We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but the internet is horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed here on vacation with friends last week. I travel for business so I am in hotels all the time, and the Chateau Granville was a pretty decent hotel for the money. Comfortable and quiet. The location is great, we could walk to everywhere we wanted to go in the downtown area. The balcony was also a great unexpected feature to have. My only real complaint was that the internet access was completely worthless. We were visiting from the US and did not have international roaming on our cell phones, so we had to rely on internet access to find places to go and map out how to get there. We were literally moving to different spots in the room to get the best signal to even be able to load a webpage or google map. Kind of funny, but I found myself having to sit on the toilet so my laptop could even load anything. If I moved towards the windows/balcony the connection would completely drop.

If the hotel is reading this, PLEASE invest in some more wireless access points. The horrible internet is what changed this stay from being good to poor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.
We are sorry to hear you had so many issues with our wireless service, and we apologize for the inconveniences it has caused during your stay. We have been experiencing some problems with our wireless system lately and have been looking into ways of improving the system.
We hope that despite the internet issues you encountered, you enjoyed your time in Vancouver.

All the best and kind regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Perfect stay for the money, nice and clean room on the last floor with the balcony overlooking the city, complimentary WiFi in-room. As we have read previous reviews, there is a problem with water in the shower that changes rapidly from hot to cold, but then again, you are on the 15th floor, so I would say that comes with territory. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and if we would ever be back in Vancouver, will definitely stay at the Chateau.

Room Tip: If using a car, well worth to use the garage at the Hotel, only $14 per day. We tried to find parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you, and we hope to see you soon back at the hotel.

Kind regards from Vancouver
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I used to like the property more when they had the Courtyard rooms behind the hotel in a separate building, those were larger and better value but you had to walk across the street from the lobby and parking area to get to them. They've now been torn down and the developer is in the process of beginning to build new condos in their place.

Chateau Granville is one of two business-traveler lodgings that I use frequently, as they have great free wi-fi and are centrally located on Granville.

Nothing special about the place other than decent rooms at decent rates. Fairly good value for Vancouver

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightyVinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.

The Courtyard Building was a comfortable and intimate accommodation option, but we felt that it no longer reflected the same concept as the main Tower Building of the hotel. Therefore it was decided to remove it from the hotel's inventory.
In the upcoming year, exciting improvements will be implemented at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville that will enhance our guests’ experience.

Should you wish further information about the upgrades, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.
Thank you and we hope to see you soon back at the hotel,

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon and front desk was busy, but our registration was handled promptly. Our online registration was at hand and our room was up graded from 2 queen to one king. Room was very nice and had what we required for our stay. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great sleep. We did the room with breakfast and were not disappointed. The choice of items available would fill the biggest appitites. This was our third stay at this hotel. Will stay again.


  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 913M_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.
We are glad to see you had another enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for your ongoing loyalty, and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was very surprised when I arrived at this hotel. We had booked this hotel sight unseen however don't believe what you see on the official hotel website. The photos on the website are rather flattering however the once you actually see the hotel and its rooms, well the real picture emerges. It is very apparent that the hotel management spends very little on hotel upgrades. The beds are old as are the furnishings except for the televisions which are new flat screens. Don't expect a free breakfast like most Best Western hotels. Please ask ahead about their parking charges. Although this hotel is cheaper than most other Best Westerns in the Vancouver area I would suggest that you compare what other BW Hotel have to offer versus the B.est Western Granville. Finally, this hotel is located on very busy and noisy Granville Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, it's not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent visit at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.

We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The hotel has undergone a major facelift in 2009, renovating all of the rooms, the lobby, and restaurant.
Although it is true that not all furniture styles appeal to everyone, I can assure you that our beds and room furnishing have been replaced two years ago.
I am also pleased to inform you that we are still in the process of upgrading the hotel and rooms amenities, with several exciting changes for the upcoming months.
Regarding the noise, being located downtown and close to the Granville nightlife, it can become a factor over the weekend. However, on weekdays, it is much quieter, minimizing concerns regarding noise.

Thank you and best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for someone visiting Vancouver who is interested in tourist type activities. The hotel is older and although they have updated parts of it you can still see how old it is in things like the bathrooms (the water pressure in the shower was HORRIBLE). The hotel staff for the most part was very nice. Like a previous reviewer I also stayed when the power was out for the entire day. I was not smart enough to ask for a free breakfast though. I was out sight seeing so the power outage didn't really bother me. I don't think I would stay here again because I prefer a newer hotel but I didn't have any major negative experiences at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.

We are sorry to hear about your problem with the water pressure, and apologize for the inconveniences it caused during your stay. We have investigated the issue, and are currently working on a solution to the problem.
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville has undergone many renovations in the last few month,s and I am excited to share with you that more exciting upgrades are expected in the near future.
We hope that you will give the hotel another try once its makeover is completed.

Sincerely,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,778 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
883 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#45 of 92 in Vancouver
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chateau Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chateau Granville

Address: 1100 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2B6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#25 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#38 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $91 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chateau Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre has 118 spacious suites. Each suite comes with a private balcony where guests can enjoy the views of Vancouver's enchanting city lights. Guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi and a wide selection of digital and HD channels. You will have the pleasure of enjoying our onsite state-of-the -art fitness centre during your stay with us. The hotel has recently undergone several upgrades in all bedrooms. We are constantly upgrading the amenities we offer to our guests, as we continue to extend excellent hospitality! The Hotel conveniently located in downtown Vancouver, puts guests' moments away from the city's best neighbourhoods including the trendy Yaletown district and the famous shopping on Robson Street. Located only 3 blocks from the Canada Line Subway system, it provides a quick, direct access to Vancouver's International Airport. Our conference centre has 5,500 square feet of state-of-the-art function space and 4 exceptional meeting rooms with audio visual, natural daylight and complimentary Wi-Fi. We work to reduce the emission of carbon by making environmental initiatives throughout the hotel every day! Being green has become a part of our key values. Our participation in various green programs has helped us to limit the impact on the environment. The Edge Social Grille & Lounge, adjoining the hotel offers a great variety of dining options from which to choose. Its luxurious ambiance is perfect for your next gathering and offers a refreshing environment to fit any frame of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Chateau Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing