We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveler rating
649
598
197
45
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
598
197
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult storebest westernsdowntown vancouverentertainment districtking suiteseparate bedroomunderground parkinghomeless peoplestay there againyale townwithin walking distancesofa bedconvenient locationgreat roomfront desk staffvery nice hotelroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2017

Staff were beyond helpful. The Room was clean and comfortable. The Hotel well situated downtown and Parking upon arrival was easy. The Staff upgraded our room as well. :) Staff assisted with provided directions to local amenities.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank katielF1196CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Good Day Katie,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your 5 out of 5 rating.
We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017

This hotel does not recognize loyalty members (no welcome gift or upgrade or verbal "thank you") but the rooms are clean and adequate. The neighbourhood is a little "sketchy" especially at night - we had to walk through a rough area on Granville to come back from the theatre as the street closes down on Saturday nights (for the bar crowd) - taking a bus wasn't an option. However, other than Saturday nights, taking a bus is very handy with the stop being less than a block away.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Good Day Heather,
Thank you for sharing your review. We are very pleased to have been your downtown hotel of choice.Being in the heart of downtown there is a certain level of urban activity that takes place. We are however, commended for our proximity to the city’s attractions, restaurants and public transportation. Thank you for your brand loyalty to Best Western...this is greatly appreciated and as for our staff not recognizing this, our sincere apologies. Our staff can see who are and who are not Best Western rewards members and moreover can see what elite level status of membership each Best Western member is. Complimentary upgrades are given but only based upon availability. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.
We will certainly share you feedback with our team.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

If you have a concert to go to or just want to be close to granville sites, then this is a decent hotel.
Our room was very spacious. Two double beds, a separate lounging space with a sofa. A balcony overlooking Granville street and two TVs. Great view! And considering we were on Granville it was relatively quiet too.
It was very clean, bathroom was well stocked, coffee was included.
The two problems I had were that our fridge did not work, at all, and normally I would ask for assistance but we went to a concert and were hoping to enjoy some beverages when we got in but we didn’t know it was broken. So when we came back we had warm beer waiting for us.

Also, the concierge upon check in was very unfriendly. I am used to better service at Vancouver hotels. He never smiled, seemed annoyed when I asked about the parking options and wasn’t helpful at all.

This hotel is not a delightful getaway. It is a clean and convenient place to stay when you need a bed close to the action. Do not expect any bells or whistles....or at least don’t expect them to work.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Luvmonkey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Best Western PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room. Our sincere apologies regarding the refrigerator in your room. If we would have know we definitely would have made sure you had one that would work. Checking the temperature of the fridge is something our Room Attendants check for when cleaning rooms and if it is not cool they do inform maintenance. Same thing for the freezer sections. If there is a build up of ice, our Room Attendants would inform our Maintenance department that it would need defrosting. So either we missed it or it stopped working after the room was services. Either way we do apologize. In regards to our concierge being unfriendly, this is very uncharacteristic of our staff but we definitely will address this as we pride ourselves on our customer service. We always try to deliver our hotel promise, with excellent guest service. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked or dislike about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We stayed at this hotel to visit friends in Vancouver. Overall I was disappointed with a few things. The positives were the size of the room, being pet-friendly, having a fridge in the room, location, and having a balcony. The downsides were the dated decor, dungy/dark appearance, and overall seeming a bit unclean (like the bedspreads, carpet were disgusting). We additionally called about pet fees and were told $20 flat for our 2 dogs, but upon arrival were told it was $20 each and then signed a contract for $20/each. Our bill was $21 each, which is only $1 more each (but $42 total instead of the initial $20 I was quoted) so I obviously would not say anything but it just seems poor form- I mean why even sign something at that point if they are just going to add extra dollars here and there. The parking was quoted at $16 and then our bill had another $5 in "parking tax"- just say the parking is $20! I think this hotel is budget-range quality and would have been happy if it cost $100 ish per night but given that our final bill was well over $200 per night it was no where near worth it. Overall, this hotel is tired and I wish I had paid a bit more to stay somewhere nicer. Lastly, they have sent me over 6 emails in the 5 days since check out, mostly asking for reviews, and I do not think it is appropriate to spam/harass guests after their stay- I certainly did not intend to give this hotel email privileges at any point, so they should make sure their process for this is transparent as well.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Good Day Ms Carmen G,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to see you express disappointment with your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us. We regret to read that incorrect information was given to you. We have since them passed on your feedback with our staff. We also have made sure all are on the same page regarding fees in regards to pets. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked or disliked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting friends en route from a holiday on Vancouver island back to Calgary. We chose this hotel due to a reasonable price point, location, and being "pet friendly." The hotel room was a reasonable size and staff were nice. The hotel room itself was very tired, with an old/dungy appearance and very dated decor. I was disappointed with the reservation/check-out process given that I specifically called to check on pet fees and was told $20 per night flat rate for both pets. When I checked in I was told that the fee was actually $20 per pet, which we were already there at that point. I signed something that clearly said $20 per pet and then on check out was charged $21 per pet. I'm not going to call to have $2 refunded, but $42 is different than the $20 I was initially quoted, and it just seems to be poor organization quote something over then phone and then to say something different, and then to have me sign something and charge a different price. The parking was also quoted at $16 but then had additional $4/5 in "parking tax"- why not just specify that the parking costs $20. Overall, the costs seemed misleading. I would have been happy with this hotel paying close to $100 per night (+pet fees) but was disappointed after having to pay over $200/night because it's just not worth that price. I would have rather same somewhere nicer/more expensive where it was actually worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carmen Geneviev... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Good Day Ms Carmen Geneviev,
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to see you express disappointment with your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us. We regret to read that incorrect information was given to you. We have since them passed on your feedback with our staff. We also have made sure all are on the same page regarding fees in regards to pets. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked or disliked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews