We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints - Good location and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
300 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“No complaints - Good location and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings and price and I was not disappointed. I had a 28 floor with view onto Robson Street and Stanley Park, however, because of the weather, it was mostly foggy or overcast. But I would still recommend high level floor. At night I kept the balcony door open as it was nice sleeping weather with the coastal breeze. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, but the style and upkeep a little dated, but it was not really a big deal. Did not have any issue with the speed of the elevator staying on the 28th floor this was not an issue. The free Wifi was great for iphone and ipad, the room had a small fridge which I used for bottle water to keep cold. The location was great as it was on Robson street, so you had a lot of shops and restaurants occupy your time and choose from. I found a bakery on the other side of the street corner that was open 24/7 for pastries. I arrived via the Pacific Coach Bus/BC Ferries, the bus stopped at Hotel Vancouver, so it was about 10-15 easy walk with suitec ase to the hotel. The hotel was easy to identify as it was a blue 30 story building from a distance. There was always 1-2 taxis in-front of the hotel, so upon departure, there was no issue getting a taxi to the Amtrak trainstation at 6am on rainy day, as a taxi was standing by out-front. Another positive for the hotel was the Trolley Bus and free bus to Capilano Bridge picks up in-front of the hotel and they have a guy standing by to sell you the tickets. You can also get to Grouse Mountain by taking the free Capilano Bridge bus, which I did - so you do not have to walk to Canada Place to get that free bus. Looks like they just added a cafe/bar and restaurant in the lobby as it appears to be new. I tried the cafe for coffee and pastry, used the bar to watch the Sunday night football game, and used the restaurant for convenience for late dinner, with each occasion, no complaints and not too bad. The hotel staff was a little slow, but they also always seemed to be busy with customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    982
    139
    29
    30
See reviews for
511
1,136
165
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent accommodation. Only 8 rooms per floor-all dual-aspect. Good downtown location with plenty restaurants in area. We stayed 2 nights and found the hotel quiet, relaxing, spotlessly clean, and with helpful staff-full marks to that young bellboy with the ear to ear smile.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hunter B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed here on four occasions now and have been happy each time. The location is excellent being right on Robson street meaning that you have an abundance of shops and restaurants on the doorstep and its only a few minutes walk to Stanley Park or Canada Place.

The rooms are huge and well appointed with everything you would expect to find in a good hotel and each one has a balcony. if you get a room on one of the upper floors you will have views to the sea which we did on this occasion.

The hotel restaurant is good and breakfasts are well prepared for an average price as are evening meals.

All in all a good choice for a stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel has been thoroughly updated and is situated on Robson St., one of Vancouver's most active street for shopping, restaurants and simply people watching. Hotel has an excellent garage that allows visitors to park the car and take public transportation everywhere. Excellent bistro for breakfast and late night coffee and or dessert. Very clean hotel with great views on the upper floors. All rooms have balconies. Simply good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from Robson st. as it will be the most quiet. Recommend higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel, on check in we were upgraded from a superior room to a suite, which was a nice surprise. Courteous and efficient check in staff. Views from the room over Vancouver were excellent. Room style is a bit dated but everything is clean and the bed very comfortable. Best part about this hotel is the location right on Robson Street, as soon as you step out there are great eating options everywhere, and the street is fairly busy late into the night. No more than a 10 minute walk to the City Centre skytrain station, and easy walking distance to all the main streets in West End. Would definitely stay here again, the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at Vancouver International airport and took a taxi to this hotel which is in the downtown area of Vancouver. The taxis are lined up outside the arrivals hall and all are supervised and run on meters. The journey took about 45 minutes. Upon arrival our booking in went quickly and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room - #405 - was VERY big and spacious, in fact I think it was the largest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Although we were situated opposite the lifts we never heard them working even at night. The room was at the front of the hotel so we overlooked the main road - again, the traffic never presented a problem. The furniture, bed & bedding, bathroom & towels etc were all spotlessly clean and in good order. There was good cupboard and drawer space as well as a kettle, coffee/tea/milk, also an ironing board and iron and a hairdryer.
The only complaint we had was that the air conditioner, which was next to the window, was very loud and in the end we switched it off and opened the windows. At first we toyed with the idea of trying to change rooms, but in the end found that the AC wasn't really necessary as the weather in Vancouver was pleasantly warm and not really hot.
The first morning we ate a late brunch at the hotel's restaurant, 'The Abode', which cost $11 Canadian dollars pp. A little expensive but convenient. The HOHO trolley and bus both stop at the front entrance to the hotel where you can also purchase tickets from their agent. There are two routes offered which, together, take you over the whole city. We found the 2 day ticket was well worth the money.
The hotel is wonderfully central to museums, restaurants, cafes and shops. Among other visits don't miss Stanley Park, the Gastown area (eat in the Original Spaghetti House - excellent value), the market on Granville Island (bus #50), and Capalino suspension bridge (free bus there and back from Canada Place). As we didn't have a car we walked a great deal and also quickly found our way around the city by bus and metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grania1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was recommended this hotel and was extremely pleased with its location and quality. Arriving at 8am after an overnight flight, we were crossing our fingers that our room would be available so we could freshen up before heading out to explore this great city. We were in luck - our room was available. It was spacious, clean and had a fabulous view. It is right in the heart of the city and walking distance to "everything". Would highly recommend this hotel.
(Travelled Sep 2011)

Room Tip: Always let them know what time your flight arrives, it might help with getting allocated a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazQ1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing