We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cassandra Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
$467
$373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$344
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$163
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$491
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$540
$460
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$465
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
41
44
28
32
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
44
28
32
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desk agentskytrain stationmetrotowntelevisiontransitbc
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 213 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Dealt with 4 different members of hotel staff. Only one was helpful and friendly. Others pretty much let us know we were a bother. Room was adequate for an overnight stay, but had a mildew odor. In the the mid-80's when visiting and the thermostat on the air conditioner did not work. It was either on or off with no way to adjust the temperature.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff here were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was ok but quite old, gave the impression of an old school bed and breakfast however I think most hotels are like this in Vancouver. The rooms had wifi however you had to pay for it each day which was a bit annoying, the wifi was only to be used on one device, in this day and age that isn't really convenient. The location was ok, there wasn't much around but it was quite easy to catch a bus to wherever you needed to go, staff were happy to let you know what bus and where to go etc and if they didn't know they were happy to google it. Vending machine in the lobby which is good. The rooms were ok, mainly clean but I did notice behind the tv and under the bed hadnt been vacuumed in quite a long time. They had a fridge but it didn't seem to be working, also tried to have a bath but the plug didn't work so had to leave the water running, the shower pressure was really good. I would stay here again but it was very average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The reception made our stay ok. But the room needs renovations. Its old and dirty. The bed doesnt smell good. But the location is fine, when you go out in the hotel there are buses that can carry you to metrotown shopping mall and where ever you want to go...lots of restaurant in the area... incase you are planning to stay in a certain hotel or motel...like cassandra hotel... better read other reviews first...just a heads up... so you wont be surprise...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opium30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Hello opium30,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our convenient location, it is a favourite for many of our guests. :) Our location is surrounded by over 30 restaurants, 25 beauty salons, and 6 major banks. It is indeed quite close to Metrotown Shopping Mall (5 minute drive) BC’s largest shopping centre!

Our room renovations are a top priority, we are improving and updating our rooms even as I type this! At Cassandra Hotel, we abide by the strictest standards of cleanliness and we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. We hope that you will come and visit us again so that we will have the chance to show you this.

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I checked in very early in the morning (5:30 am) I was happy they would allow an early check in for a $30 extra charge as I was exhausted from travelling. However they would only accept cash for the room deposit which meant a taxi ride to an ATM. What a pain when I was so tired. The room was fine and the bed comfortable enough but there is no restaurant or even a coffee pot in the lobby. There is a coffee pot in the room but I would not use it because i was filthy. I mentioned it to front desk staff. Their suggestion was walk to 7-11 and buy coffee there!! I had to take a taxi every time I went out. The location is not great here! It is an older hotel that could really use some sprucing up. It was not an awful experience but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darrenrsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hello darrenrsutherland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback!
I am glad to hear that you were happy about our early check in policy and our rooms. We are working to get our restaurant up and running soon. In the mean time, the Collingwood community is home to a variety of restaurants, featuring over 30 restaurants from 13 different countries!

I feel sorry that you were not happy with the cleanliness of the coffee pot in your room, our policy is to clean them after every check-out, regardless of use. Due to the fact that our coffee pots are white, they are subject to coffee stains, but we would have gladly switched your coffee pot for another and/or fix the issue any other we could. And we would not have sent you to 7/11… Starbucks has way better coffee :P

We are quite close to both Joyce Skytrain Station (7 minute walk) and the major bus route 19 (2 minute walk). Should you choose to visit Vancouver again, our staff would be more than happy to assist you in finding alternative transportation and attractions that you may enjoy.
While we are also in the process of hotel renovations, I assure you that our rooms are the top priority. We abide by the strictest standards of cleanliness and we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback, we really do appreciate it!

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights (we booked a superior room), upon check in the room was not what we expected booking a better room, it was small, no fridge and had a funny smell. We complained to reception and after viewing a few rooms we moved to another room which we were happier with. The receptionist a young girl, sorry cannot remember her name was very helpful, went out of her way to make our stay good, she was very polite and always had a smile, thank you. If reception was not has helpful i dont think we would have enjoyed our time here. The wifi charge i feel is a bit excessive for staying in vancouver expensive to pay $8 a day. Location is good to catch the sky train which we used to travel. Thank you to reception holly & john scotland :-)

Room Tip: Book a more expensive room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassandrahotelvan, Guest Relations Manager at Cassandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Hello Holly and John from Scotland!

I am very glad to hear that our front desk staff were able to make your stay here so pleasant! At Cassandra Hotel, we take pride in our team and it makes us very happy to hear that we are all doing a great job :)

I am glad to hear that you were more satisfied with your room upgrade. Our wifi is indeed a charge of $8 per day, but it is a complementary feature with our Premium rooms! Our Premium rooms are all on the top floor and they feature all the benefits of our Deluxe and Classic room with a few extras (fridge, microwave, complimentary wifi, etc)

Our location is a favourite feature for many of our guests, we are conveniently located quite close to both Joyce Skytrain Station (7 minute walk) and the major bus route 19 (2 minute walk). The Collingwood Community also features over 30 restaurants from 13 different countries!

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again!

Melody
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Cassandra Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews