We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2006

I spent one night at the Blue Horizon and loved every minute. The staff was very polite and helpful. I requested a room with a view and got it. The view was beautiful and impressive. The accommodations were well worth the price, and the room was tastefully decorated and had everything I could need. I was able to easily access the internet with a laptop in my room. The parking lot felt safe and secure. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank TravelingBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,373 - 2,379 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2006

We just spent two nights at the Blue Horizon. It is right on Robson Street, which is a good location if you like upscale clothing stores. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and were able to receive a small AAA discount only on Sunday's stay.

The room had lots of windows which allowed for a great view. We were overlooking English Bay and could see part of the mountains, although they were somewhat blocked by other high rise hotels and condos. It was a hot weekend and our air-conditioning did not work properly the first night, so they moved us to a room across the hall. It still had great city views, but I'd definitely request a room looking over the bay if you have a choice. Also, because Robson St. is busy and noisy on the weekend nights with party goers, request a room on the 15th floor or above to avoid noise. We didn't have any problem on the 21st floor. I was a little disappointed that our room didn't have a refrigerator, but the room was clean and the hotel staff was polite.

Note that Robson is a long street, so plan on doing a lot of walking if you want to see it all. The hotel is towards the north end of the street. Granville (another main street) is a good walk from the hotel, as is Stanley Park, Gastown, etc. The city bus is a cheap alternative to walking. If we went back to Vancouver, I would choose to stay in another neighborhood to try something different. Also, I got a good tip from someone who used to be a resident of Vancouver. If you take a car and drive from place to place, make sure you park in a secure parking garage with an attendant or just leave your car in your hotel's parking garage. Do not park on the street or leave anything visible in your car, as theft is a big problem in the city.

Overall, the Blue Horizon is a good hotel for location if you want trendy shopping and restaurants. It is pricey for what it is, but the view is worth it!

Stayed: June 2006
12  Thank Jenniferigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We stayed in the Blue Horizon during our visit to Vancouver in July 2006. The hotel was excellent, we paid an extra £10 to get a view after reading previous reviews and it was well worth it. Because we were moving around we stayed twice in two weeks for 3 nights.

The location is perfect right in the centre of Robson Street with Stanley Park and English easy walking distance away.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were huge.

Excellent would definitley recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SianandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

A great location, super large rooms with terrific views - would recommend one of the higher floors - 14 and above. This was our second stay and would definitely use it again - all round good value.

Stayed: June 2006
6  Thank almara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

Blue horizon is a great place to stay...right on robson st which is where the action is..close walk to Stanley Park...the restaurants are good at the hotel, and the immediate area has great access to other solid restaurants..stayed for about 150 US Dollars..nice lobby...rooms are clean..

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank balderdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2006

Nice Hotel, big rooms, brilliant views. And a breakfast to die for. We would definetly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ncrangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

This was our second visit (see previous review, March 9, 2006.) We returned for our wedding in Stanley Park and booked 5 rooms plus a 1 bedroom suite, all on the 30th floor. Our suite featured a separate bedroom, two bathrooms and a large living room...perfect for hosting our guests during the events. Staying for three nights, here were 11 guests in our party and everyone enjoyed their stay. The rooms are clean and feature updated contemporary decor and free wired internet. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Every room is on a corner with windows on two walls and a balcony so each has views spanning almost 270 degrees. The "million-dollar-views", the location, the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms make this a prime choice with reasonable rates. We are in the airline industry, travel alot and can easily recommend the Blue Horizon as one of our favorite hotels.

Stayed: April 2006
21  Thank sdflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 92 in Vancouver
2,350 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $124 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing