We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is Disgusting”
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cassandra Hotel
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Last June my mother and I travelled to Vancouver to spend the weekend visiting with Family. We booked a room at the Cassandra online for the weekend. Once we arrived at the hotel we weren't even allowed to enter our room for hours as the lobby was holed up with armed police officers in regards to one of the tenants. I immediately asked for my money back as I did not feel safe staying there and was refused. Once in our room it was smelly and not very clean. I booked my room for 2 people and a pet, once there I was charged over a hundred dollars a night extra to keep my chihuahua there. Also after the first night we were asked to move rooms the second day, which we had to check out at 11 and not allowed in second room until after 2. The second room was not cleaned and smelled like urine, the windows did not open and we weren't allowed to smoke when we reserved a smoking room. All in all it cost more than five hundred dollars to stay for the 2 nights. It was a nightmare and I will never stay in that dump ever again. I wouldn't even rate this with any stars.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TbeanCourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2009

The Cassandra Hotel is located in a safe, quiet and family neighborhood. We have no records in our daily logs about the complaints posted on this review. Customer service remains our top priority. As such, we would encourage this customer to discuss their stay with hotel management. We would certainly do all that we can to ensure that his/her next stay at the Cassandra Hotel will be a more enjoyable experience. Also we have a pet room,and there is a $30 extra charge for a Pet - not $100. We love pets, Chihuahuas’ included! All rooms are cleaned by housekeeping and inspected by a Supervisor before guests arrive. And finally and happily - there is no "room shuffling". You are guaranteed the same room for the entire stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 192 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

PROS:
- Cheap: Our room was priced under $70/night on Travelocity
- Proximity to key locations: 20 minute drive to downtown. 20 minute drive to Surrey.
- Public Transit: 10 minute walk to Joyce SkyTrain station, to go downtown or Surrey
- Free Underground Parking
- Spacious Room

CONS:
- Elevator & Hallway Smelled of smoke
- Swipe card / key did not work on several occasions. During the 5 days we stayed there, we had to exchange our swipe card 4 times.
- TV Remote was not working, and did not get fixed
- Staff are unfriendly for most part
- Wireless internet is not free; but available @ an hourly / daily rate

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bidderpais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Thanks for the thumbs up. Yes, Cassandra Hotel guests can take the Sky train everywhere.... Vancouverites do all the time... from the Cassandra Hotel it takes me 10 minutes to get to Waterfront station (downtown Vancouver). Helpful tip: The room swipe cards need to be kept away from cell phones or laptops because this affects the magnetic strip. We verify every TV remote before a guest checks-in as part of our room inspection.... or quick call to friendly staff to change for another. We are continuously looking into ways to make our service better and we appreciate guests who take the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights Sept 08. The hotel is based near china town, about 8 stops from downtown Vancouver on the skytrain, the station of which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is also a bus stop just next to the hotel.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, but a bit stuffy due to the fact that the windows did not open. But once the AC kicked in it was okay.

The only problem with the room other than the windows, was that there were cigarette burns on the bedspread and cobwebs on the ceiling but all in all the room was nice. I cannot comment on the hotel amenities i.e. spa, laundrette etc as we did not use them.

I would recommend staying in this reasonably priced comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ctfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Thanks for the review. Front desk staff will advise where to catch the Sky train. And it's 8 quick stops (about 10 minutes) to Granville Street (Downtown Vancouver). We are continuously looking into ways to make our service better and we appreciate guests who take the time to comment on TripAdvisor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We found the hotel fabulous, lovely reception staff, clean room, great price, good facilties and only one 20 minute bus ride from down town. Definitely no complaints and it has earned it's stars what do people expect for spending under $100 if you want 5 star service go to a 5 star hotel otherwise this one is lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2009

Your review is spot on and we truly appreciate your comments. Yes, Bus #19 will take 20 minutes, however, the Sky train (costs the same about $2.50 CAN and is an above ground train - with great views of city and mountains) ; is a walk away and guests can be in downtown Vancouver in 10 minutes. The Cassandra Hotel also has free and secure underground parking, if you choose to drive around the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Probably one of the worst experiences I have ever had! Our room was a nightmare, stains on the carpet and chairs, a broken tv, a horrible smell of bleach. When we decided that the hotel was not going to be okay for us, we tried to ask for a refund and were promptly told that "the hotel does not ever give refunds". When we asked to speak to a manager or someone that could make a decision, we were told that we would have to come in person on a business day (seeing as how we were visiting for the weekend only this was ridiculous). I am not certain what the parameters are to give a hotel a ranking of 3.5 stars, but I am certain that they did not deserve any of these stars.
I strongly advise staying elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolceagonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2009

Would like to clarify that if this guest had experienced the problems noted in the review and came directly to speak to the front desk or management, we would have dealt with these issues immediately. (switched TV, free room upgrade, or transferred guest to another room) We always strive to achieve the highest level of customer satisfaction and will not ask an out of town guest to come back for a refund. As a 3.5 star hotel, the Cassandra Hotel offers larger units with additional room furniture, coordinated furnishings, better quality mattresses and linens, equipped with clock/alarm, extra amenities in washrooms, etc. Three and half star properties like the Cassandra Hotel offer above average facilities and services, and are independently audited to national standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The staff was helpful and friendly. I had a problem with my room's heater/aircon, but it got fixed fairly quickly. The room was a steal compared to other hotels that I was looking it. The Collingwood area was also nice too since there were a lot of ethnic restaurants that I got to eat at. Overall, good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travellinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2009

Thanks for the review. Yes, rooms at the Cassandra Hotel are much larger for the price than similar hotels found in downtown Vancouver. Our guests enjoy the ethnic diversity of the neighborhood, proximity to downtown Vancouver and Burnaby as well as shopping Metropolis At Metrotown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We lived in a Suite which has two bedrooms to fit our family. We are landed immigrants here and living in Cassandra hotel for 14 days to find a new place to live in the future. The place is not as bad as someone describes. My kids enjoy the whirlpool and sauna service there, and that's for free. The frontdesk staff can speak our language, we are really appreciated because we can know more information about how to get our sin card and they help us a lot. Thanks. We are new here, but they let us feel better in a totally new place. The room is pretty large enough for our 4 people, my wife, my two daughters and me. But the only thing is that they don't have a kitchen.We were planning to live here monthly, coz they have monthly rent which is much cheaper than paying daily; but we need a kitchen. Friendly and multi-language staffs make our stay very happy. So if you like us,a family,we suggest you living there. It's very conveient to eat around this hotel, like the new restaurant which is just opened, and you can also eat in the other different restaurants,we almost tried all of them when living there. Bino family restaurant provides breakfast all day.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zhejiangyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomManager, MarCom at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

Was a pleasure to have your first impression of Canada at the Cassandra hotel! Yes, our friendly staff comes from a wide variety of ethnic backgrounds. We speak your language. Additionally to clarify, the Cassandra Hotel does have rooms available with kitchenettes (studio or suites); and trying the local restaurants will be worthwhile too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
672 reviews
Robson Street
Barclay Hotel
Barclay Hotel
#69 of 92 in Vancouver
524 reviews
West End
English Bay Hotel
English Bay Hotel
#77 of 92 in Vancouver
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#85 of 92 in Vancouver
98 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,873 reviews
Coast Vancouver Airport
#72 of 92 in Vancouver
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassandra Hotel

Address: 3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Renfrew
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $53 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cassandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cassandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassandra Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing