We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Blue Horizon”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved the Blue Horizon”
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed two nights at the end of July before our cruise. We had a huge corner room with a little balcony. Beds were VERY comfortable, staff was friendly, small pool and hot tub were nice. Close to Stanley Park, the marina, and a bunch of bars/restaurants - the location was great. It's a great deal for the very expensive Vancouver! We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Great value; location near Stanley Park; large rooms.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    1,007
    147
    31
    31
See reviews for
531
1,173
174
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

My family & I only spent 1 night here but it was great,. No problems what so ever with checking in or out, and we arrived early. We had a room with 2 queen beds and it was a really good size room, everything we needed. We have 2 young children & there was plenty of room for them. Location was just awesome. Definately would come back here again.!!

  • Liked — Location & room size.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OZTravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Stayed at this hotel because of its awesome rating on TripAdvisor. It was as we expected! Great location, close to Stanley Park and shopping, easy to get to from Vancouver Airport. Room was spacious, clean, great view of English Bay from our window. Beds were comfy and bathroom had good amenities.

  • Liked — location and cost
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWearyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

After six days in the Blue Horizon, I did not want to leave. This is one of my favorite hotels ever. The rooms are very large and have balconies overlooking Vancouver. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I have been in Vancouver about 6 times, sometimes on conference, mostly vacation ( Whistler,Tofino,Okenagan etc..) and all but one of those times I spent at The Blue Horizon, the one time I didn't I regretted it.
No frills, seems to be a converted apartment (?) but wow, you are in the middle of Robson St, the views out to English Bay are incredible and you juct can't beat the price for location.
Will be staying again and splurge for the higher rooms but make sure you ask for a view of English Bay

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — no room service ( but go next door to the London pharmacy and all is there for you )
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey, NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed here as part of the Whistler Mountaineer tour. Hotel was a good location. Room was big but not the cleanest but it served its purpose. Bathoom was on the small side.
Took the shuttle from the airport for C13.75 per person but made a lot of stops. Took a cab back to the airport for C32.
Spent our day by taking a train to the waterfront, then a ferry to North Vancouver. Took a bus to Stanley Park and got on a free shuttle bus around the park. Ended the day by walking down to English Bay Beach and had a nice dinner at Milestones.

  • Liked — balcony
  • Disliked — found hairs in the shower from previous occupants.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank labern116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The highlight of our trip was staying at Blue Horizon. The service was excellent as well as the location. The staff were not overbearing and were very helpful. Excellent gelato place across the street and around the corner there is an excellent Chinese restaurant, Kirin. Do not go to the Whole Foods store, Capers. It is expensive and the staff are rude. Best coffee is next to the Fairmont Hotel - a cafe called Argentios. If I am ever in Vancouver again, I will stay at Blue Horizon. Very comfortable bed and excellent views from the room too!

  • Liked — View from the room and beds.
  • Disliked — No hot tea facilities.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sophisticato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#24 of 90 in Vancouver
2,157 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 90 in Vancouver
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#11 of 90 in Vancouver
1,474 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 90 in Vancouver
2,379 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#25 of 90 in Vancouver
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing