We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveler rating
649
598
197
45
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
598
197
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult storebest westernsdowntown vancouverentertainment districtking suiteseparate bedroomunderground parkinghomeless peoplestay there againyale townwithin walking distancesofa bedconvenient locationgreat roomfront desk staffvery nice hotelroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
1,407 - 1,412 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for someone visiting Vancouver who is interested in tourist type activities. The hotel is older and although they have updated parts of it you can still see how old it is in things like the bathrooms (the water pressure in the shower was HORRIBLE). The hotel staff for the most part was very nice. Like a previous reviewer I also stayed when the power was out for the entire day. I was not smart enough to ask for a free breakfast though. I was out sight seeing so the power outage didn't really bother me. I don't think I would stay here again because I prefer a newer hotel but I didn't have any major negative experiences at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lewis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.

We are sorry to hear about your problem with the water pressure, and apologize for the inconveniences it caused during your stay. We have investigated the issue, and are currently working on a solution to the problem.
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville has undergone many renovations in the last few month,s and I am excited to share with you that more exciting upgrades are expected in the near future.
We hope that you will give the hotel another try once its makeover is completed.

Sincerely,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos,
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It’s taken a long time to write but stayed here in October 2011 on the way back for visiting New Zealand.
We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay lots.

It’s only a couple of minutes walk away to all the main shops, bars, restaurants and shopping malls all along Granville Street.
The hotel is in a good location to Stanley Park and other tourist attractions.

The hotel is very clean and tidy, rooms are spacious for its location. We had a 1 bedroom room which consisted of the room with 2 double beds and a sofa bed in the lounge area. Also had a small table and chairs to sit around, desk for laptop, fridge, TV. For a best western hotel this seamed a large room.

The entrance and reception is well managed and the staff will help you with anything you need. Also has a good stock of

Very pleasant stay in a great location of Vancouver.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizzy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.
We are very pleased that you had a nice stay with us, enjoying our location and hotel amenities. As we are always striving to improve our guest experience, I am delighted to inform you that we have done some exciting upgrades since your last visit, including new flat screen televisions and an upgrade in-room movie system.
We are hoping in seeing you soon back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here yesterday, March 20th, 2013, during the hotel's planned BC Hydro power outage/upgrade. The generator was supposed to kick in and didn't. There were ups and downs for awhile. Pretty much anything that could go wrong seemed to, but the staff and mgmt. were gracious and most helpful throughout. I'm sure the stress levels were running high for them.

We received full hot breakfast vouchers for our patience. What a huge meal! But, back to the hotel, we had a one bedroom suite/separate living room. The rooms are upgraded and spotless, with two flat screen t.v.'s, concealed microwave, bar fridge and staple coffee maker. The one complaint we had was that the patio doors were locked. The sign on the doors stated that this was for our security, and that the doors would be unlocked if we signed a waiver. Any other time we would have, but not when they had so many major things to deal with at that time.

Our rate was very reasonable, and we will definately stay with them again.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Robson Street
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmeohmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville. We are pleased to see that you left with a positive impression of the hotel, despite the initial drawback due to the power outage.
Thank you for your understanding and patience and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is situated right on Granville Street and there are plenty of boutique stores and malls within walking distance. Some of the very best night clubs are nearby too. Just love the location! The suites are big and the rooms are comparable to other Best Western hotels.

There is a gentleman who works right in front near where the newspapers are. EXCELLENT service and very well mannered. I have visited this location many times over the years and I still don't understand why management haven't promoted him as the front line manager. I think his name is Israel. He is well spoken, noticed he knows a few different languages and observed that he is a also a very good travel adviser and likes to assist the tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville.
We will share them with Israel and the rest of the team, and would like to thank you for the mention of his excellent customer service. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews