We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in June 2012, great location, very helpful, friendly staff and we just so loved our room. Plenty of room, nicely set out, very pleasing colours no negatives for our stay here at all, thumbs up all round

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,041
    150
    32
    32
See reviews for
556
1,216
179
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We picked the Blue Horizon off a hotel website when planning a quick couple of nights touring Vancouver at the end of a cruise. What a deal! While I will NOT rave about the front desk staff -- we were kept waiting several times because they were both understaffed and ill-trained -- I WILL RAVE about value, location and views. The floors are small and every room is a corner room. They are spacious buy most urban standards and are both comfortable and functional, if not slightly short of luxurious (but, hey, you did NOT pay a 4 start rate for this hotel!). Robson is the heart of everything -- we caught the trolley at the front door and were immediately in high tourist mode. We even walked up from the cruise terminal with our roller boards -- it was a delightful way to see this stunning City's architecture. Our breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was excellent and we felt like we were central to everything to see. And, as the sun went down (and the sun came up), our view of the bay was one of the highlights of our stay in Vancouver.

Room Tip: If you face Robson you won't have another high rise looking into your room, but you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only spent one night at the Blue Horizon so our experience is based on a very short time span. We arrived late and left for our cruise around 10 a.m. The hotel is very basic and I wouldn't want to stay here for any length of time.
We had stayed here in 2005 and it seemed much nicer then. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Blue Horizon is an extremely tall tower in the center of Vancouver. Rooms on the upper floors provide spectacular views out over the glorious setting of this city. Vancouver's downtown is lively and inviting. The Blue Horizon is within easy walk of almost all of the city's attractions, including Canada Place and Granville Island. And try a walk to the Sunset Beach area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Based on tripadvisor reviews we expected a fantastically located, but noisy, slightly grubby room, in a poorly managed establishment, with appallingly long waits for the lifts. We found none of this.
1) The location: As everyone else has said the location is great – you are right in the middle of Robson St. with trams running up and down and accessible buses to English Bay, waterfront etc..
2) The noise: We were aware of the risks of road noise but as I always travel with ear plugs didn't notice this. We were on the 14th floor and the views are lovely. You look out onto other buildings but you get glimpses of the mountains and ocean – this isn’t a perfect unobstructed view, but it makes you appreciate Vancouverism building style (i.e. allowing these lines of vision through the city).
3) The rooms: The rooms themselves were: clean, spacious with everything we needed: 2 large beds, a TV with movies, a kettle and fridge.
4) The management: There is a tiny check-in desk/reception area, and the staff are often busy, but you can always go back at another time when they are less busy. There are also great tourist offices in Vancouver (one near waterfront station – where you can get all the information you would ever need about things to do in Vancouver and how to get around).
5) The lift: In the 4 days we stayed there I don't remember waiting longer than about 40-50 seconds for a lift. This really was not an issue.
I would definitely stay here again, and have in fact already recommended it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After reading early reviews on this hotel I didn't expect much. We were delighted to find it was very pleasant. Our room had 2 queen beds and a beautiful view. It was on a high floor away from the lifts and was very quiet and clean. Staff were very welcoming and our room was available upon our early arrival. We made a point of thanking the staff for such a terrific room. The facilities within the room were spacious.
The porter kindly grabbed a taxi to the airport for us at a set fee and checkout was a breeze. We had charged back dinner and breakfast from the lobby restaurant. Nothing was a problem for the staff.
Our only regret was not to be staying longer in this terrifically located hotel. Oh did I say it had fast free wifi.

Room Tip: Be polite and you will be rewarded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Situated on Robson Street, this hotel is close to shopping, dining and everything else Vancouver has to offer. It has been fully renovated within the past couple of years and is even better now. The conference facilities are almost unbeatable .. on the 31st floor with sweeping views of the entire area.

All rooms have balconies, heavy windows so you hear nothing from the street below, in room fridge and coffee makers and are much larger than most hotel rooms, but reasonably priced. The Inlets Bistro has a good selection of fresh food and good, friendly service. Most of the staff have been there for years.

There is a pool at fitness facility on site, restaurants of almost any kind you could wish for within a couple of blocks and an Aveda spa directly across the street. The Trolley tours which are hop on - hop off leave from the front door making it very convenient if you want a very thorough tour of Stanley Park, China town and other nearby areas of this beautiful city. It is about a ten minute walk down to the water taxi where you can hop over to Granville Island Market after a walk along the beach area.

There is covered parking connected to the building.

Room Tip: The rating for room service is due to the fact that you can order, but not have it delivered to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#25 of 92 in Vancouver
2,216 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,579 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,455 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing