We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location, good service”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Friendly service and check in went smoothly.

Room - if you're not a smoker, be sure to ask for a non smoking floor. I think Floor 9 is smoking.
We were in a suite as I was working part of the day. Was on the 12th floor and room/balcony were facing the city and Granville which was perfect when working at the desk. Perfect size for a small family as well or if you're there for work or simply enjoy a spacious room.There is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker (complimentary coffee given). Bathroom was older but clean.

Location - a few blocks from a sky train stop (inbox and I can always look it up). We took the sky train from the airport to this station and because we had luggage and it was raining, it was a $5 cab ride to the hotel.

This hotel is walking distance (10-30 min) to Stanley Park, Robson Street (shopping/restaurants), Yaletown (lots of restaurants), etc.

The hop and off bus also has a stop right in front of this hotel.

Room Service Restaurant: Edge restaurant is attached to it. We ate breakfast there, which was reasonably priced. Tasted good too. We also ate lunch there - fish and chips, grilled cheese and chicken sandwich. All were delicious.

Any questions, please feel free to inbox me.

Room Tip: 12th floor has nice views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff, comfortable spacious suites and wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer.


We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Edge Social Grille & Lounge. We will pass on your positive comments to the team.

We are often commended for our great location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions. It is great to hear that you had time to explore our city during your time here.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your positive experience.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    491
    164
    35
    27
See reviews for
325
423
76
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location, we had a quiet room on the 12th floor overlooking a nice park at the rear (front could be noisy), the Hop on/off bus stopped outside, which has a very good tour of Vancouver City. The suite was very spacious with a balcony, serviced daily, although the lifts were slow to arrive when called. Nice restaurant & outside garden courtyard dining area (pricy compared to some close by Bar/restaurants ) Thankfully no dogs allowed in the Hotel or garden restaurant. It is in an area of Theatres & Nightclubs with some different looking characters ( but it takes all kinds to make the world go round I guess ) Walking distance to good shopping & sightseeing areas.
The front desk staff & concierge were all polite & helpful as were all the staff we encountered at the Hotel. We would stay there again & recommend it to all.
One minor hiccup -- we missed out on the Best Western points accrual due to not booking direct but through Hotel.com
The FREE WIFI was a real bonus being able to Skype our family in NZ frequently without drop-offs
I researched & booked on-line & asked for a non-smoking room away from any noisy area, which we received & as we arrived early from a cruise they let us have the room at 11.30am instead of 2.00pm also had a late check-out, great accommodating service.
Thank you Best Western & Staff for a pleasant 4 day stay.

Room Tip: 10th Floor up on rear of Hotel its quieter & looks out to a park, the windows have recently been...
See more room tips
Green Features: Good environmentally friendly practices employed here.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff, comfortable spacious suites and wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer.

It is gratifying to read feedback such as yours. We strive to be a hotel, that understands guest’s needs better than anyone else in our industry. It brings us great satisfaction to see how well our team has delivered our hotel promise, with excellent guest service.
We are often commended for our great location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions. It is great to hear that you had time to explore our city during your time here.
We apologize that you were not informed by your booking agent, that third party bookings are not qualifying stays to receive points. We encourage you to contact the hotel directly or contact the Best Western hotline for your future stays.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your positive experience.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Look no further if you are looking for a nice place to stay in Vancouver that won't kill your wallet. We stayed 3 nites here prior to a cruise. The service is phenomenal, more like that of an inn. Our every need was met and our expectations exceeded at every turn. We asked for a room on the back side (not facing granville) and never heard a sound of street noise any nite. The Granville side can be a little noisier (others in our party were across the hall from us) but really only on Fri nite was there any noise. The rooms are very big, with a separate living room and a desk , a fridge, microwave and nice TV. The onsite restaurant called the Edge is fantastic for breakfast, very generous portions , and are all good !! They also have good wings too. There is a stop for the hop on hop off bus right at the hotel (stop 19) and the hotel gave us a discount coupon. You are only about 1.2 miles from Stanley Park which you must see and is also on the hop on tour as well as Gastown. The french bakery just next to the hotel a little to the west is "to die for" and you can also get a good breakfast at templetons ( a real hole in the wall but super good). For nite dining its just a short stroll down to yaletown - maybe 10 minutes with tremendous selection. We ate at Milestones one nite which was decent , and Earls another which had great steaks. Treat yourself to some fruit at a nearby grocery ( we went to nesters) the fruit is larger and tastier than in the states. Very impressed. The staff at Chateau was super friendly with lots of suggestions, and cheerfully called a cab and van for us to get to the port to cruise . It was only $9 . From the airport its about a 25 min carride - that was $32 which was not bad at all. The linens were crisp and so so comfortable . I was very impressed with this hotel. Free wifi too in your room. One nite we asked directions and the person ran two blocks to catch us to tell us the correct cross street. Unheard of service that you'd never find in the states. I lodge frequently on the company dime and let me tell you , this place is just as good with better service !!!!! Central location close to everything ! Thanks so much - the Alexios Clan.

Room Tip: room 608 is on the back side of the hall and was delightful and very quiet . they accepted either US...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our spacious suites and amenities of the hotel.
It is gratifying to read feedback such as yours. We strive to be a hotel, that understands guest’s needs better than anyone else in our industry. It brings us great satisfaction to see how well our team has delivered our hotel promise, with excellent guest service.
I was heartened to read that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that we have successfully exceeded your expectations by handling your requests with care and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your positive experience.
We will pass on your positive comments to the team in Front office and the restaurant.

We are often commended for our excellent location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions.. It is great to hear that you had time to explore our great city during your time here.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked online and nowhere in the site asked me that we will be in a smoking room. I have 2 kids and apparently this happened bec they are all booked. No way we can go to a smaller room or any arrangement.I am from Alberta and I can't believe a progressive city like Vancouver still have smoking rooms. They just attracted drug addicts in their hotel. The hallway smells like pot, reported it in the front desk and they didn't look surprised or alarmed at all. The hotel is in the strip of bars(specifically gay bars). There is a adult store in front of it, the store beside it sells pipes for cocaine and pot. This is a bad area of Vancouver. Underground parking which is supposed to be guests only and I saw gang members exchanging drugs and money right in the parking lot. First time we have been in a hotel this bad. For 224 a night I didn't pay for a motel but sure got one. Weirdest charge eco fee, why would you charge me for eco fee when I am in a smoking room, that is not ecological at all. Overall if you have kids this hotel is not safe or healthy for any family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear William,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. Your comments are important to us as it helps us understand where we can improve our guest experience.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
We have looked into your reservation details and found that you had booked online under our smoking room category. We do understand the oversight when you booked. As we were running a full house, our team could not accommodate your request to move to a non-smoking suite.
Being located in the downtown Vancouver entertainment district, a certain level of urban activity is usually present during the weekends. Granville Street has improved greatly over the past years and the city of Vancouver is investing millions of dollars into its positive restructuring. Having said that, it does take time for the changes to occur.
Our eco- fee is an optional fee that contributes towards our participation in various green programs and has helped the hotel to limit the impact on the environment. We apologize that you were not offered the option to opt out. We have reimbursed the charge to your credit card for the eco stay fee.
We thank you for your feedback and we apologize that we could not meet your expectations on your stay with us.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Granville Street is somewhat of a decadent street. The hotel is an oasis in the midst of this. There is a French bakery close by. Other restraunts are also close by. The hotel does have covered parking reasonably priced. The staff - wonderfully accommodating. I was pleasantly surprised at this establishment; if they did not know the answer to a question they were on top of trying to find an answer. It is close to the music scene which carries its own culture in the area. I would go back there again. I have stayed at waterfront hotels which are pricy and have less courteous service. The facilities are updated compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms off of street side better. It was a nice hotel and comfy. The Granville Street side has much...
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmental pliecies are where they belong. Maybe too much on the environmental friendly side.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff and comfortable spacious suites.
We are happy to hear that we have successfully exceeded your expectations by handling your requests with care and dedication. We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your positive experience.
We are often commended for our excellent location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions. It is great to hear that you had time to explore our great city during your time here.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located downtown in walking distance of local restaurants and shopping (it's about a 15 walk to Gastown). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was nicely appointed (we had a king suite which included a separate living space and was a fair size). There is an on-site restaurant (breakfast is not complimentary and there are no breakfast vouchers for the restaurant). My only problem with this location is the downtown can be very noisy in the middle of the night (people on the streets yelling) and having jet lag, I didn't sleep well for the four nights that we stayed as I was awoken by the noise every night (our room was facing Helmcken Street).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre.
We are glad to hear that you appreciated our friendly staff and comfortable spacious suites.
We are often commended for our excellent location in downtown Vancouver and our close proximity to many of Vancouver’s attractions. It is great to hear that you had time to explore our great city during your time here.
We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations this time. We are currently in the process of replacing all windows to double-pained which should eliminate any noise issues in the future. Please do feel free to request on your next stay, for a room at the back side of the hotel which is quieter as they do not face Granville Street.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I cant say enough for the staff at the Best Western Chateau Granville, they worked diligently and Professionally to make our stay feel welcomed and enjoyable. The light hearted approach and even some humor went along way in our enjoyment of the newly renovated Hotel.

This Hotel just keeps getting better

Thanks for everything and I look forward to booking with you again

Dave Zeswick

Room Tip: Rooms are nicely done
See more room tips
Green Features: This Hotel really makes the foort to make you feel welcomed and belonging.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mr Zeswcik,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is gratifying to read feedback such as yours. We strive to be a hotel, that understands guest’s needs better than anyone else in our industry. We will certainly pass on your great comments to the team.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on next stay.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,721 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#37 of 92 in Vancouver
695 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#47 of 92 in Vancouver
1,402 reviews
South Main
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel
West End
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
Century Plaza Hotel & Spa
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chateau Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chateau Granville

Property: Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Address: 1100 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chateau Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre has 118 spacious suites. Each suite comes with a private balcony where guests can enjoy the views of Vancouver's enchanting city lights. Guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi and a wide selection of digital and HD channels. You will have the pleasure of enjoying our onsite state-of-the -art fitness centre during your stay with us. The hotel has recently undergone several upgrades in all bedrooms. We are constantly upgrading the amenities we offer to our guests, as we continue to extend excellent hospitality! The Hotel conveniently located in downtown Vancouver, puts guests' moments away from the city's best neighbourhoods including the trendy Yaletown district and the famous shopping on Robson Street. Located only 3 blocks from the Canada Line Subway system, it provides a quick, direct access to Vancouver's International Airport. Our conference centre has 5,500 square feet of state-of-the-art function space and 4 exceptional meeting rooms with audio visual, natural daylight and complimentary Wi-Fi. We work to reduce the emission of carbon by making environmental initiatives throughout the hotel every day! Being green has become a part of our key values. Our participation in various green programs has helped us to limit the impact on the environment. The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, adjoining the hotel offers a great variety of dining options from which to choose. Its luxurious ambiance is perfect for your next gathering and offers a refreshing environment to fit any frame of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Chateau Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing