We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort in the centre of downtown Vancouver”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Location is the key strength of this hotel, directly on the main shopping street of Vancouver. My room was also very spacious and comfortable, on the 16th floor and well protected from the noise of busy Robson street. Don't expect charm or conviviality, the Blue Horizon is just a great base to explore Vancouver from.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirrah44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved this hotel! The location was great and we loved the views from our huge corner room. The only down side was getting our luggage from the garage to the lobby -- no elevator! The restaurant was just ok, but there are lots of nearby choices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRH200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Large clean rooms though the halls are very close. The staff was extremely helpful and did store our lugage before the cruise. It is very close to Canada Place and is a great place to stop before or after a cruise. The tour buses go right by the place and the sea wall is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 195flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 3 day stay at the Blue Horizon. We had a nice, large room on the 27th floor for our two teens and ourselves. The queen beds, and clean, oversize room, plus the view, large windows, balcony and perfect downtown location of the hotel made it an excellent choice. To top it off, the price was fantastic. Definitely spring for the supreme room price which, at least in our case, resulted in the fantastic view, one of the best of anywhere we've ever stayed. The room also had a fridge and safe, both of which were very useful. Several train stops are within a ~10-15 minute walk.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Wi-fi was free, and there is a nice restaurant downstairs. The fantastic, 24x7 Breka bakery is a block away and highly recommended, and tons of shopping/restaurants nearby on/near Robson.

The staff cheerfully stored our bags on checkout day. Minor downsides -- limited amenities (no private business center, although there are PC's nearby, and the lobby is small and basic). While the room was quite large, the bathroom itself is pretty small and basic.

We'd definitely recommend the Blue Horizon if location, price, a potentially very nice view, friendly staff and a clean/large room is what you are looking for. If you are looking for a luxury resort-kind of place with tons of amenities, away from the downtown hustle/bustle,, and if price is no object, look perhaps elsewhere such as the two waterfront Fairmont hotels .

Room Tip: Pick a supreme-priced room and request a high room with a view (both in writing and call ahead)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Situated on busy Robson this hotel is conveniently located for just about everywhere. Stanley Pk, Gastown and Granville Island and the English Bay waterfront are all within easy reach. Rooms are spacious with all the expected amenities of this type of hotel.Most rooms are corner locations and have almost 180 degree views. Service in the restaurant and bar was excellent. The one minor disappointment is the rather small pool.

Room Tip: try a room on the higher floors to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The excellent location on Robson is the best thing about this place. It's right in the thick of things and good for walking.
The hotel itself, the rooms & service, are certainly above average, but well short of five stars in my opinion. A bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdeppman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Blue Horizon was recommended to us by a friend who is a frequent traveller.
We were on the 25th floor with a great view of English Bay and downtown.
The room was surprisingly large, a quarter of the room had windows.
The bed and bedding were very comfortable.
The balcony was small but adequate, we were puzzled as to why there were no chairs....we has to carry out the chair and ottoman from our room to sit and enjoyed view.
The bathroom was small and dated, with an odd sliding door.
Location was fabulous, right in the heart of Robson.
Strongly recommend the restaurant, best americano I have ever had. Delicious eggs benedict.
Service was ver good, props to Mathew in the lobby.
Overall, if you are looking for good value, not overly modern - this is your hotel.

Room Tip: Request a view of English Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,646 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,629 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $136 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing