We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Where we stay for the Vancouver Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where we stay for the Vancouver Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Every year, I research other hotels in Vancouver for the Marathon, and I keep coming back to the Blue Horizon. I do love the Sylvia Hotel and love the west end, but find it too far when I'm limping back from the marathon. The Blue Horizon is the right distance away, and has the right amenities for a marathoner who doesn't want to pay so much.

One note: pay a few bucks extra for a "superior" room. All that really means is that it's on one of the higher floors. This really pays off when you have to go to bed early on Saturday night before the race, since Robson Street can get quite loud, especially if the Canucks just won. And there is always a Canucks game the night before the race.

Room Tip: pay for an upper level room...reduce the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantaloupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    905
    131
    29
    30
See reviews for
461
1,025
149
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

So many good things have been said already about the location, service, views, generous room size (though not bathroom size), no need to repeat all that. The TV quality was not the best on many channels and PPV looked fuzzy on menus, did not feel tempted to try it. No decaf coffee in room - why not? Beds were super comfortable. Balconies you can actually walk out onto (although do not even think about if you are scared of heights!). Wifi was pretty fast while we were there, not sure how overall busy they were mind you. Everything feels solid, as would be expected in an older but well updated establishment. Low street noise (from 23rd floor at least). Hop on-hop off city tour trolley stops right outside, plus Capilano shuttle too. Enough said, I would definitely have it high on my list for next time; unless you are wedded to a particular chain you should too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gashead99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times, usually when we come to Vancouver for a special event/show/shopping trip.
The location is great, on Robson Street, within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. It was an easy 15 minute walk to the Aquarium in Stanley Park.
The rates are reasonable and the staff friendly.
The pool is quite small and not very deep, basically okay for doing lengths only. My son and another guest at the hotel scraped themselves on the bottom of the pool. I was very disappointed this time that the sauna wasn't working. After leaving the pool and taking the elevator, we found that both of our card keys weren't working so had to take the elevator back down to the front desk which was a bit of an inconvenience.
We had a room on the 28th floor with a great view. The bathrooms are quite small with older style tubs. These corner rooms are quite spacious with two queen beds, a flat screen TV, desk, small fridge and coffee maker.
I wish I could remember the name of the Japanese Restaurant that we ate at....coming out of the hotel turn left down about a block, cross to the right at the lights and on a corner upstairs, a particularly good meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkerTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Visited just before Christmas 2012 for two nights, stayed on the 25th floor. I don't like heights but the view was amazing. Very clean, updated fixtures, flat screen TV, comfortable beds. The room was a bit warm and the thermostat didn't seem to control the temperature so I just opened the window slightly. The location is right on Robson St. where you can walk to restaurants, clothing stores, and drug stores in seconds. Parking was $15 extra per day with in/out privileges. Stairways to parking were a bit confusing but this is a minor quibble. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Vilbel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012. The Blue Horizon Hotel is a really good spot for city breaks. Right on Robson St. you are in walking distance to Coal harbour, Canada Place, Gastown and the Shopping area Robson St. of course. Our room was on 23rd floor with a great city view. 2 Queen beds and plenty room for 2 big travel bags were very comfortable. Room and bathroom were tidy and nothing to grumble. For breakfast the Inlets Bistro is a really good choice, also for dinner.
Friendly staff both in Hotel and in the Restaurant. We would stay here again and recommend it to good friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShirleySheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Blue Horizon Hotel from 9-16th Dec recently. After a sudden check-in/check-out at a dodgy hotel on Davie, I phoned the Blue Horizon around midnight in distress. To my immediate relief, Paul Banis the manager on duty was helpful, sympathetic and found me a superior room on the 16th floor at a great rate. Paul was even kind enough to loan me a computer mouse from the front desk for my laptop that night! Paul simply went beyond his duty and I cannot thank him enough.

Service - Paul and the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout my stay, pointing out the many great tourist landmarks in Vancouver, places to eat and took care of bookings for the Snowbus to Whistler etc.

Value - very satisfied with my room rate and the free wifi on my laptop and phone was a bonus.

Sleep quality - my bed was very comfortable and street level noise not an issue on the 16th floor. Could not even hear my neighbours.

Cleanliness - the hotel feels brand new. The housekeeping ladies were attentive and friendly all round. Even when I used the "do not disturb sign", they were courteous enough to telephone me promising fresh towels etc.

Location - simply cannot beat this location! Located in heart of Vancouver city on Robson St with many great Japanese, Korean and Malaysian restaurants nearby. Lived off Japanese and crepes for a week! Great clothing and fashion shops, drug store, grocery and even cinema for The Hobbit - all within safe and easy walking distance from hotel. Locals very friendly.

Room - I stayed in a superior room with two queen beds. From the well presented reception, waterfall in lobby to my room, the hotel is beautifully furnished and maintained. Lifts always seemed to hover on 16th floor, so I was never delayed. My room was spacious with all modern conveniences and views over Robson St were spectacular at night from my balcony.

In all, I would highly recommend the Blue Horizon for your next stay in Vancouver (the world's most liveable city rivalled only by Melbourne). Solo, lovers and family friendly!

Room Tip: Suggest staying around middle floors. All rooms are corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Blue Horizon on a business/pleasure trip to Vancouver. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The Front Desk staff were very professional and friendly. The room was large with very comfortable beds and a great view of the city. This hotel is centrally located and is easily walking distance from all the best shopping and dining that Vancouver has to offer.

Room Tip: Above the 12th floor you get a view for a few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northern_Miner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel
#20 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#16 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#14 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing