We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Blue Horizon may be a tad hard to spot at first but it's there, trust me! You'll probably see the sign for their Abode restaurant first (which I had a chance to dine at - it's pretty solid food with a cool lounge or outdoor street patio...also, note that the hotel does not have room service).

The staff really seemed to go out of their way to help out with doors, luggage, elevators, checking in on me to make sure I had everything I needed and I was still alive (yes "for the safety of our guests, we will perform a room check between 4-5pm daily").

I love the fact that the shampoo and soap were in these big refillable containers and that the little bottles were only available upon request. I wish more hotels did this! And they have recycling - often hard to find in a hotel!

The location was great, right on Robson amidst the restaurants and shops, and a short walk to the harbour.

Can I mention the music in the lobby and elevators was really fun? There were a lot of 90s songs I hadn't heard in a while that made me smile...

Anyway the room was big and spacious with an awesome view and a balcony you could actually go out on! So the only beef I had really was the bed and the pillows. The bed was too hard and the pillows were too big and puffy for me. Which, you may be thinking, how does this lose them one whole "dot" in the rating system? Because really, the hotel is there for me to sleep. Everything else is gravy. And unfortunately, I didn't sleep well. My boyfriend didn't have a problem, but he's not the one writing the review. So 4 dots it is. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRA-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear SRA-2014,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are excited to read about your many wonderful experiences.

Also glad you enjoyed our ABODE restaurant-my favorite is the maple glazed sockeye salmon from our summer salmon festival.

When you plan your next trip to Vancouver, please contact me as I would appreciate being able to customize your bedding options.

I look forward welcoming you back.

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 2,678 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2014

We got a friendly greeting when arriving, and the staff led us to the elevator bank after a quick and efficient check-in. Our room (2 queen beds) had terrific views of downtown, with wrap-around windows occupying the entire wall. A patio door led to a private balcony with views on the field of condos marking downtown Vancouver. For a downtown mid-priced hotel, the room was spacious enough, the hotel's location is terrific, and we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear ipdaigle,

Thank you for taking the time to write such glowing review.

I am happy to hear you were very satisfied and found us well priced for what we have to offer, friendly staff, spacious room, beautiful views and terrific location.

We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed MANY times here never had a problem staff is good and there is lots to see and do close by.never have had trouble with parking or getting directions from the friendly staff I would recommend the Blue Horizon to all my friends

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear brad_e,

Thank you, I truly appreciate that you took the time to write your recommendation.

I am glad you found our great hotel with friendly staff and convenient locale.

We look forward welcoming you back.

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

The Hotel is well located close to shops with easy walking to the waterfront. We boarded a hop on hop off bus at the door to see the attractions and although the full circle is a little long it was very convenient. The staff were very attentive and friendly and went out of their way to help. The rooms are very large, each being on a corner with balcony and nice views and with a small kitchenette. The restaurant was able to cater for a special order without any problems.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Rodn64,

I appreciate your wonderful review regarding your great stay. Glad you enjoyed our large corner rooms with nice views.

I am happy to read such good comments of our staff and the extra service they provided in our ABODE restaurant.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back.

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Blue Horizon prior to our Alaska cruise! Perfect venue! Clean, classy with outstanding views-- we were on the 30th floor and had a panoramic view of Vancouver! Hotel is within walking distance of the subway from the airport and quick cab ride to Canada Place for the cruise ships. Rode bikes to Stanley Park and beyond and were able to catch shuttle bus to Capilano right outside the front door. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear Karen S,

Thank you for highly recommending us and writing your great review.

I am pleased to hear you found our location perfect, with outstanding views and close proximity to many different places.

Bikes have gained so much popularity, that we have teamed up with a reputable bike shop to provide guests with significant rental discounts. I enjoy biking the seawall and glad you enjoyed it too.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great location in the heart of the city. Large ' spacious room with excellent views.You can walk anywhere in town in about a half hour, so don't bother buying a shuttle ticket (for 45 dollars). It will take you twice as long.There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel that serves good food fast.Great time and good place.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatdownbonanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel is located in a busy street full of shops and restaurants, walking distance to Stanley Park and waterfront. Our room had a balcony, big windows with a great view. Good service, helpful nice people, both my thumbs up.

Room Tip: The building was once the highest one in Vancouver, however, you have to ask for rooms on higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 92 in Vancouver
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,585 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 92 in Vancouver
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $136 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is a boutique style hotel located on Robson Street, the hub of shopping and dining. LIVE like a local and experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture and the friendly community of the West End. ENJOY the proximity to Stanley Park, English Bay, BC Place, Rogers Arena, Convention Centre and Cruise Terminal and Davie Village. ALL are guest rooms are corner rooms with accessible balconies, many with million-dollar views of English bay, the mountains and the city of Vancouver. OUR amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, in-room safe, IPod docking station, charging station, cozy bath robes and much more. OUR 31st floor banquet facilities have the same million-dollar views. Our lobby restaurant ABODE offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. THE Blue Horizon has been awarded a 4-green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. THIS rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing