We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sheffield
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Large high rise hotel , with views of other high rise apartments and offices with glimpses of the parks and waterfront

Very central location, walk out of the main door straight onto a busy shopping street in vancouver, close to everything and within 10mins walk to shore/docks

we had a large corner suite , well equiped , soft robes, balcony and very clean

request higher floor to avoid constant road noise, plenty of parking but charged, decent hotel but not the cheapest

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    987
    141
    29
    30
See reviews for
517
1,141
167
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Friendly helpful staff.
Great large room with fabulous views of Robson Street and across bay.
Very quiet with no noticeable city noise
Breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel were good.
Lovely place to finish off our visit to Canada.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Quite a pleasant stay overall, the room was clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful.
The upsides: great location on Robson St, the room was quite spacious, beds are super comfy, good views from the balcony.
The downsides: the bathroom is quite small, there is no wifi and the internet connection is slow, breakfast is not included, tax was not included in the cost when booking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahasseee, FL, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The location and rooms and service are satisfactory...

However one occurrence shattered my positive impression,

My colleague was stuck in an elevator for one hour until the maintenance team of the company

that provides technical support for the hotel elevators arrived to rescue her.

The sales manager of the hotel maintained that this is a rare occurrence and said this is the modus - operandi in Canada.

Now we are scared to use the elevator in the 24 floors building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I really liked this hotel! Location was as central as it could be, the room was large and the view beautiful in two directions from inside and from the rather large balcony (that all rooms have!). The drawback was that wifi was not wifi, but rather a fairly unstable cable connection. Restaurant was ok, but expensive, but from the location you could easily find another alternative for eating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Had 2 king rooms on 23rd floor pre-cruise. Spacious rooms, spotlessly clean with small frig, work area and comfy chair. Large flat screen TV. We faced Coal Harbor (about a 3-block walk); buildings largely block the waterfront but we could see a little of Stanley Park/harbor, and the city view was fantastic. We found the king bed very comfortable. Small balcony - just enough to stand and gaze. Very little city noise at night. Towels were large and fluffy. Wired in-room Internet was fast and reliable. In-laws had ice machine outside their door (2308), which they actually liked but be warned; they're on floors 7, 16, 23, 26 and 29. Restaurant quality and service both good; we had breakfast there both mornings. Prices comparable to other places nearby. Very friendly staff. Shenanigans, the bar next door, sells beer, wine and hard cider for off-premise consumption until 11pm. Large liquor store in the next block, also a Scotia Bank with an ATM next door which is where we got Canadian cash. Loads of restaurants nearby. Vancouver Trolley picks up outside, as does a free shuttle to Grouse Mountain. Pool/jacuzzi area is tiny and smelled strongly of chlorine - that and the small, slow elevators are really the only negatives. This was a great hotel for the price, and the location is excellent for touring or pre/post cruise. We were very satisfied with the Blue Horizon.

Room Tip: The 01 and 08 rooms face Coal Harbor. Ice machines on floors 7,16,23,26,29 outside 01 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpecialK01030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in Vancouver for two nights and had a great time. Our room was huge and in really good condition. It had a lovely balcony (we were on the 20th floor) with amazing views of the city. The staff were polite and helpful and we would definitely stay here again - it's in a great location for town, shopping, sightseeing and going out in the evenings. The only small drawback was the size of the pool and gym. If you're desperate to work out, then they will do, but you're probably better off going for a run along the beautiful water front!

Room Tip: As for a corner room on a high floor. All rooms have balconies you can sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
#23 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: 1225 Robson St | Downtown, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#35 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Horizon is located in the center of Robson Street, the pulse of Vancouver. Experience the heartbeat of Robson Street's culture with its premier shopping, celebrated eateries and great cafes. Walk to Stanley Park, go around the Sea wall, stroll to English Bay or amble up and down Robson Street taking in all the restaurants and shops. You will love our convenient access to BC Place, Rogers arena, Gas town, Chinatown, Yaletown, Davie village, Convention center and the Cruise terminal. Taxis and transit is right out our front door. Comfort and convenience is at your doorstep. Our welcoming and spacious rooms are all corner rooms with balconies, many featuring million dollar views of English Bay, Stanley Park, the North Shore mountains and the city of Vancouver. The rooms are fresh and modern, with bold colors and sleek lines. Adding to your comfort, some of our amenities include free Wi-Fi, Keurig coffee makers, kettle, large in- room safe, IPod docking station, cozy bath robes and much more. Our 31st floor banquet and meeting facilities have the same million dollar views. Enjoy dining in our ABODE Restaurant that offers fresh local cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our ABODE Restaurant is partnered with the Vancouver Aquarium's Ocean Wise conservation program which makes it easy for you to make sustainable seafood choices that ensure the health of our oceans for generations to come. Our summer sidewalk patio is a great place to relax and enjoy people watching on Robson. A relaxing dip in our indoor lap pool, a water massage in the Jacuzzi or a rejuvenating sauna can give you that start in the morning or wind down at the end of the day. The Blue Horizon cares about the environment and are proud to be awarded a 4 green key eco-rating by the Hotel association of Canada. This rating is awarded to a hotel for its sustainable practices such as energy conservation, water conservation, solid waste management, environmental management and much more. Welcome to your relaxing haven at the Blue Horizon with our heartfelt smiles and genuine hospitality. Welcome to your Vancouver home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Vancouver
Blue Horizon Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing