gastown and enjoy easy access to shopping, dining, entertainment, Stanley Park, Granville Island, Grouse Mountain, and other major city attractions. Visit Pat's Pub and BrewHouse located in the hotel for great homemade pub food and our feature beer- "Pat's Classic Lager" - All Natural, Preservative Free, and Micro-Brewed On-Site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Patricia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing