We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Robson Street”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel boasts that each room has a balcony and view. It delivers in spades. With your balcony door closed the rooms are very quiet and if you want to hear the street sounds, they are right there when you open the door. The room was clean, nice fridge, kettle and coffee maker along with a newer LCD TV. Bed was comfy with a range of pillows.

Maybe the only thing could knock them on was the thermostat still uses air pressure to turn the heat off and on and in our room was right above the bed. So when it cuts in you hear a very distinct click, that when sleeping seemed rather loud. That would be my only gripe with the entire place and so therefore consider it nit picking !

The rates are very good but they do track what is going on in Vancouver and if it is a busy concert weekend the rates do up, sometime dramatically. So check ahead and if you don't like the rate on the website, do call the front desk and try and book in that way.

There is an attached parking facility and you can pull into the covered entrance way to unload and get into the hotel. Very handy especially when it is raining.

There is attached restaurant called Abode and a pub called Shenanigans . Check out the reviews on it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the floors with the ice machines or at least stay on the South Side of those f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lunarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

When we visit Vancouver we stay at the Blue Horizon. It is so quiet, not overpriced and close to just about everything downtown. The service is friendly and very accommodating. And every room has a balcony with a fabulous view. I don't think we've stayed in every room yet but we're working on it.

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room. They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankeezgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a great location ... And the renos make it even better. Only thing is bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Bed amazing and pillows even better. Met friends in the cafe for breakfast. Cozy with a nice fireplace and great food and service.
Highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor so that u can get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel in the middle of downtown Vancouver. We booked this at what seemed like quite a low price for this area so were not sure what to expect. But we were very happy at the great location and a very large, modern room with all the amenities and a very comfortable bed. This seemed like an older hotel but had been very well updated (except for the bathtub which seemed like it was from the 1960's). Parking was a bit strange as we had to park and then take the stairs back to the lobby in order to get the elevator to our room. A good restaurant on the main floor and numerous other restaurants and shopping all around. Close to everything downtown and the hop-on-hop-off trolley stop was right outside, so a good way to get oriented to what there is to see and do in downtown Vancouver and further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learningtofly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After a recent stay at the Blue Horizon, I realized that we have stayed on and off at that hotel for almost 30 years!! It is probably our number one 'go to' hotel. This hotel underwent a renovation last February and although I miss the blue pearl granite that was its trademark feature for years, the updated decor is very nice and modern. Also love the new cafe bar just off the lobby. The reasons that the hotel has been a standout are the location--right in the heart of Robson street, the large rooms with balconies, the cleanliness, the easy and reasonable parking and the value. It is a simple, solid and tasteful hotel and I am so thankful it has withstood the test of time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishertrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for only one night before a cruise and found it to be a reasonably priced (for a downtown Vancouver hotel) stay in a very convenient neighborhood, with a bit of a view even from the back side facing the next street. Rooms were very clean, bright, comfortable, and large, with large windows on two sides. Noise was not an issue at all.

The on-site restaurant, Abode, offers a variety of large and small meals and our breakfast was delicious, especially the daily specials. For dinner the night before we chose from the myriad of restaurants of all ethnicities within walking distance. Two other major conveniences for us were the new BC liquor store a block away to buy the 2 bottles of wine we were allowed to carry onto the ship and a good-sized market/drug store 1/2 block away for last minute purchases of forgotten items.

Yes, the lobby, elevators, and hallways are small and there are only 8 rooms per floor. Front staff was personable and helpful and there was someone on duty to help with luggage and computer access if needed. But for the price, location, and comfort, it is a small gem in a very interesting city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondDiva60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October and had a wonderful room on the 28th floor with a fantastic view! With a corner room, we could see the city, Stanley Park, mountains, and water. There were some beautiful sunsets on two of the evenings.

The location is downtown amid lots of restaurants and shops. Yes, parking was a bit iffy, elevators and hallways a bit small, but we spent little time there. Our room was large with a mini fridge and very clean. Did I mention the spectacular views? Also, we took advantage of the hop-on/hop-off bus for two days and went all over the city.

This was our first visit to Vancouver and the Blue Horizon Hotel, but not our last - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. The views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarylandHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
2,293 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,757 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,612 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $138 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing