We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel in Vancouver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Central location, value for money and service. We came early in the morning after a long trip by train from Jasper and there was no issues in giving us our room straight away !!! It doesn't happen in many hotels. Great views over the city.

Room Tip: With rooms on the western side you can see the sunset over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    929
    132
    29
    30
See reviews for
484
1,062
154
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IAH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at 29th floor in one of the supreme rooms. The views are fantastic. We had a great view of English bay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but little compact.
The hotel is located at a good location on Robson, very close to Stanley park.
The room had coffee maker, microfridge, iron & board, decent toiletries but no microwave.
The bed was very comfortable. Free WiFi worked great even in the 29th floor.
Though I liked the stay, the hotel did not feel like an upscale esp. the pool and gym area.
It looked little rundown in certain areas. It seems like they recently renovated the hotel and it is visible in certain areas but it's not too bad. Bathroom is just average.

Parking for the hotel is a shared public parking garage. That means even if you paid for your parking you may not get a spot because I didn't see any reserved parking for hotel guests esp. for such a huge hotel. But I didn't have problem finding a spot close to entrance. Parking charge was around $21/night including taxes, which is reasonable for the location.
They have only 3 elevators. All the rooms are accessed via elevator unless you want to take industrial looking stairs. Those elevators are one of the slowest and crowded I've ever seen in a hotel.

Hotel lobby was very tiny and the staffs were ok but felt disconnected. They just acted as if they are robots. No personal greetings or smile but nothing to complain.

Overall I liked the hotel and would stay here again esp. for those great views.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone (who are not afraid of heights).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyHighTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunner
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013, for 4 nights during a recent trip to Vancouver. The location is excellent, the room was not huge, but certainly comfortable, well furnished, with a small balcony and an excellent view of both the mountains and English Bay. We had asked for a room with a view and were given the 29th floor. Check in was easy and efficient, staff were most helpful and it seemed the entire place had been recently updated. A great place to stay for a reasonable price!!

Room Tip: I think all queen rooms are corner units, and unless you need more room- this was an excellent choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank north-lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usakos, Namibia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for one night after a cruise. We arrived at 9:45 AM and they had our room ready! When I booked I asked for the highest available room. That was a few months ago. When I got here they had a top floor room available for me. Internet was great. Great area. Great staff. We planned to do more in Vancouver in the evening but with the view and balcony we had we came back and watched the sunset and just chilled. It was neat to listen to the city at night but not be bothered by the smog of cars, etc.

Price was great too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClutchIsEverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here in two rooms (A two-queen for my family of three, and a king for my in-laws). As has been said, the rooms all have a "corner" view. Each floor only has 8 rooms.

The rooms themselves have been updated recently. The decor in the bedrooms is nothing special, but what you'd expect in a modern boutiquey hotel. The bathroom also had been updated, but the bathtub/shower retained its original color - which was not in keeping with the rest of the decor...

The staff was excellent. Although the hotel was sold out on the night of our stay and very busy, the check-in staff was very helpful as was the bellman, not only with our bags but also with good recommendations for restaurants etc.

Lobby has a nice modern/urban feel and tastefully done. Wine bar as well as restaurant are in lobby, although we elected to walk to one of the many nearby restaurants and bars instead.

This will be my go-to hotel for my next visit to Vancouver..

Room Tip: Higher floors are worth the price if you want a view. Anything above 20th or so will get you above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucerasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is in a great position in Robson Street. Ideally placed for walking about the city, we even walked to and from our cruise liner ,with our luggage from here. Although we didn't use them we noted that the hop on hop off bus stopped here.
It is very well placed for shopping.
The rooms were modern , large and very well kept. It's not ritzy or particularly flash but just a really comfortable room for the traveller.
The beds were comfortable and the room quiet at night time. The staff were very nice and very genuine in their conversations and help.
I would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in a corner room with great view of the ocean. I love the fact that the hotel has a recycling bin in the rooms, this is a plus for me. The room was great, the bathroom was a little small but that was okay. The location was awesome. Walk out out of the hotel and there you find shops and restaurants at almost every direction. The staffs were very friendly. The shower has a soap/gel dispenser in order to avoid using excessive plastic bottles( I love that) There was a trash bin for recycle and one for normal trash( two thumbs up).

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the best. You get a great view of your surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
#21 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,162 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 95 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 3,192 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#17 of 95 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing