We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel (not upscale) - Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel (not upscale) - Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

- Although not upscale/luxury, the rooms are huge (ask for 2 double beds), tidly presented, and bright and airy. Most (if not all?) have a balcony too.

- The location is second to none. Right in the heart of downtown on Robson Street (the main shopping drag).

- Make sure you get a room above the 10th floor (to reduce street noise).

Sure, if you can get a room at the Sheraton, Fairmont, Pan Pacific, or Marriott for the same price, stay there. But if you get a good price (as we did) it is 100% worth staying here if you're visiting Vancouver as a tourist.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Galdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    982
    139
    29
    30
See reviews for
511
1,136
165
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Just recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Blue Horizon.
Family of 4 enjoyed a western facing room on the 25th floor - great sunsets. Clean modern rooms. Great location...lots of pedestrian traffic on the street, variety of restaurants, shopping, and coffee shops. Didn't use the restaurant although it seemed very busy all the time. Used the small lap pool and hot tub - warm and clean. Not the quietest location as you are on a busy street in downtown Vancouver but the white noise from the room air conditioning helped drown things out. Would stay there again and recommend to others looking for a decent quality hotel at a reasonable price. Great value.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank mocarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Booked this hotel based on Tripadvsior reviews. Blue Horizon is centrally located on the busy Robson Street. There are many restaurants up and down the street. Across the street is a small Japanese market with cute Japanese girls behind the counter :D. Above the market is an internet café. If you enjoy a bustling city and don’t mind the noise, this hotel is a great place to be. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. The swimming is a bit small, but hey what do you expect for a busy downtown hotel. I would definitely stay here again. Great value and the location for the money you will be paying. Book now!

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chowskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Don't believe the hype! There is nothing special about the Blue Horizon. It is run like it is an upscale hotel when indeed it is not, even though it cost as much!

The room was clean, but noisy from street traffic and rundown. The bathroom and the SHEETS smell like sewer. It was difficult to fall asleep with that smell. Peeuu!

The internet access was supposed to be free according to the website but it was $10.00 a day.

The front desk staff was snotty and unaccommodating. When requested a late checkout, Dan, the front desk agent was not helpful. We had intended on staying at the Blue Horizon after our return from our cruise, but canceled our reservation.

Not worth $150 a night! Please save your money and go somewhere else. Anywhere!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Poor servce, sewer smell
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooooogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon Mb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2007

We booked this hotel after reading tripadvisor reviews. It was a good choice. The hotel is in the shopping district of Robson blvd and has lots of places to eat nearby. The Moxies across the street even has good salmon dishes. We also ate at the Brazilian Samba. We walked to the waterfront to take a look at the cruiseships in the morning.
The view at this hotel is great and if you are in the top floors you get to see the bay. Our first room was a king size and didnt have the view, but we asked to be moved and they looked after us with a great view from the 24th floor. Breakfast menu at this hotel is good, lots of great choices. The rooms are a good size and clean. The photos on this site can show you what it looks like.

  • Liked — Location, service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Manitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

First of all, the location is excellent. I believe it's one of two hotels on Robson St. You'll find plenty of stores and restaurants on this busy street. You can easily spend a half day going through all the shops. We had a queen superior room and were on the 22nd floor. You get great views of downtown Vancouver as well as the English Bay. We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. The lobby is very small and there's no business center. Depending on what time you check in/out, it gets extremely crowded. There's only a couple of elevators so sometimes you'll have to wait. I believe parking was ~ $15/night. Stanley Park was a few blocks away. We drove to it rather than walk. Granville Island isn't too far either. Beds were comfortable. If you don't mind paying $200/night, you'll enjoy this hotel.

Try Flavors of India (we didn't go to Original Flavors of India that's directly across from the hotel).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of internet access, elevators
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beanstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

We booked the Blue Horizon after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Everything met are expectations.....staff was very friendly, views from the 17th floor were awesome. Although we could only see a slice of the Bay, the people watching was lots of fun. The Beds were evidently put in about a month before our stay and were extremely comfortable. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Thank you Blue Horizon!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing