We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Located at Robson Street where all the hype is happening, this hotel is all value for money.
It is cheap compared to other hotels in Downtown Vancouver, but the service is still great.
I received a free room upgrade because the room that I originally booked was not available. Many restaurants are located nearby, too, making it easy to find food and stroll around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripl3thr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    983
    140
    29
    30
See reviews for
513
1,136
165
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smokey Point, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights after the Seattle to Vancouver bike ride. Great location, on the main strip with plenty of shops and dining. They even had a bike storage while we stayed. Great rooms for reasonable prices. Outgoing staff, friendly and courteous. Matthew went above and beyond to accommodate us. The bus line & tour busses stop in front of the hotel. Restaurant in the hotel has great food and picnic takeout's.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater MN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Blue Horizon Hotel a couple nights before leaving for an alaskan cruise. We found it to be very spacious, comfortable and conveniently located. It is in the heart of the downtown area within walking distance to all area attractions. Our room was generously sized, more than most any hotel I've stayed in. The mattress on our beds was a little harder than we liked, but covered in luxurious bedding. We really appreciated the comfortable beds after busy days trekking throughout the city. We also really appreciated the fact that the hotel was willing to store our luggage after checkout before we boarded the ship later in the day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Blue Horizon we everything we hoped for and more. The views from our 30th floor studio were spectacular, the location was excellent, and the staff was welcoming and helpful. What more could you ask for?

There is not too much to say here. First, we found Vancouver to be a wonderful city and we would have had a great visit regardless of our accommodations. But the views of English Harbor from the Blue Horizon put an exclamation point on our stay in "Van." Anytime we came back the hotel we would pop open the sliding glass door and take a few minutes (or much longer) taking in the city and harbor from above. Before I book anything for an extended stay I do my Trip Advisor due diligence, and many of the views from this hotel looked great. However, we specifically wanted the room with the corner view facing the harbor, and it did not disappoint. I think the room was 3003. If you are interested, ask about the queen studio with the view of English Harbor, they will know the one.

The room itself was not spectacular but had everything we needed. It was rather spacious with a comfortable no-frills bed. Coffee maker with pods was a nice convenient touch. A large desk if you need to do some work. Plenty of closet space and an average size, clean bathroom. The Wi-Fi worked well which is always so important. The balcony is a nice size but a little unnerving with a spindle metal railing on three sides. Just don't fall over and you'll be fine.

The Robson Street location was awesome—right in the thick of things. The hop-on hop-off bus picks up and drops off right in front of the hotel. There is a salesperson posted at the stop so you can buy your passes right there. The hotel is in walking distance from many restaurants, bars, and other attractions. Do walk down to the bike rental store and bike the Sea Wall and through the city. Biking Vancouver is such a fun experience and you really see a lot. Between the bus and the bike you will get a great feel for the city. A tip if you are interested in trying some BC oysters—within very short walking distance is a restaurant called The Coast that has buck-a-shuck oysters every day from 3-6. We went almost every day to try a new oyster. The Kusshi oysters were amazing, a real treat and a rarity on the East Coast.

There is so much to see and do in Vancouver and the Blue Horizon is a great place to call home during your stay. If (when) we return to BC we would certainly make a stop at the Blue Horizon for a few nights. Nothing like capping off a leisurely day in one of the most beautiful and friendly cities in the world with a sunset over the harbor. Great city, great hotel.

Room Tip: View from corner queen studio on 30th floor was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mass_bitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights precruise and loved it. The rate is great compared to a lot of the nearby hotels. Walked to a great bakery about 1 1/2 blocks away for breakfast. A Red Robin restaurant and a wings bar and grill were close, too. Lots of other restaurants were close, too. The hop-on-hop-off bus picked us up in front of the hotel. Just took a taxi to the cruise port which is fairly close. Took aerocar from the airport because it had a flat rate.

Room Tip: We just chose a standard room because it was cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsgrint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

In a great location, our room 2201 was large with a comfy king size bed. For the size of the room the bathrrooms are small though not muchroom to move. Gound the desk staff a bit unhelpful, our room bathroom stunk if cigarette smoke and we advise them three times that perhaps they could use some air freshnerorthe like but it never happened..one staffer suggested we spray some perfume. The ftness 'room' is pathetic, three machine stuck in a space next to the pool.

Room Tip: Good 24 hour bakery across the road, nice coffee and great baked goods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kath-lee0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonVancouver, Front Office Manager at Blue Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear kath-lee0810,

Thank you for your kind words on our comfy bed and great location.

For all our guests comfort we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, including guest room balconies.

We regret that the guest next to you choose to smoke. Our team take this matter very seriously and we regret if anyone tried to make light of the situation.

I can assure you that enjoyment of your stay is a top priority.

We look forward to having you back.

Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

we recently stayed at this hotel twice in 3 weeks (the start and end of our holiday) which is situated in the middle of downtown Vancouver, it is great for Shops, bars, restaurants and more, it is easy to get to from the airport, $7.50 pp by sky train to the water front station (15mins) with $7.00 taxi to the hotel, or $38 plus tip direct from airport to hotel (door to door) the hotel is very good ( try to get a room above the 17th floor for great views of the bay) we were allocated rooms lower down but asked if we could get a higher floor, and the staff accommodated us both times, the rooms are big with Ac, room service each day, friendly efficient staff, you wont be disappointed if you stay here

Room Tip: this hotel has 31 floors the higher the better for the views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grasaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing